the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 04:23pm on 03/07/2003
Just testing out this brand-new LJ of mine, courtesy of victoria p. ::bows:: And if I could figure out how, I'd link you to her.

Currently trying to remember enough of HTML class to fix the colors the way I want them...
Mood:: 'bouncy' bouncy
Music:: silence
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 05:46pm on 03/07/2003
Downloaded one of the Clients, just fucking around with it.

Can I do a cut tag? Let's find out )

There. I don't know if that worked.

I haven't done a real entry yet because I'm figuring things out. Real entry coming up any day now.
Mood:: 'accomplished' accomplished
Music:: eva cassidy -- songbird
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 06:37pm on 03/07/2003
Clearly the whole returning-from-the-cut-to-the-regular-text deal didn't work. Ah well, I don't expect to be doing much of that anyway.
So, now I have to actually write something!

Er. Good evening.

Today wasn't particularly eventful. Got up at a reasonable hour because for some godforsaken reason, I agreed to work a couple hours today, since the office is closed tomorrow. I do not like working three days in a row (sidenote: hey, look at that, it automatically opens and closes the italics command! Guess my rudimentary knowledge of HTML won't be seeing the light of day after all.)

Anyway, work. Bleah. I did manage to watch a good forty-five minutes of "Almost Famous" this morning, though. It's getting to the point where I have part of the director's commentary memorized. Oh commentary subtitle option, how I love thee.

I actually only worked from 12 to 2:30ish rather than 4, because hey, Gail and Ellen and Tracee were ALL there, and there was no real need for me. I pulled EOBs, I filed -- those were my grand accomplishments. Then I went driving through the Village just for the hell of it. Full tank of gas makes me wasteful. Kind of pissed that the payrolls weren't in today. I wanted to write a check for the July car payment this weekend and now I'll have to wait.

::grumbles at nearby stack of CDs:: Last night, see, I had this sudden urge to make a mix of love songs. )

I had gotten more than halfway through the recording process, silently thanking the burner for being so uncharacteristically cooperative (it only rejected the blank disc as not having enough space twice!) when it suddenly decides that Eva Cassidy's Time After Time is not, in fact, Time After Time. I spent twenty minutes trying to get it to accept the CD -- I popped in other CDs, I played Time After Time on three other CD players, I wept in frustration. None of it worked; I conceded defeat and sadly shut the program down. Of course, of course that was the last blank CD in the house.

On the other hand, I did make an absolutely beautiful CD cover ) So at least that was some kind of accomplishment. Finding just the right image of Flaming June took me the better part of an hour (I am notoriously anal about my mixes).

Anyway. Wow, that was a lot. This is fun!
Music:: chick rock mix featuring Garbage, Aimee Mann, Bif Naked & others
Mood:: 'excited' excited
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 06:54pm on 03/07/2003
(brought over from Some Other 'Net Diary-thing)

I watched "The Elephant Man" last night (Tuesday night, actually) nearly the whole way through (I missed the first twenty or so minutes). It is, it really really is, the saddest movie ever made. EVER. I cried throughout the entire thing. That's a full two-hour (well, hour and forty minutes) bracket of heartfelt weeping. By the time it was over, I could no longer breathe through my nose.

For those who don't know, "The Elephant Man" is a 1980 David Lynch film, a somewhat fictional account of the real person Joseph ("John") Merrick, who was born horribly disfigured in Victorian London and died at the age of 27. John Hurt does an absolutely incredible job playing Merrick, as his extensive makeup means that he can only express himself through his eyes, his voice and his body language. Anthony Hopkins is perhaps more understated than at any other point in his career as Merrick's doctor Frederick Treves (this was pre-"Silence of the Lambs"). Plus, John Gielgud and Ann Bancroft. It was shot in black and white and has the feel of a much older classic.

There is no possible way to describe how incredibly sad this film is without viewing it, though I'll try. It's just...I can't even...ARGH. It is so fucking sad. The saddest bits off the top of my head:


  • Merrick saying "Sorry...sorry" when the maid sees him and freaks out.


  • repeating "Hello, my name is John Merrick, I'm very pleased to meet you" in front of the mirror.


  • breaking down in tears in front of Treves' wife ("I've never been treated so nicely by a...beautiful woman...")


  • showing Treves & wife the picture of his mother, hoping that she would love him if she could see him ("I must have been a disappointment to her..." "I've tried to be good...")


  • "I've been meaning to ask you for some time now...can you cure me?"
    "No, John. We can care for you, but we cannot cure you."
    "I thought not."


  • the whole meeting with Ann Bancroft ("You're not an elephant man...you are a Romeo...")


  • when the hospital tells him he can stay there permanently, he keeps saying "a home...my home..."


  • the part with the evilfuckingbastards come to torment him...egads, I can't even think of it, it's too painful...they show him a mirror and he screams at his own reflection...


  • being shoved into the monkey cage by the evilfuckingbastardcircusowner.


  • the encounter at the train station, which you know is coming from the second you see the little boy with the pea-shooter and you're sobbing and yelling at the TV "Just leave him alone!" as he tries to run away, then..."I am not an elephant! I am notan animal! I am a human being, I am a man..."


  • the wonder on his face when he goes to theatre, which you can only see through Hurt's eyes.


  • the end, oh HELL the end...so sad...stacking the pillows so NEATLY on the chairs...


  • The images, they stick with me, and I find myself thinking about them for weeks, the urge to cry once again near.

    It's so sad.

    It's so fucking sad I almost can't take it.

    But it's beautiful too.
Mood:: 'melancholy' melancholy
Music:: chick rock mix
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:10pm on 03/07/2003
Was just flipping through the channels, watching "Friends" and "Buffy" and "Lizzie Maguire" (I know, I know) all at once, when I happened to catch a rerun of "7th Heaven" on ABC Family. Blonde teacher of Simon's = Callisto from "Xena." Hence the 'whoa' -- weirdest choice of guest star EVER. I kept expecting this nice woman with a French braid to tear off her cream sweater, revealing her leather bustier, and start frothing about pain and revenge. Callisto was fuckin' awesome. I didn't even recognize the actress at first -- it was her eyes that jogged my memory. Crazy eyes, man. Kah-RAZY eyes.
Mood:: 'contemplative' contemplative
Music:: the "7th Heaven" theme in my head

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31