the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 04:30pm on 13/07/2003
Ahhhhhh.

I FINALLY have my own computer.

In my ROOM.

I didn't think I'd be able to use it until I went to school, but I suggested packing away the stereo for now (since it's been unplugged for two months, I've learn that I do not actually need it that badly) and setting it up on my desk, as opposed to a temporary setup on the kitchen table to see if it works. And hey, why not leave it here till I leave, just to make sure there's nothing wrong with it?

At least that's why my dad thinks I wanted it in here.

Really it's because now I have FREEDOM. A sweet glorious month of having my computer in a totally private place (because of course I'll have my roommate at school).

This is awesome. It's a Dell, and it's so PRETTY ::pets:: Plus, I love my daddy: he got me a sub-woofer, upgraded my sound card, and installed a CD burner. He knows me so well. The sound is amazing. I'm burning Katherine the Ataris CD right now!

Sigh. I'm so excited I can't even think straight. This is the last of the Big Stuff I Don't Have to Pay For (with the car, and the college -- though I do have to pay for at least part of those). It's like the last vestiges of childhood.

Okay, now I'm freaking myself out.

Think I will go to the pool once this finishes burning. That's a sure sign of how great a mood I am in, that I would actually venture out in public, in my own neighborhood, in a swimsuit.

I've still got leftover stuff to write about, but I want to download Semagic on this computer, and I want to start transferring all my files (no more fear of parents discovering my files of homosexual smut! that's a true load off).
Music:: the sweet sweet sound of MY new modem
Mood:: 'ecstatic' ecstatic
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 07:02pm on 13/07/2003
I was reading the TWoP recap for the lastest "Osbbournes," got a sudden craving for a FlavorIce and when I came back upstairs, went to the old computer and spent two minutes trying to figure out what the hell I was doing.

This is GREAT.
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 11:52pm on 13/07/2003
Much as I love "The Mask of Zorro," with all that talk of revenge and all those swords, I keep expecting somebody to start saying "Hello, my name is Inigo Montoya, etc." I suppose it's entirely due to "The Princess Bride" that I'm so terribly in love with swashbuckling. It smacks every square inch of my ass, man. Really, at the end of the day, what movie couldn't benefit from a good swordfight?

Just one more thing: mmmm, Antonio.

I keep babbling about how I'm going to write about the past week, but really it wasn't that exciting. Saturday was fun, Megan, Tina, and Katherine all came over to hang out and watch movies; Meg and Tina slept over. We ate mass amounts of the chocolate Meg brought and caught the South Park movie at 1 in the morning -- uncut! Ahhh, it was good to see it again. Omlettes for breakfast, then Tina and I met up with Lena, Riordan, and Duane at Rio to see T3. I enjoyed it a lot, considering I haven't seen the first two. Nick Stahl is cute as a button. It was nice to hang out with Lena & Co.

Monday I rented "The Hours" and "Keeping the Faith" (again). I love that movie. It's one of those romantic comedies I can watch forever. "The Hours"... (spoilers and strong opinions contained behind cut tag)Read more... )

Well, now that that's over with, a movie I saw and loved: "Spirited Away." I borrowed it from Tina and have watched it two and a half times. It gets more charming every time. It's beautiful and the dubbing is the best I've ever seen (heard? I mean that the English dubbing matches so well with the original animation, so I stay with 'seen'). The idea that one man hatched this entire little world is awesome. I wonder if I could use my new DVD burner to burn it before I give it back?

Errr, is that legal?

Never mind! Carry on!

Work has been worklike. Yesterday was yet another Saturday where Darlene and I should not both have been there, because there wasn't enough to do. God, it was boring. I figured we'd work together this week because Shahnaz just got back from Iran and there'd be a lot of paperwork to do, but noooo, Darlene worked all Thursday and I worked all Friday, so we pretty much had it covered. The most exciting thing that happened was a conversation with Mercedes, Tracee, and Darlene, in which I took only limited part. It was all about religion and spirituality; we started out talking about how the R________s are secular Jews, which the three of them seemed to have a lot of scorn for. Mercedes kept going on about how everyone needs something to do with faith, has to believe that something is out there. It pissed me off. I wanted to say, "No, everyone does NOT need some sort of religion or spirituality; I don't, for one."

Where does this philosophy come from? Why does life have to have a higher purpose? Why isn't it meaningful enough for what it is -- what's wrong with life for life's sake, not for some greater power or purpose? Isn't it enough that we're here, regardless of how we got here or why (if there even is a why)?

I don't know how coherent I am on this subject, but I wonder if other atheists and agnostics resent being condescended to like this. I sort of wish I had spoken up, but I pick my battles carefully. I would rather argue philosophy with my close friends that with near strangers, people I only see in the workplace. I just don't feel that the friction is necessary. Sometimes I kick myself for not speaking out, but I really wasn't in the mood for the infuriating adult trend of "Oh, you're just a kid, you don't know anything, wait till life really means something for you." I hate that. I realize that I am very young and there's a lot I haven't learned yet, but for the love of all that's holy don't you dare try to tell me that I don't know myself. I've looked high and low, regardless of my age, and come to my beliefs with security. I don't need faith. It does nothing for me. This does not mean that I think people who do need it are lesser in some way -- sometimes I wish belief did come easily to me.

Oh look, now I've gone and made myself sound like both a snob and a martyr. Excuse me while I make a disgusted noise. But I can't put it any better than that.

Hmmm. That was a digression, wasn't it? Too many thoughts, need fluffy R/Hr. I think I will seek out Princess Bride icons and sounds.
Music:: "the princess bride" soundtrack -- "revenge"
Mood:: 'frustrated' frustrated

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31