the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)

meh

posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 11:05am on 01/02/2004
Gahhhhh. No money on the Onecard + too small a handful of quarters + weird determination to do laundry right NOW = all my jeans and sweatshirts sopping wet on the drying rack right now.

Seriously, I had to put towels down underneath them.

Well, this weekend has actually been rather busy. Vanessa's little sister Val came down, so on Friday I drove all the way up route 4 to meet them halfway. Which I loved, because the more driving, the better, but I do feel guilty about the whole extra tank of gas that I'm, err, not exactly paying for.I like Val, though, she's a good kid. On Friday we sat around trying to figure out what we should do and settled for watching "Witness" on TV (due in no small part to my promise that a young, adorable Viggo would show up eventually). Then we went to bed ridiculously early. I'm really getting tired of these hours. I mean, does anybody really need that much frickin' sleep? If I'm going to bed at 11, I'm going to be up by 8 at the latest, end of story. It's such a bloody waste of time to just sleep the morning away like that!

Anyway. Saturday was brunch and a rather dull day of wandering around Target and K-Mart. Ooooh yeah, St. Mary's is hoppin'. Then they were supposed to go to a concert last night -- some contemporary Christian artist I had no interest in seeing -- but that got scrapped, so instead of a night to myself to write, I had to provide the wheels to a movie. All right, perhaps I'm complaining too much; we did go see what I wanted to see, after all, and we did get to drive nearly an hour away to get there. I liked "Along Came Polly" a lot; it's forgettable, as romantic comedies go, but it was funny while it lasted. Any time Hank Azaria gets to do a wacky accent, I'm happy. And of course I'm a big whore for Phillip Seymour Hoffman. Ben Stiller's funny, yeah, but PSH stole every scene he was in. Even when his one-note jokes got repeated -- I cracked up every single time he lobbed that basketball at the backboard and it banged right off, for example. "Let it rain!" *SMACK* Heee. I don't think Ness and Val liked it too much, though. Too much dirty humor, I suspect. I suggested going to see "Cold Mountain," and Vanessa was like "I don't think my parents would appreciate me seeing an R-rated movie." Dude. You're NINETEEN and you are OUT OF THE HOUSE. Does the child have NO sense of rebellion at all???

I think that may be why I like Val. She's a bit opinionated and I suspect that deep down, she isn't as white-bread as her sister.

So then we come back and once again, go to bed at a positively insane hour. Round about 3 AM, bunch of our neighbors -- Jeanne, Michelle, and Tom were the only voices I could make out -- come home and proceed to talk really loud out in the hallway. They were a little drunk, unless I'm mistaken. Initially I was really pissed off because a. I'm not a light sleeper, but you wake me up and I'm UP and b. I was having a PotC dream. Not only that, I was having a J/W PotC dream, about which I now remember nothing. So yeah, I was pissed to have been woken up from that. However, they then went somewhere -- Anya and Jeanne's room, sounded like -- to watch "Monty Python." It was turned up loud enough so I could hear it clearly, and I stopped being pissed that they woke me up and started wishing I were with them instead of here. It was a strange emotion.

Ness and Val have gone to church, so I've got a couple of hours to myself. I need to get home but good. I've spent way too much time around Vanessa and I'm beginning to feel really vanilla. I need dirty jokes and subversive music bad. My language is so clean lately! It's disturbing!
Music:: the sound of my clothes dripping
Mood:: 'annoyed' annoyed
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 12:49pm on 01/02/2004
WHERE is my new stick of deodorant? I know I brought it. I remember packing it. I remember removing it when I got back. And now it's missing! And I don't want to use one of the four gel ones, because they're GROSS!

Sigh.

This message brought to you by Dala's sincere desire to be neither stinky nor sticky.

Did talk to the 'rents for about an hour, which restored some sense of perspective. Man I need to go home.
Music:: "look away," hootie
Mood:: 'frustrated' frustrated
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 07:12pm on 01/02/2004
This is one dull Super Bowl game. It's just defense vs. defense. And so far, no really great commercials.

Can we kill Jessica Simpson? Please? Somebody?
Mood:: 'blah' blah
Music:: game in the background (and DUDE the announcers SUCK)
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 07:14pm on 01/02/2004
Okay, I take the commercial comment back. That Budweiser donkey thing was awesome.
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 07:19pm on 01/02/2004
*gasp* "Ballroom Blitz"! HELL yeah!
Music:: commercial!
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 07:44pm on 01/02/2004
Heee. Tom Brady's adorable.
Mood:: 'amused' amused
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 07:45pm on 01/02/2004
FINALLY somebody SCORED!

And it only took, what, an hour and fifteen minutes!
Mood:: 'excited' excited
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:07pm on 01/02/2004
*commercial for Viagra-type pill*
Me: EW OLD-PEOPLE-SEX.
Vanessa: I really don't need to hear about this.
Me: EW OLD-PEOPLE-SEX
"...erectile dysfuction..."
Vanessa/Me: EWWW *squirm*

I introduced her to "Queer Eye" tonight. I feel helpful and proactive. And it was a really sweet, romantic one.
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:11pm on 01/02/2004
Commercials for Gillette razors make me FREAK OUT.
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:06pm on 01/02/2004
Oh dear lorf the Internet is working again ::worships::

And, uh, go New England.
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:08pm on 01/02/2004
The Internet is back up but naturally, LJ is disliking me. Figures.
Mood:: 'annoyed' annoyed
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:13pm on 01/02/2004
Omigod. Mini!Jimi Hendrix=best Pepsi commercial ever.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31