::boggles::
Okay, so we're sitting here watching "Clueless" on USA, or kind of listening to it in the background, and it's the restaurant scene where the girls are discussing virginity (which always annoys me because they change "As long as his you-know-what isn't crooked" to "...isn't you-know-what," one of the most inane TV dubs ever). Dionne gets that line "Cher's saving herself for Luke Perry" (and how sad is it that I can not only quote every line, but remember where they're dubbed as well?)
Me: That line dates this movie worse than the clothing.
Vanessa: Who's Luke Perry?
Me: *incredulous look* Luke Perry? "90210" -- Dylan McKay? The original "Buffy"? That cowboy movie?
Vanessa: *blank look*
Me: *whimper*
I mean...dude...I was not suprised that she hadn't seen "Clueless" in the first place. I would not have expected her to watch "90210." But...to have this giant gap in her growing-up-female-in-the-early-90's acculturation...
Again I say:
::boggles::
Don't stomp too hard on that next rock you see by the wayside. People really do live under those things.
Awww, I feel kinda mean. I wasn't mean to HER or anything. But...it's just so...gahhhh.
Mmm Van Helsing.
I'm trying to catch up on several days of feedback/comments including the rest of the Will fic-a-thon stories, all of which I read and then of course didn't reply to, plus a couple fics I know I'm going to need some time to sit down and finish, plus try to come up with a topic for my final election issue essay (if I finish it before Lit tomorrow, I'm dropping it off at Professor Hall's office and spending class time by the river), and type up the half-scenes of "Fate" I wrote on Monday (in class, as usual), AND iron out this Will/James bunny that's been gnawing on my ass for a couple hours...
And then there's the revision for the Gertrude paper. I think Richardson would take it amiss if I asked her to give me the B it has right now rather than bring it up to A level. Seriously, right about the second week of April, I officially stop giving a crap about anything learning-related. I wrote the bulk of my art history paper at about 10:00 this morning, having that class at two and Methods at noon (it sucks pretty hard, but at least it's over and done with. See with the total lack of caring?) I'm sure I'll be able to scrounge up some concern for at least one of my finals, and the ten-page lit paper (topic of which is annoyingly both open-ended and carefully structured). But till then, screw it. May 8th and it'll alllllllll be over...and then there'll be working all summer long. Fabulous.
I was missing my hippie-ish mix earlier today. I listened to "The 60's" soundtrack, but it just wasn't the same. I can't believe I've managed to lose both tapes -- the first copy wasn't quite perfect, but it'd still be better than nothing. If I could remember the playlist exactly, I'd make a new one, but dammit, I can't, and it's so perfect that I don't want to mess with it. I'll have to tear the living room apart looking for it when I get home.
Again have fallen behind on the lyricspam, but I'm took lazy to deal with it right now, so I'll catch up in the morning
I love this movie. "Christian has a thing for Tony Curtis, so he brought over 'Some Like It Hot' and 'Sparaticus.'"
Oh yeah, I did go see "Kill Bill Vol. 2" on Saturday. I loved it indiscriminately, though it was very talky and I'm not sure how re-watchable it'll be. Just one tiny, tiny thing that's spoiler-worthy:
( *shriek* )I might need a recipe for barbequed peacock soon, because Groves has been so bloody annoying. First, he's been more vocal with his pissed-off noise lately (it sounds vaguely like a baby elephant and he shrieks it at the garbage collectors, the construction workers, and out-of-the-ordinary car engines firing up). Second...oh dear lorf, it's the most AWFUL sound. Kind of like a cat in heat, except louder and shriller. In fact, when I was awoken at THREE IN THE SODDING MORNING by this noise, I briefly thought it was a cat. Eventually I realized it was the damn peacock, who didn't shut up for at least half an hour. Even when he was finally quiet, I was made newly aware of the insufferable heat and the weird-ass buzzing sound coming from the wall (Vanessa says she heard it too, so at least I'm not crazy), so I couldn't fall back asleep. We looked up some info on peafowl and determined that it is probably mating season and that caterwauling was his call to the ladies (or, if he's true to the lieutenant for whom I named him, the fellow overly-feathered noisemakers). Problem is, we don't have any peahens, or any other peacocks for that matter, so poor horny Groves is shit outta luck, and we suffering PG residents are out a few hours of sleep a night.
Meh. Back to business.