the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:02am on 25/09/2004
THE INTERNET IS BACK UP OMG YAY.
Mood:: 'ecstatic' ecstatic
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
I can post it now, right? The Internet is back up and I don't have to print out and and type it out at the library and I read the rules correctly so I can post it and link to it, right? Right???

...sorry. Feeling a little neurotic. This is what a whole twenty-one hours of no 'Net does to the Dala -- had pretty much nothing to do except finish this all bright and early. Poke me if the procedure isn't okay, [livejournal.com profile] khohen1.


Title: Legacy
"Good man. Good pirate. I swear you look just like him."
Author: Dala
Rating: light R
Pairings: Bill/Jack, Bill/OFC; other pairings implied/suggested
Disclaimer: pirates and their environs belong to Disney
Written for: morton_rainey
Chosen Request: 1. Bootstrap. Fuck the writers commentary. I wanna see Bootstrap Bill, alive and kicking. (Unfortunately he's not kicking anything in particular, but I hope you like it anyway :) )
Ficathon Homepage: PotC Tertiary Character Ficathon


The first time Bill Turner met Jack Sparrow, he laughed in his face. )
Mood:: 'accomplished' accomplished
Music:: "vertigo," u2
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 04:05pm on 25/09/2004
"Soldier Boy," the sixth episode of "American Dreams," is painful in these two ways:

1. Jack (talking about his experiences in WWII): "But because we fought that war, and won it, you boys will never have to fight another one." I looked at JJ and just burst into tears.

2. Nick Carter trying to do Jay Black of Jay and the Americans. No. Just...no ::shudders:: Awful self-congratulatory smarmy whining boy, DIE.

Also, Alan Dale/Caleb Nichol was in this one. I wondered why I kept wanting to hiss at the reunion guy.

Hee! "Ewww, what is that?" "It's kiwi. I read about it in a magazine." "Is that with a k or a q?" It's furry." "You make the world safe for democracy and they give you fruit with fur on it." "*sigh* There's ice cream in the freezer." "Did somebody spill chocolate syrup on the seat?"

I love this show. Premiere tomorrow night! WOOOO! Meg/Sam all the way this season. The show wasn't ready for it before now, but it's time. Especially after that assholic college boy Meg dated.

Dammit, there has to be somebody out there who fangirls AD as madly as I do. It's got a TWoP forum, but a very small one.

Go Helen with your Pill. You get yours, girlfriend.

Such. A good. Show.
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:16pm on 25/09/2004
I swear I will stop squeeing over "American Dreams." Except for tomorrow, since it's the premiere.

But seriously, Episode 7 -- so much love. Lots of Hot Jerk Tommy, being both hot and a jerk, as he does. Jack freaking out and being an ass, then doing something to redeem himself like getting Helen the typewriter. Robby Benson! The Beast! Roxanne forging the autographs. Poor annoying Will trying to get somebody to play with him. Poor Sam -- oh, my beloved Sam. So miserable, and yet so smokin' hot with just that little towel on. Henry and Jack bonding (I was about to type 'bondage' there instead, and yeah, not gonna go there). Patty playing with the Barbies *snerk* First appearance of Luke! Luke Luke Luke, before his intellectual snobbery got annoying, back when he was just the cute Bob Dylan fan in Buddy Holly glasses. He and Meg had the snarky repulsion/attraction vibe down "And I am NOT a lemming! (to Roxanne) What's a lemming?"

Had forgotten what a great Marving Gaye Usher managed to do. His voice isn't as good, but his delivery was perfectly faithful to the original, and he looked good in the white suit. I think he might be my favorite guest spot so far.

And the end! The end will remain the best until the Valentine's Day episode with its original song and its Sad Montage of Sadness. Meg playing "Mr. Tambourine Man" on Luke's insistence, sitting there looking thoughtful like she might actually be getting something out of it, then snagging it off the player and bopping around to "My Boyfriend's Back." The Luke in me despaired, but it was perfectly in character for first-season Meg. Third-season Meg will be quite a different gal, I'm thinking.

Can't wait, dammit. Twenty-three hours and forty-four minutes!

Going to see "Troy" at nine. Vanessa was going to come with, but now is not. Which is sad, because I haven't had anybody good to snark with for that particular movie, but also good because most of my snark is bound to be slashy and I wouldn't have been able to share it. Ah well. I will snark to myself under my breath and maybe watch it with Meg when it comes out on video.
Music:: bootleg series #5, bob dylan (note to self: invest in rest of series!)
Mood:: 'crazy' crazy

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31