the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 12:03pm on 07/11/2004
Gacked from a bunch of people.

1. Stop talking about politics for a moment or two.
2. Post a reasonably-sized picture in your LJ, NOT under a cut tag, of something pleasant, such as an adorable kitten, or a fluffy white cloud, or a bottle of booze. Something that has NOTHING TO DO WITH POLITICS.
3. Include these instructions, and share the love.




And a few more under a tag )
Music:: "don't stop me now," queen
Mood:: 'amused' amused
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 05:45pm on 07/11/2004
Before I forget,Happy Birthday, [livejournal.com profile] monkeypuzzle! You are teh rocking ::glomps::

And now, poll. I don't know why this popped into my head during "The Terminal"....mmm, Diego Luna, even with the silly pornstache...ANYWAY. Let's all make like Mr. Rogers and enter the land of Make Believe Politics. Try not to check them all, even if your answer is technically "any of the above as long as it isn't GW Bush." And I didn't include Jeb (Jed?) Bartlett for fear that he would win by a landslide. Also, I've only ever seen an episode and a half of "The West Wing."

Also, just...pretend the senators are actually presidents.


[Poll #380146]

Okay, so that last one's a bit of a stretch. Work with me here, people.
Mood:: 'relaxed' relaxed
Music:: "new york state of mind," billy joel
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 06:02pm on 07/11/2004
See, this is why having a roommate is a problem for me. Every now and then, I just need to geek out to "Only the Good Die Young." Just plain need too ::wiggles in seat::

Are they seriously making a sequel to "Spaceballs"? Yahoo claims they are. Have we learned nothing from the "Scary Movie" franchise? Honestly, Mr. Brooks. I expect better from you.
Music:: come out, come out, virginia don't let me wait
Mood:: spammy
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Kerry's Votes Key to Bush Win, Rove Says

I fucking hate Karl Rove.

And dammit, they flew into Andrews? I could've driven over and booed Air Force One!

ETA: Morgan Freeman has a small margin of victory in the Race for the White House of My Livejournal. Viva Presidente Freeman!
Music:: "she's got a way," billy joel (not exactly mood music)
Mood:: 'angry' angry
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:56pm on 07/11/2004
Oh my god.

That was without a doubt the saddest, most emotionally draining hour of television I have ever seen. Blows "Becoming Pt. II" and "Shattered" right out of the water. I'm just...sitting here sobbing and throat-achey and completely wrecked

I admit, I was not paying full attention to the first forty minutes or so; I was puttering around trying to find new Jack Davenport wallpaper. It wasn't until Meg and Jack in the hotel room and "Do you think he's...dead?" Brittany Snow -- CHRIST, somebody hand that girl some kind of award. Whenever Meg hurts, I hurt with her, but it was worse tonight, because this was no mere broken heart -- you could see her changing inside. And then they get home and lie to poor, hopeful Helen until JJ's tape comes and...pain. Chest-compressing pain. The complete simplicity of it -- just panning over each actor's face as they react to the tape, and then the flashes of memory that they were doing throughout the whole thing. My heart, it was broken, and I was inconsolable.

The fight between Helen and Jack was so raw that I almost couldn't watch it. That's what my family sounds and looks like when they're fighting. I can't totally hate Chris for yelling at Meg, because then when she started to cry, he immediately got off his high horse and just held her. Also, he had a point about being worried that something might have happened to her when she didn't show up at the rally. Playing "Paint It, Black" during the closing montage -- Patty and Will, Meg and Chris, Jack crying, Helen crying, Beth putting JJ's ring back on, the candle fucking burning out, all of it makes for a complete mess of a Dala -- but it didn't seem so out of place once it led up to the Vietnam footage. It just showcased the fantastic acting and writing, because we know JJ is still alive, know it all through the episode -- but they don't, and it's so very painful because I believe in the characters so deeply.

Although the Pryor storyline had all of my attention this week, Nathan's slapdown of Sam was well-deserved and rang true. Because, I see where Sam is coming from, because my dad's side of the family? What is usually referred to as white trash -- working class across the board, never finished college except for Dad himself, also half of them are completely horrible people, which has nothing to do with Sam's wonderful family, just that...I understand being ashamed of your roots. But Sam, baby? Get the fuck over it or you're gonna find yourself completely alone in the world. Also, shut up. Nathan, I love you. Please stay just the way you are.

Anyway. What a fucking amazing show. And it will never get the recognition it deserves, because NBC sucks donkey balls and America thinks well-written and well-acted family dramas are boring. Which is a shame, because this particular portrayal of the Vietnam War is incredibly relevant today. Almost too relevant, in fact -- this whole MIA storyline, I think, is so powerful not just because it happened then, but because it's happening now. Again. Despire the fact that we should know better.

Ship manifesto: "American Dreams"/Dala. Or "American Dreams"/a larger viewship, if I had my way.
Mood:: 'crushed' crushed
Music:: "movin' out," billy joel

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31