the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:07pm on 09/03/2005
*shriek* Augggggh! MY SHOW! My show is back on for the first time since JANUARY and I was watching the reality whores on MTV and ALMOST MISSED IT. I know it's only on tonight because fucking NBC is trying to kill it, but I DO NOT CARE.

Just the thought of new AD is making me tear up. Screw you, Percy Shelley.

Awww. They're using the Israel Kama-etc version of "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" in a new commercial. The TV does not want me to stop crying ever.
Music:: american dreams american dreams OMG AMERICAN DREAMS
Mood:: 'excited' excited
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:00pm on 09/03/2005
Okay, yeah, I can't keep my mouth shut because OMG MEG AND SAM SQUEEEEE.

JJ -- just say no, baby. You have a family and a future. Please don't fuck things up any more.

Hee. "You wanted to be a zookeeper." That was a typically sneaky Patty thing to do, and much as I love her, it's funny when things blow up in her face.

Jack. Sigh. There's just no way for him to get out of this one.

Roxanne doing pushups -- bwaha. I covet hers and Luke's record collection.

Damn, Daphne Zuniga's pretty.

That army kid's cute as hell. Yay, friend for JJ who's not dumbass Tommy.

Rox's stripy pink dress! I saw promo pictures of that!

Ooooh! Date with Sam! Yes, Rox, is IS. And we've been waiting so long.

Nathan. Naaaaathan. You are beautiful and I want you. Especially when you're coaching Henry to ask the pretty lady out, hee. God that boy has a gorgeous smile *swoon*

Okay, Army Guy is now Doctor Guy. Good for him. And they're bringing up the astronaut thing again, sweet

Is that our first Dylan impersonator? No, it'd be way more crowded.

Leaning! leaning! AUGGGH! TOUCHING! poh23n;aklsjndfo[8h!!! MEG/SAM TOUCHING. Not that "Masters of War" is terribly romantic...

Baby John makes me cry again. His head is still as big as Will Estes'.

Resigning -- oh, Jack. That hurts. He had such hopes for his family, his city, his dignity -- och.

As excited as I am about the prospect of Meg and Sam dating, I give the show props for how slowly they're taking it, the honesty with which they portray both Sam's and Meg's fears about starting an interracial relationship in 1965 (66? I can never keep track of the timeline).

Ewww, dirty cops. PETE SMASH! Okay, that was dumb, but it was incredibly satisfying. *snicker* "I'm very disappointed in myself, but I think the world needs to know the truth." Oh, Patty, of COURSE it's not about the money.

The Animals? Quien es this clown doing Eric Burdon? I totally missed him in the credit roll. Keaton Simmons, Mr. Video says. Never heard of him, but he's got the vocals down.

JJ on the football field! Good times. Misty watercolored memories and whatnot.

I'm getting ishy feelings about that white guy watching Sam and Meg in the locker room. And I'm thinking Nathan's about to flip the hell out. Not without reason, but still.

Uh-oh. JJ is so not going to be happy about this. Oh, Meg, sweetie, I hear what JJ's saying, but...I think you're gonna fight for this. And I love you for that. Wow, that was cold. In-character, but cold.

Sam's turn. I love how they both mention the other party's parents. They're living in a new world, Nathan. Or they will be soon enough.

Ooooh, a rare Stones tune. Not one of my favorites, but it's nice to hear something different.

Brian McKnight as Stokely Carmichael? ....Okay.

Good lorf, Paris Hilton is on next week. I'll have to go blind and deaf. I don't begrudge you the ratings desperation, Show, because you need the numbers, but please don't let her sing.

Episode after the episode after that -- "season finale and very possibly the series finale." If that's true, I will never grow attached to another NBC show. They keep dreck like "Fear Factor" and "Joey" on the air and do everything in their power to see a fine show like AD go down in flames. Fuck you, NBC execs. Fuck you in your stupid asses.

Awww! Kiss the girl, Henry! With...what's that, Stevie in the background? Some pretty soul crooner, anyway -- it's playing too low. I'll have to ask Daddy.

NOOOOOOO.

No matter how many times I watch Meg get her heart broken, it still rips me apart. And that tiny little kiss on the cheek displayed more chemistry (not to mention respect for the characters) than I've seen on TV in a long, long time. Poor Meg. Poor Sam. I'm not going to bitch about this development or lack thereof, because it's realistic, but...damn, it hurts.

Beth pushing JJ toward the space program -- good girl.

Awww, was Patty calling Donald to tell him about the contest? I completely missed what she said at the beginning, so I'm just going to assume that she is.

"You were really going to hang up your high school diploma." "I thought it would always remind me that I didn't drop out." Damn, that was a perfect line reading.

Commencement! Pomp and Circumstance! Robes and dorky hats and ROX! Heeeeeee! Banter with the priest! You go on, girl.

Shelley's cheating on Pete? Oh hell no. This is, like, the first woman he hasn't treated like crap.

It was Donald! Hooray! See now, that was a tiny little touch that had nothing to do with the plot, but was just a gift for the fans. Thank you, AD.

Meg's speech intersecting with Stokely Carmichael's -- Jesus, that's brilliant.

Crying again. My world is going to be a little dimmer when this show dies. I wish my caring about it so much could make up for the lousy ratings. I personally know exactly three people who watch it, but they're all completely in love with it -- none of the fans on TWoP are lukewarm either. We all love it so much that one viewer ought to count as ten. Sigh.

It's freezing in here again.
Mood:: 'cold' cold
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)

ot3

posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:41pm on 09/03/2005 under
Next to last gift ficlet -- I have [livejournal.com profile] aradiria's Norrington/Groves, and then some Jack/Will for [livejournal.com profile] veronica_rich in thanks for Orlando Bloom goodness ("The Calcium Kid," btw, is cute and funny and warmhearted and I recommend it heartily). And somewhere in there, studying for Age of Absolutism midterm, and some more Percy Shelley. Fucking Percy Shelley... I'm also looking into getting my prophecy essay published in the student philosophy/religion journal. Katharina suggested it, which was one of the many Awesome Things About Monday. It's just a little campus thing, but still, the word 'publishable' sent me into a freakout.

So, extreme busyness until tomorrow night, and then driving home and extreme laziness for the entirety of spring break, hopefully punctuated by lots of reading. I finished Fluke by Christopher Moore, which was not as good as Lamb, but still highly entertaining, and surprisingly intelligent. I had to pause on all the library books because I rented "Braveheart" over the weekend and desired something in a nice plaid, and I just happen to have been carrying Outlander around for three years, looking for an opportunity to reread it. Mmmm Jamie Fraser. Although I flipped forward to the sex scene, and though it's not wince-inducing, fic has spoiled me.

Anyway...

Reflection [Jack/Will/Elizabeth with a mirror; requested by fabu] )
Mood:: 'bored' bored
Music:: "along comes mary," the association

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31