the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 04:58pm on 20/06/2005
Wow. Apparently I did not realize the extent of my desire to see "The Chronicles of Narnia." I watched the trailer for the first time today, squeed when I realized what it was, and then...burst into tears. Like, real ones, as in I would have been sobbing if I hadn't been able to control myself. I was also shaking a little. I don't know why this is. The story must have been more important in my childhood than I remember. I'll have to reread the books this fall.

Feature film was RotS, for the third time, with Daddy as his slightly belated Father's Day gift. And I loved it again. This time around I was really struck by the subtlety of Palpatine's manipulation of Anakin, how he knew exactly when to push and when to hold back. And it's probably because I've been reading fic, but the Anakin - Obi-wan interaction made a greater impression (you can take or leave the / as you will). I didn't start to cry until I heard Leia's Theme start up, though.

I've also become addicted to "The L Word," late to the game as usual. Made my way through the first two discs. It's better than "Queer as Folk." I think, anyway. I haven't yet decided if this is my opinion because I just fundamentally relate better to a group of women (and female writers) regardless of orientation, or if it really does have better writing, acting, and Jennifer Beals. whom I love beyond all reason. I think the character of Bette could really irritate if played by a different actress, but I just discovered I have this huge girlcrush on Jennifer Beals. And I've never even seen "Flashdance." In terms of actual characters, Alice is easily my favorite, although I am weirdly fascinated by Shane. At first I was puzzled by the notion that she was -- how to put it -- the major hub on the web, but then when she was flirting with the red-haired chef, I got it. I also love the little mini-stories told at the beginning of each episode, and figuring out how they factor in. I hope the rest of the season is this good, because as much as I love Brian/Justin and Emmett QaF, it started to go downhill but quick. Now I mostly watch it for the hot hotness of Brian/Justin Emmett and nostalgia.

Time for "Clone Wars"! ::bounces:: I am immersed in SW today.
Mood:: 'bouncy' bouncy
Music:: "a new hope/end credits," john williams

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31