the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:51pm on 01/10/2005
*flop* Long day. Vanessa's parents and her two younger brothers drove down for the afternoon. Our sole mission was pimping the school to Jeremy, who is a freshman at UMBC and absolutely hates it. I think we did a pretty decent job. The river's always the selling point. We went kayaking -- well, we went kayaking and the boys went fishing. I had never been in a kayak before today. I think I prefer sailing, but it was fun nonetheless. The water was a perfect temperature and I didn't spot a single jellyfish. Must be getting too cold for them. We went to Lonestar for dinner, where Mr. B inquired of the waiter his entire life story. He's a funny man, Ness's dad. Looks a bit like Alan Alda.

Yesterday was also good. We went in a large group of females to see the first showing of "Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants," which I enjoyed just as thoroughly the second time around. That movie could have been horrible without such talented actresses to pull it off and and to capture the sense of real friendship between the girls. The four of them had fantastic chemistry, together and apart.My favorite scene is still Tibby and Carmen's fight, where Carmen accuses Tibby of hiding behind her scorn for humanity and Tibby just looks at her. America Ferrera and Amber Tamblyn were great in that scene. And Blake Lively is still impossibly beautiful, and makes me feel like I would hate Bridget if she were played by anybody else.

It was a good audience, too. Entire theater full of estrogren. You could hear everybody sniffling at the same time. And of course there was a collective freakout at the bit where the pants are traveling (from Bee?) to Tibby, because OMG THEY'RE FROM MARYLAND REPRESENT. Oh! The school's version of the movie was edited by Pat Robertson or something. All of the 'ass'es were dubbed with 'butt's. So fucking annoying. Maybe they got it cheap that way or something, but so fucking annoying.

I could easily collapse for the night, but continuing in my quest to be more social, I called up Jeanne, Michelle and Gwen to see if they were doing anything, and we're going out later. Nothing happens on this campus till 11, anyway, so I'll have time for a pre-party nap.

Apologies for not being very fannish recently. I'm really trying to make something great out of this year and I have fallen behind, aside from the wayward squee at something. I still love the pirates. I still write the pirates. Just...not tonight?
Music:: "these days," chantal kreviazuk (i caved and bought the pants soundtraclk)
Mood:: 'contemplative' contemplative

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31