"The Brothers Grimm" played on campus this weekend and, well, I'm glad I saved myself the cost of renting it. Damn, that was bad. I was expecting it, but it was still disappointing. Even with Jonathan Pryce Frenchily hamming it up, it was just so stupid and convaluted and crappy. I couldn't make out half the dialogue in the first twenty minutes -- everybody was either mumbling or shouting incoherently. The acting was pretty bad, although I thought the leads did the best they could under the circumstances. It was amusing to see Lena Headey -- I spent half an hour puzzling out where I knew her from, because I had this particular crystal-clear mental image of her as Guinevere (I believe it was when she was holding Lancelot's hand after the tournament, but it's been a couple of years), but I couldn't remember the character forever. I wanted to kill Monica Belluci. SO FUCKING ANNOYING. And to be shallow, seriously overrated in the looks department.
Last night, though, was far more pleasant -- after the dance show (bootyshaking! bootyslapping! bellydance! mock-Greek boy hanging upside down with legs wrapped around other mock-Greek boy!) we watched "Napoleon Dynamite," which is pretty much the greatest movie of all time, and "Love Actually," which always leaves me with such a warm fuzzy holiday buzz. I'd forgotten Martin Freeman was in it and I freaked the other girls out shrieking "Arthur! Arthur Dent!"
And...still not very far on any work. There's an 80% chance of snow tomorrow and it's bloody cold already. I promise I will work on work ALL day if it will only snow enough to cancel classes. ALL DAY! PLEASE! I don't want to walk across campus at 7:30 in the morning in 20 degree weather!
Sigh. I will do a snow dance later. Please think cold thoughts in my direction.
Skins are leading! Fight on, fight on, til you have won, sons of Waaaashiiiiiington (dun da dun dun dun dun...)