the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:39pm on 12/08/2004
Um, Eagles fans (meaning the band, not the NFL team), look away.

EWW EWW EWW. They did that stupid fucking song about Johnny Come Lately and the new kid in town? They used to play that over the loudspeaker as Penneys, it was part of the collection of Music for Dala to Kill Herself By. It did not swing me quite as far to the "GAHHH DEATH IS THE ONLY OPTION" end of the spectrum as, say, "Only Time" (oh God, I've invoked it now...) but I still hated it truly, madly, deeply.

Yeah. I am not an Eagles fan, with the single exception of "Take It Easy," and they wrote that with Jackson Browne (and you can hear it, too) so I figure it doesn't count. But I wasn't aware they had recorded this particular awful song.

::shudders:: I just do not get the Eagles. Them and Pink Floyd. I'm sure I'll get my classic rock badge taken away for that, but I care not. I can't stand Don Henley's voice and they're a bit too much on the country side.

All right, back to copying individual songs from Dad's CD collection. Working backwards, on letter E (obviously), so nearly done.
Mood:: 'aggravated' aggravated
Music:: "take it easy," the only eagles song i can stomach
There are 6 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] megpie71.livejournal.com at 06:37pm on 12/08/2004
*grin* De gustibus non disputandam, but I'm actually reasonably fond of the Eagles. They redeemed themselves for me with things like "Heartache Tonight", "Take It Easy", "Hotel California", and "Desperado".
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (thedeadparrot - u2 love)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:37pm on 12/08/2004
Heh, I just can't listen to any of it besides "Take It Easy," and I have tried. Ah well. Lotsa Eagles fans in the world, I'm sure they won't miss me.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 07:13pm on 12/08/2004
I can't fault you for having your own opinion, but I just had to say I disagree. In fact, I just bought the Don Henley Greatest Hits; "Boys of Summer" is one of my all-time favorite songs. As far as I'm concerned, summer cannot begin or end unless I've heard that song, on Memorial Day and Labor Day weekends, on the radio. (Yes, I know I'm strange. No, I don't mind at all.)

I'll tell you who gets on MY nerves is Joe Cocker, Mr. "You Are So Beautiful." To borrow an analogy from Dave Barry, the man sounds like he's getting a prostate exam from Captain Hook, ugh. I can't stand anything he sings; the only thing that makes "Love Lift Us Up" bearable is Jennifer Warner, the female vocalist on it ...
 
posted by [identity profile] megpie71.livejournal.com at 08:15pm on 12/08/2004
Oh gods yes. Man's got a voice that sounds like he's been gargling gravel for the last forty years, and I will *never* forgive him for what he did to "With A Little Help From My Friends". It's a happy song, not a funeral dirge, godsdammit.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (thedeadparrot - bored ringo)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:42pm on 12/08/2004
Hee. Ringo sounds so jolly on the original.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (thedeadparrot - u2 love)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:41pm on 12/08/2004
Hee. Not strange at all. I've listened to "The Lusty Month of May" every single May 1st for the past ten years. That's way weirder.

Eh, Joe Cocker doesn't bother me much, although I really dislike "Love Lift Us Up" for reasons unknown.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31