posted by
the_dala at 06:10pm on 13/08/2004
I'm watching the fourth episode of QaF and good god, am I supposed to have any shred of sympathy for Brian? Even when the dialogue is forgivable -- when I can clearly see that this scene in front of Ted's bed could be really effective and believable if it was played differently, but the actor has this terrible, wooden, half-stoned delivery and there is nothing behind his eyes. It's not just all the "Fuck yous" and the "I hope it was worth it" and "I'm doing it for me;" it's how the character comes across as not giving one flying fuck. The exact same inflections, expressions (or lack thereof) as when he picks up guys at a bar. I'm not asking for tears here, but I would at least appreciate some indication of basic human emotional capability. And then he goes and fucks the nurse RIGHT THERE and I had to stop the DVD, I was so disgusted.
I don't know if I can watch the rest of this shit. All the characters minus Brian are great, especially Michael, but I can't think of anything that could possibly redeem this one scene.
Ugh ::shudders:: Maybe I'll just mute any scene with Brian in it.
I don't know if I can watch the rest of this shit. All the characters minus Brian are great, especially Michael, but I can't think of anything that could possibly redeem this one scene.
Ugh ::shudders:: Maybe I'll just mute any scene with Brian in it.
(no subject)
(no subject)
Have watched seasons 1-3 and can honestly say that I have never once found Brian at all likeable. I suppose that was half the point in writing him as a smug, unfeeling bastard, but the problem with that is that you've got to have a talented actor to convey any sort of Hidden Depths TM (which, supposedly, Brian has) but that guy just...is not talented enough, I guess, or the writers aren't, or something. It just doesn't work for me.
However. Emmett and Debbie = Redeeming Factors for Entire Show.
(no subject)
(no subject)
And yeah, Emmett and Debbie rock. Vic (Debbie's brother) has a few good moments, too, though he's not on that much.
I *still* haven't watched any of my Season 4 tapes. Must get to that.
(no subject)
(no subject)
So in summary, Brian's an ass, but it's only the fourth episode. Give it time, and it gets better. And plus, Gale Harold's acting gets better too.