posted by
the_dala at 09:48pm on 21/09/2004
| Your Boobies' Names Are: Betty and Veronica |
You're goddamned right they are.
Been busy like whoa the past couple days. Started work, which is only 1-2 hours a day so you wouldn't think the thought of it would fill me with such vast despair. It's also depressing to know that pay is minimum wage and I won't see a paycheck till mid-October. But on the plus side, it's easy, mindless desk work, which I prefer to anything customer service. I can do customer service if I have to, and do it with a smile, but stick me in a quiet corner with some papers to sort or file and I'm a much happier Dala. Solitude beats monotony, every time.
I feel I should get extra credit for going to Mythology today, because I really, really wanted badly to skip it. Mostly because I hadn't written my mini-paper, but then I poked around in the Iliad, found an angle, wrote three pages and went anyway. Tonight I had to defend Hector, as everybody else was willing to dismiss him as completely fallen from grace in the later books. Nah, man -- he's just human. Went back and forth on Achilles as I tend to do, fangirled Odysseus as I also tend to do, shat on Paris as I never, ever miss an opportunity to do (tonight was relatively mild; he was just useless. And Melissa called him "basically a girl," so HA).
At dinner, I saw a guy who looks a bit like Orlando Bloom. His features aren't very similar -- I'm talking nose, mouth, eyes -- but he has that pixie sort of face, and he had brown hair that looked like Orlando's when he's got it really short. He was distracting. Not, however, as distracting as Barbie Boy, who I keep seeing around campus. Thus nicknamed because he is like a Ken doll come to life, so much so that I'm always tempted to check for anatomical correctness. Only, you know, less plastic. He has a perfect chiseled face, and a perfect body, and a short blond ponytail, and he may very well be the most attractive man I've ever seen up and close and in person. He's not even my type, physically, but these are the kind of looks you can't debate. This is walking into streetlamps kind of hot, people. This is somebody flipped through an Abercrombie and Firtch catalogue, snatched up one of the hottest models, and plunked him down in southern Maryland. In other words, Barbie Boy.
Oh! "Gilmore Girls'! Wonderful. Hands-down favorite part was Emily crawling through the window. I actually felt so bad for poor Lindsay, when Dean was yelling at her (ASShole, by the way) and when she hopped up and down with glee at cooking the pot roast. What a sad, sad little girl. Since we've no indication that she goes to school or works, Dean is pretty much her whole life. But I can't totally hate Rory, because she did acknowledge what an idiot she was, and she's doing something she thinks will help fix it. And poor Lorelai too, when Rory scampered off into the airport without giving her a hug or kiss or anything. I was more angry with Rory for that than for destroying the sanctity of Dean's marriage, because that after all did take two. Mostly I'm glad they threw us this bone instead of plopping us down after the summer has passed. That would've been lazy writing and unfair to the genuinely interesting storylines.
Second only to the Emily-love was Luke and his five (six?) messages. LUKE I WANT YOUR BABIES OMG HEEEEEEEE.
There is a mystery beeping thing in the room. Just one short electronic beep, then two or three minutes of silence, then another beep. It woke me up at 4:30 AM. I thought it was my alarm clock, but I brought that down next to my ear and when the next beep came, it was elsewhere. Sounded like it was coming from Vanessa's desk, but she says she didn't wake up. Woke ME the hell up, though. Then Anya was getting ready for crew practice at 5:30, so I couldn't fall back asleep until she'd finished and gone, and then I swear I heard somebody drop something or knock something over in the common room and I was convinced that the rumored sex offender from Suite 8 was on the prowl. Eventually I got over this and fell back asleep, only to be awakened by an alarm clock that was still somewhere in my bed (it was down by my knee, not that I could remember this immediately).
So yeah, last night? Not good for the sleep. Think also it was the window being open, because while your standard night sounds of crickets and cicadas and whatnot are not enough to wake me, they'll keep me up after I'm already awake.
Still recovering from finishing ASW Sunday night. Wrote a little Moon/Tideverse E/J/A in Bio on Monday, still don't know if I want to officially take the storyline in that direction. Dunno. Very tired. Want more movies. Second HH -- my favorite part was when he was wandering around asking to borrow a shirt. And then bargaining to have his neckcloth ironed, he just flashes this ear-to-ear grin that I could never imagine book!Horatio doing. It was so....eeeeee. I had to rewind and watch it six times. Also, discovered that Ioan has perfect eyebrows. Seriously, take special note of his eyebrows, at least in the HH films. They are perfect. It goes without saying that the curly hair still renders me insensible. Especially when it's wet and curly. Sigh. I also had a dream last night that Horatio and Archie were reunited. I don't remember anything about it, however.
Will stop babbling now and go do something useful.
(no subject)
(no subject)