posted by
the_dala at 11:55am on 07/10/2004
Legacy midterm went fabulously. This whole morning cram session thing seems to be working. I labeled the map last night, but saved all the identifications for this morning, and somehow the grogginess of my brain at 7:00 allowed me to retain most of the information. Forgot to look up Quebec, so I guessed. It's near the east coast, right? The identifications were fine, except that I ran out of things to say about Calvinism and ended up mentioning the Puritans. Riiiiight. The essay was nice and broad, about the debate over new ways to govern city-states. I don't think I should have used Prussia, as it had nothing to do with my final point and I'd forgotten all about it by the time I got to the conclusion. The Bullshit Lever was turned to Random Fact-Dropping (i.e. oooh! Look what I know! This and this and this! Aren't you distracted by all the NAMES and DATES?). So it wasn't a particularly good essay, but it should get a fair amount of credit. And it was half the grade, and the other half was the map/identifications which I know I got right (except for the possible exception of Quebec), so all in all, pleased with how this grade should turn out.
Also got an e-mail this morning from Legacy professor, thanking me for participating so much. Which is awesome, naturally. I can't help myself; I hate it when a teacher asks a question and the class just sits there staring blankly. In the first place, it's rude. In the second place, dude, that is how they know we didn't do the reading. That is why they give us pop quizzes. If you don't want any, crack open your book, find something useful, and fake it, for the love of god. That's all my level of participation is, half the time. Larry used to shake his head at me in Lit when I'd raise my hand not having read a single word of what we were supposed to be discussing.
Officially done, by my standards, with the week. Still have class and work, but in terms of classwork I actually need to do, it's over. And I went and picked up the movies from my mailbox today -- "The Wrong War" and whatever the next movie is, one more disc of "American Dreams" -- so I'm set on that account.
And lunch today was excellent. Deli subs, with real meat and real cheese.
Almost forgot -- National Coming Out Day. Pride, people. I stopped by the booth at the campus center to pick up a rainbow ribbon and an 'ally' poster. Which I will probably hang on my desk somewhere, as I intend to uphold the unspoken rule that we don't express differing opinions on shared surfaces. I would prefer to have it and my Kerry/Edwards stickers on the door, but since I wouldn't want to have something Bush-related or religious up there, it's not happening.
Boooored. Stuck in the library. I could go to work early, but I really don't feel like it. Speaking of work, where's my damn paycheck? I'm not sure how they do things here, but I want my three weeks' worth of minimum wage.
Also got an e-mail this morning from Legacy professor, thanking me for participating so much. Which is awesome, naturally. I can't help myself; I hate it when a teacher asks a question and the class just sits there staring blankly. In the first place, it's rude. In the second place, dude, that is how they know we didn't do the reading. That is why they give us pop quizzes. If you don't want any, crack open your book, find something useful, and fake it, for the love of god. That's all my level of participation is, half the time. Larry used to shake his head at me in Lit when I'd raise my hand not having read a single word of what we were supposed to be discussing.
Officially done, by my standards, with the week. Still have class and work, but in terms of classwork I actually need to do, it's over. And I went and picked up the movies from my mailbox today -- "The Wrong War" and whatever the next movie is, one more disc of "American Dreams" -- so I'm set on that account.
And lunch today was excellent. Deli subs, with real meat and real cheese.
Almost forgot -- National Coming Out Day. Pride, people. I stopped by the booth at the campus center to pick up a rainbow ribbon and an 'ally' poster. Which I will probably hang on my desk somewhere, as I intend to uphold the unspoken rule that we don't express differing opinions on shared surfaces. I would prefer to have it and my Kerry/Edwards stickers on the door, but since I wouldn't want to have something Bush-related or religious up there, it's not happening.
Boooored. Stuck in the library. I could go to work early, but I really don't feel like it. Speaking of work, where's my damn paycheck? I'm not sure how they do things here, but I want my three weeks' worth of minimum wage.
(no subject)
Plus, the Slutbunny.
(no subject)
and you should really win some kind of diplomacy prize for managing to live with someone with such massively differing opinions to yours - I don't know if i'm particularly intolerant but i would have flipped by now.
(no subject)
I complain about my roomie a lot, but she's really not preachy. Much. It's just...frustrating sometimes.
(no subject)
Heehee! I always subscribed to the old saw, "If you can't dazzle 'em with brilliance then baffle 'em with bullshit," myself. Usually works, too, strangely enough.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Amen. I am amazed at how many people sit there and say nothing. I love holding forth about anything and everything. They must be so bored just sitting there! Even in my International Studies tute, which you don't need to do any reading for at all (all you need is opinions, which I conveniently have plenty of), I am astounded by how many people don't say a word.
I must say, though, that constant participation does raise problems - if you're the only/one of the few contributing, and there is a silence which you could fill, and yet you have already had something to say every other time a question has been raised, should you speak up or force other class members into participation by remaining silent? Because I will be the first to admit that sometimes I'm not the most profound of speakers, and it's nice to hear other people's opinions too.