the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:00pm on 25/10/2004
243-9u8jjv;lksjnadf[0ij32nr

Ya'll. I DIG MUSIC.

Just got back from Barry Drake's lecture "The '60s: When the Music Mattered" and I am so jazzed I can barely type. I sat in the dark for an hour and a half and listened to music and listened to a guy talk about music and it was about as close to a religious experience as I get. I just...the MUSIC, it stirs such a visceral reaction in me that it makes no difference I'm thirty years late to the party. I mean, it can't be normal to start crying in the middle of "Like a Rolling Stone" or "Sittin' on the Dock of the Bay" or "When I'm 64" (I'm completely serious. Thank god it was dark or I would've been embarrassed). My first broken heart was to the tune of "Bridge Over Troubled Water," which is why I still have difficulty listening to it today (and it was not, in fact, over a guy. It was over a horse). It's not just me discovering Bob Dylan all on my own and wearing out three greatest hits tapes, it's singing along in the car with Dad and arguing over whether it's Annie or Fanny and the best album from each stage of Beatles music. It's lying flat on my stomach in the living room and making this connection at an age when I felt completely alien from anybody near my own age.

And now I CANNOT decide what the hell to listen to. May as well go in alphabetical order. It's times like this when I miss having three hundred records within easy reach.

I was a bit miffed that he left out the women of the folk scene -- he talked about Grace Slick and Janis Joplin, but no Joni, no Joan Baez, no Judy Collins, no Carol King, no Carly Simon -- and actually I'm inching to the '70s there, so I'll shut up. And he did play "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes," so that counts. And "White Room" was the Cream selection, which is awesome, because I've always preferred it to "Sunshine of Your Love" and that gets far more play.

And all right, let's open an argument I've been having with my dad for years. My answer's already up.

[Poll #372754]
Music:: "turn! turn! turn!" the byrds
Mood:: 'crazy' crazy
There are 11 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] hannahrorlove.livejournal.com at 07:18pm on 25/10/2004
ZZ Top isn't that good looking, but I think Aerosmith is worse, thanks to the lips.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (thedeadparrot - john lennon)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 07:22pm on 25/10/2004
::giggles:: Yeah, ZZ Top is pretty darn ugly. But I STILL think the Stones take it :)
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (thedeadparrot - john lennon)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 07:43pm on 25/10/2004
AHA! AHAHAHAHA! YEAHHHHH. Joe Perry was once even kinda HOT. Keith alone could carry the title for the Stones. I love his crazy mumbling ass, but dude is legally dead.
 
posted by [identity profile] hannahrorlove.livejournal.com at 07:52pm on 25/10/2004
There was a study done a while ago where some people measured how long rock stars would live based on various factors. Sting was given a long expectancy because he was healthy, did yoga, and is married. Ozzy Osbourne is going to live a while because of his marriage, but his history of drugs isn't going to help him.

The study was done in the mid-90s. Keith Richards was supposed to die in 1998, mostly due to having taken pretty much every drug known to man (and some unknown ones as well). The fact that he's not dead yet is quite impressive.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (me - dude)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:02pm on 25/10/2004
*snicker* He's a walking corpse, I swear. I cannot wait for his appearance in the PotC sequel.
 
posted by [identity profile] cicerothewriter.livejournal.com at 07:37pm on 25/10/2004
I would say that the Rolling Stones and Aerosmith give each other a run for their money in the ugly department, but at least during the early Sixties, a couple of the Rolling Stones looked decent enough (don't know which ones, I've always been a Beatles fan).

Btw, the lips really are bad for Aerosmith. I can't imagine who would want to sleep with that man. *shudders*

The only other band I can think of is the guys from Fleetwood Mac (sorry, don't have any pictures of them). Stevie Nicks and the other girl were cute, but the guys had the grungy look going on. However, these guys were nowhere as bad as the Rolling Stones or Aerosmith.
 
posted by [identity profile] cicerothewriter.livejournal.com at 08:22pm on 25/10/2004
Holy cow! He looks like two different people!

Well...once he, you know, SHAVED :)

Yeah, I'll give you that one *g*

In general terms, I'm not too partial to facial hair. Only Jack Sparrow and the various incarnations of Watson spring to mind as men with beards whom I find appealing.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (meriadoc_icons - johnny book)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:25pm on 25/10/2004
I'm pretty flexible as long as it's neatly trimmed. I do hate to cover up really lovely bone structure, although Johnny can pull it off.
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (thedeadparrot - beautiful day)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:00pm on 25/10/2004
Oh YEAH. Dee Snider is a DOG.
 
posted by [identity profile] txorakeriak.livejournal.com at 05:10am on 26/10/2004
I listened to "Bridge over troubled water" yesterday, too - weird coincidence. And it left me with a mood I don't know how to call, but certainly strange. It's a very lovely song, to be sure!

And I go for the stones. I think, Steven Tyler is quite attractive, in a grotesque kind of way, but I can see no beauty in Mick Jagger at all... ;)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31