the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 12:50am on 28/07/2004
Today, you see, was Cute Blond Guy Day at work, only nobody had the sense to inform me, so I came stumbling in just as Cute Blond Guy #1 (aka Really, Really Cute Blond Boy) was being terribly friendly with my mother and Gail. They were saying something about how he sounds just like his father, while I was zipping up my sweater in the back and freaking out because he was so damn cute, and naturally the talk turned to general parent/child similarities just so my mother could snag my arm as I walked by to log in and say, "Yes, my daughter and I are very different." And then I tried to keep from falling through the floor and hid in the closet until he left. When I emerged, still mortified, Gail and Mom were busy snooping in his chart. "He's six months older than you!" "He's very smart -- he's on scholarship!" "He has an appointment on August 10th!" Shameless yentas, both of them. But I'll come in early that day nonetheless.

Later in the afternoon, another Cute Blond Boy (aka Cute Blond Boy with Blue Bandana) arrived for his cleaning. There was more chart snoopage; this one was also of reasonable age. It was Tracee's turn to play matchmaker. She asked him where he went to school, and he said he was just starting his sophomore year at (in? I don't know schools) Tennessee, and she cuts her eyes at me and said, "[insert actual name here]'s starting her sophomore year too." CBBwBB asked me how I liked it down there, and I said it was fine if a little dull, and asked him what Tennessee was like, and he said it was very laid-back compared to the D.C. area. It was minimal flirting, because honestly, how can you flirt with grown folks tittering five inches away? Especially when one of them gave birth to you and, like, bathed your girly parts on a regular basis? I was at least gratified that I had actually donned makeup for the day -- for earlier, when I returned the movies to Blockbusters in hopes of running into Cute Hispanic Counter Guy. Alas, he was not there today, but at least the personal grooming did not go to waste.

It would actually have been just Cute Boy day, but I disqualified the third contestant -- a younger, darker, less pudgy Alfred Molina lookalike -- because it turns out he's underage. Only by a few months! And he had a full beard! ...But I still felt like a perv.

Anyway. Got more movies, saving my Spanish-language picks for when CHCG is in again (anybody have any recommendations, btw? "Y Tu Mamá También" was kind of my ace in the hole); picked up "Hellboy," "Calender Girls," "Ned Kelly," and the first disc of "Queer as Folk" S1. Watched "Ned Kelly" with the pa tonight. Oh how I love my Heath. It's been awhile, but I can still fangirl him like nobody's business, even with a terrible fakey Grizzly Adams getup. He owned the movie, but I was also interested in our young Mr. Bloom, intending to use this film to determine whether or not he can actually act (because, in all honesty, I wasn't expecting him to do anything in LotR, PotC, or Troy but stand there and look pretty, and maybe pout from time to time). Verdict: ...well, he might get there somebody. He was better in this. Of course I loved that his character was a total slut. Regarding the movie itself, I thought it was very good, though the beginning proceeded a bit roughly. Didn't get enough Geoffrey Rush, but then I don't believe there's such a thing as enough Geoffery Rush. Klaus Badelt did the score, and I liked the generic Celtic strains, but it was too heavy at other times and became really distracting. spoilers )

All in all, two thumbs in salute. But then again I know nothing about the original story, and so I don't know how any changes might have bothered me.

Tomorrow I'm off and so the day shall be spend with Hellboy, the Queer as Folk...um...folk, and the drabble/ficlets I still owe.

It's not really almost August already, is it? What the hell happened to July?
Music:: "meeting across the river," bruce
Mood:: 'mellow' mellow
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Today, I got up off my arse and went to see "King Arthur" by myself, at 11:45, with one other person in the theater. I loved every testosterone-laden minute of it. I finally get the whole fuss over Clive Owen -- the man was damn good. Henceforth, he shall be equal with Richard Harris as my favorite Arthur. Ioan...::dies from overdose of the curly hair:: Loved all the knights. Was impressed to see that Keira really did put on all that muscle she's been talking about in interviews. Purty, purty horses (although why are warhorses always black or dappled? Can I get a nice bay or chestnut, please?). I might pick up the soundtrack -- always did like Hans Zimmer (I FART IN YOUR GENERAL DIRECTION, WHOREHORNER). Most exciting of all, now I can read the KA fic that's been popping up on the flist, late to the party though I am. Recs, anybody?

Ewww, amazon.com wants me to buy the soundtrack with the "Troy" soundtrack and save nine bucks. Screw you, amazon.

Something I forgot in my thoughts on "Ned Kelly": it was terrible and horrible and badwrong of me, but I couldn't help giggling at the Kelly gang's armor, because I kept expecting them to bust out with "Just a flesh wound!" and "I'll bite yer legs off!" Also, Wallace Shawn was in my head, repeating "And Australia is entirely peopled with criminals..." over and over.
Music:: "highway to hell," ac/dc
Mood:: 'awake' awake
the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:55pm on 28/07/2004
OMIGOD I LOVE "HELLBOY" LIKE NOBODY'S BUSINESS.

How could I not adore a movie which had "hey, that reminds me of the ___ in ____" for not just one but ALL of the Holy Four? Just in case you're curious: the floaty bits of Liz's fire when they were in that dungeon thing = Cherlindrea's fairies in "Willow" (also the opening scene of PotC); Ivan Backpackovich = "It's so stimulating being your head" in "Labyrinth," the grenade belt = "Eggs...are...poison!" in "Return to Oz." And finally, tagged for spoiler potential )

Which makes it sound like I think it was derivative, which is not what I mean -- it's just that it fits in exactly with other stuff I love. The second half especially had a fantastic Indiana Jones vibe. And I don't just love "Hellboy," I love HELLBOY himself. Quip away, man! Oh, it was just awesome and I'm sorry I missed out on it earlier (now I get [livejournal.com profile] linaerys's fic. Rock on). They're making a second one, right? I WANT a second one.

If my mother gushes over Ben Affleck at the convention one more time, I'm going to scream.

Also watched an episode and a half of QaF. Am I suppose to hate Brian this much? Because I really, really do. Justin and Michael are painfully adorable though. Hal Sparks is the shit.

::bounces:: I love good movies. Tina and Meg had better go with me to see "The Village" on Friday, because every commercial just gets me more excited.
Mood:: 'bouncy' bouncy
Music:: "china girl," bowie

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31