Sigh. What a couple of days.
Family Weekend, y'see. Vanessa's parents weren't coming up, so she decided to go home instead and left Friday evening. I hung around and watched "The Duel" until my parents called from the hotel around 8:30. Went to a late dinner at the Naughty Gull, where I had a far too pricey steak, and somehow managed to make it home in a crazy windstorm. Finished the Horatio and went to bed at a reasonable hour, happy to have the room to myself.
Saturday morning, the sky was overcast, and it stayed like that for the whole day. Rained on and off, was chilly and windy and basically a bad day to have a bunch of parents wandering around campus. Instead of walking around, we went into town to get some shopping done. Am now supplied with fresh milk and orange juice, soda, dried fruit, more water than any sane person needs, and some cheap workout clothes. I also treated myself to a few goodies: "X2" ($10! Awesome!), Flogging Molly's
Within a Mile of Home, and the Killers'
Hot Fuss. On our way back, we stopped along the road to watch the cardboard boat race for a little while, but the weather was too miserable to stand out there for long. Was funny to watch people flounder and sink in their homemade boats, though. This one guy sank, but swam the rest of the course dragging his boat behind him. We hung around in the hotel room for a little while, watching the "Indian Jones" marathon on Sci-fi. before heading out again for Mexican, where I was allowed a sip of Mom's margarita and enjoyed it as much as I suspected I would ("Yeah, but I'm not worried because they're expensive and difficult to make at home"). Fortified with snacks from 7-11, we hiked to the gym for the showing of "Shrek II." Mmmm Antonio-voice. Finally managed to detach myself from the parents and stayed up watching "Coupling" and "School of Rock" with some of the girls and Stephanie's little sister.
This morning was when I managed to lock myself out of the room, but luckily Mom and Dad were late, so they didn't find out. I would never, ever have lived that one down. Brunch was none too pleasant, as I was tired and irritable. It isn't that I didn't appreciate spending time with them, but I kind of couldn't get
away, and it was a rare weekend to myself that I didn't get to spend writing and watching movies Vanessa wouldn't approve of. Still cried a little when they left, so I popped in Flogging Molly and listened to "Whistles the Wind" because it sounded like it might be a ballad, which is it, and it's now one of my favorite songs. I've been meaning to listen to this band for a couple of years now, and they completely lived up to my expectations. The Killers' album is pretty good too.
And now, I'm going to enjoy what remaining privacy I have by polishing up some "As You Were" and finishing up the movies so I can send them back and get MORE MOVIES (I love Netflix. I cannot express how much I love it in words). It's going to be nothing but Hornblower and "American Dreams" for a couple weeks, because I've got discs from the two series alternating.
Skimmed the flist and did my Reccing Ball portion, but feel free to poke me if I missed anything interesting.
greenabsinthe and
hannahrorlove, in the process of making ya'll CD mixes.