the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 04:33pm on 09/12/2004
Just finished Kavalier & Clay.

That...that was brilliant.

And I'm not going to be good for anything else tonight.

I feel like I have to just sit and...soak up.

Which is a perfect thing to do while watching an incredibly slow, unengaging videotape of Die Walkure (my opologies to opera fans, but...::shudders::)
Music:: somebody making some kind of snapping sound in the common room
Mood:: 'indescribable' indescribable
There are 3 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by (anonymous) at 02:55pm on 09/12/2004
I sing opera. One a semi-pro basis (I once preformed on stage with denise graves... about six feet away from her in the chorus of Aida...) and I still hate hate hate that opera, because it never. ever. ends.

 
posted by [identity profile] subversivecynic.livejournal.com at 12:15pm on 10/12/2004
that if you must listen, a healthy dose of Anna Russell's CD certianly wouldn't hurt
 
posted by [identity profile] soho-iced.livejournal.com at 04:24am on 10/12/2004
I'm an enthusiastic opera fan myself and don't think you need to feel guilty either. One of my best friends is currently trying to convert me to Wagner but I still find whole operas rather soporific (though with wonderful moments). Apparently Meistersingers is more accessible.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31