the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:21pm on 26/04/2005 under
So...I got this bunny this morning. I don;t know how to explain it. "Gilmore Girls," one-sided Rory/Paris, right after "To Live and Let Diorama" (even though I kind of liked how this week's ep turned out). Very short. Title from Remy Zero.



Paris came back to the Gilmore house after a little girl called her a scary hobo lady and she stepped on a half-eaten Tootsie Roll pop. She entered without knocking, but quietly, which she felt was very considerate because she wanted nothing more than to snap and shriek and slam the door. Lorelai was asleep on the couch, her head back against the arm, knees and chin pointing to Rory’s open door. Paris took a detour into the kitchen to prop her feet one at a time on the sink and sluice away the stickiness and grime, then padded across the living room.

“Hey,” she said in a dull, watery tone to Rory curled up at the head of the bed.

Rory rubbed at her nose, the color of which was well-matched to her blotchy cheeks and reddened eyes. Leave it to Rory Gilmore to accessorize heartbreak, though secretly Paris was glad that Rory looked as raw and run-over as she herself felt.

She wandered over to the desk, feeling weird and not knowing where to stand or what to do with her hands. Lane would know what to do. Lane would probably hop right in next to Rory and cuddle her and call Logan fifteen versions of jackass, but Paris couldn’t do that, because –

Rory sniffled, hiding her face in her knees. Paris took a breath to steady herself, nodded once, and slid beneath the rumpled covers before she had the chance to chicken out. Rory blinked in surprise and her shoulders went a little taut.

“Your town is full of rude, unfeeling cretins,” Paris informed her, flinging her head back on the pillow.

“Nobody gave you any spare change, huh?” Rory slowly uncurled, long legs stretching out beside Paris’s own. “But we sure know how to party. Or at least Miss Patty thinks we do.”

Paris made a face at the reminder. A loose, sweat-stiff strand of hair, possibly still vomit-scented, fell over her ear and Rory reached up to brush it back. A girl thing to do, a girlfriend thing to do, the last thing Paris would’ve thought of, and it made something in her stomach clench worse than the last of the heaves.

“Did you wash your feet?” Rory wanted to know, her voice sleepy and teasing. She kicked Paris gently beneath the covers.

Paris wasn’t a natural at this whole fuzzy female commiserating thing, but she was nothing if not a quick learner. She laid her arm cautiously over Rory’s waist, emboldened when Rory didn’t demand to know what she was doing, only sighed and snuggled closer. “Maybe I did, maybe I didn’t. Maybe I turned over a dumpster and did the Charleston through old chow mein and baby diapers.”

“Ewww,” Rory said, and the lack of clever retort was how Paris knew she was more asleep than awake. She nuzzled Paris’s shoulder and added, “This sucks.”

“Astute of you,” Paris replied, flattening her hand at the small of Rory’s back and yawning. “Guys are stupid.”

“Yeah,” Rory agreed, and just like that, she was out cold.

Paris waited until she heard a snoring, wheezy, stuffed-up sound coming from the girl in her arms. Only then did she dare to press her lips to the top of Rory’s head.

“Sometimes girls are stupid too,” she muttered into the tangled brown hair.


Regarding "Veronica Mars" and all the gay Navy jokes: how do they get away with this stuff? I mean, the rim job joke was one thing, but do the censors just sleep through the dailies of VM? I LOVE it.

Mmmm, Weevil arms.
Mood:: 'awake' awake
There are 7 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] meletor-et-al.livejournal.com at 02:01am on 27/04/2005
Regarding "Regarding 'Veronica Mars'": I knew I should have watched that show! I suck.

Regarding the ficlet: So very sweet. Your characterization of Paris is incredible, and the whole piece is just... believeable. Nice and simple and calm, and full of little human observations.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:17am on 27/04/2005
I knew I should have watched that show!

You still can! Seriously, it's so awesome, you don't have to know anything about it.

And thank you :) I wasn't sure anybody would actually read this.
 
posted by [identity profile] meletor-et-al.livejournal.com at 03:25am on 27/04/2005
You still can!
Really? Awesome! .::goes off to check TV schedules for next ep::.

Of course I read it; you wrote it, and I've got no life really outside schoolwork and internetfolk. It's kinda sad, but it does mean I have time for nice little interludes like this one. ^.^
 
posted by [identity profile] tiggothy.livejournal.com at 02:29pm on 27/04/2005
Of course I read it; you wrote it, and I've got no life really outside schoolwork and internetfolk. It's kinda sad, but it does mean I have time for nice little interludes like this one.
So, if it's kinda sad for you to be doing it, what's it like for me? I don't even know the characters!

*bangs head against wall in hopes it will change things*
 
posted by [identity profile] zarahemla.livejournal.com at 01:47pm on 27/04/2005
nice! i like that paris gets the urge to comfort rory, tho she isnt a comforting sort of girl.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 09:19pm on 27/04/2005
Thanks! :)
 
posted by [identity profile] backup10.livejournal.com at 09:16pm on 01/05/2005
Since you're such a big Veronica Mars fan, you might want to visit Mars Investigations: A Beginner's Guide to Veronica Mars (http://www.marsinvestigations.net/). You can also sign up for the site's syndicated LJ account mars_investgtns (http://www.livejournal.com/users/mars_investgtns/) so that you will be notified whenever the site is updated.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31