posted by
the_dala at 11:58pm on 21/05/2005
Haven't had a chance to peruse anybody else's reviews yet, and probably won't for awhile, so
OMG OMG OMG OMG. Not OMG SO GOOD, necessarily, just...OMFG. That's...that's it. That's all he wrote.
First, let me say that I really, really enjoyed the flick. However, I think I must have seen it in a particularly irritable mood, because all the little things that irritate me -- the flaunting of CGI, the speeded-up lightsaber action, Natalie Portman, the truly awful, embarrassing, execrable dialogue -- bugged me more than they should have. I mean, I was expecting ALL of that and I should have been able to let it go, but I just couldn't. I had a long day at work. So let's get the gripes over with. That way I can get them out of my system before the next time I see it.
The dialogue. Oh, god. The quips are merely forgettable; the crap in the romantic scenes between Anakin and Padme is just as horrendous as the sand-skin stuff in the last one. It doesn't help that the actors have all the chemistry of a couple of footstools, but I don't know how anybody could make some of these lines work. Ewan McGregor gives it the best shot, with Hayden Christensen lagging somewhere behind and Natalie Portman suffering the worst mostly because of how horribly she's written.
That was really my least favorite thing: Padme Amidala Skywalker. What a fucking waste of an opportunity. I can't blame this on Portman anymore, because it's a fundamental flaw in concept, not acting. Padme isn't even the same character from one film to the next. We're supposed to believe that a girl who was elected queen of her planet at age fourteen (and we were expected to believe that that was a valid system of government to begin with, but whatever, I'm trying to work with you here, Lucas) is just going to hang around barefoot and pregnant, waiting for her secret husband to come home after killingchildren younglings? That's crap. That's complete and utter crap. We get thrown this ONE scene of her in the Senate, but she doesn't actually DO anything! Most importantly:
I refuse to believe that the mother of Luke and Leia Skywalker dies because she LOSES THE WILL TO LIVE.
I mean...CHRIST. We've waited all these years to find out what happened to the woman Darth Vader knocked up, and THAT stupid fucking cliché is the best Lucas can come up with? Palpatine couldn't have gone after her? To kill Padme himself and then tell Anakin that Anakin had done it -- it's so fucked up and perfect. She couldn't perhaps have spoken up against the regime change, DESPITE her fear for her child, and drawn his ire that way? Then at least I would have a little respect for her. IT'S SO DAMN STUPID!
This would not rankle me so deeply if Lucas had not first given us Leia, one of the greatest heroines in modern film. To follow up a character like that with a character like this one...BLEAAAAHHHHH.
I'll stop bitching now. It was just a really strong reaction. As strong as my reaction to other, better things. Kashykk (I used to be able to know how to spell that). Alderaan. Jimmy Smits' Bail Organa. Ewan McGregor's mannerisms and speech patterns, so closely modeled after the original Obi-wan. R2-D2. The way the Jedi assasinations were carried out. Anakin's evil!face. The Senate ship. Yoda saying goodbye to Chewie (I cried a little). The over-the-top brilliance of Ian McDiarmid. The realism of General Grievous. That fabulous lizard creature of Obi-wan's -- I called it the Thingy, as in, "Yay, the Thingy saves the day!" and "Oh no, poor Thingy falls to its death!" It might be enough to make up for the Gungans and the Ewoks put together.
And the end. Oh my, the end. Last...twenty, thirty minutes? I'm not sure. From the Anakin/Obi-wan battle onwards (minus the stupid, STUPID way Padme dies).
Anakin/Vader burned and mutilated, crawling in the ash, screaming "I hate you!" at Obi-wan.
Obi-wan leaving him there.
Palpatine rescuing Vader, the way he touches his head.
The babies -- THE BABIES!
Obi-wan planning to commune with Qui-gon -- not just enough to make a slash fan faint, but relevant backstory to his later spectral relationship with Luke.
Seeing the helmet from THE INSIDE, looking THROUGH THE EYES OF THE MASK.
The BREATHING and the VOICE.
The beginning of the DEATH STAR.
The very last scene -- Obi-wan handing Luke to Beru, Owen looking out over Tatooine, watching the twin suns set...
I was a wibbling mess of a fangirl. I lost it completely. In that moment, I loved George Lucas and all his cohorts for what they've given us, despite every complaint I've ever made. That was enough for me, that ending.
Conclusion...um...well. It's not a great movie, I don't think. It's better than the last two and not nearly up to the standards of the original. But I completely understand all the positive reactions, coming off that last scene.
OMG OMG OMG OMG. Not OMG SO GOOD, necessarily, just...OMFG. That's...that's it. That's all he wrote.
First, let me say that I really, really enjoyed the flick. However, I think I must have seen it in a particularly irritable mood, because all the little things that irritate me -- the flaunting of CGI, the speeded-up lightsaber action, Natalie Portman, the truly awful, embarrassing, execrable dialogue -- bugged me more than they should have. I mean, I was expecting ALL of that and I should have been able to let it go, but I just couldn't. I had a long day at work. So let's get the gripes over with. That way I can get them out of my system before the next time I see it.
The dialogue. Oh, god. The quips are merely forgettable; the crap in the romantic scenes between Anakin and Padme is just as horrendous as the sand-skin stuff in the last one. It doesn't help that the actors have all the chemistry of a couple of footstools, but I don't know how anybody could make some of these lines work. Ewan McGregor gives it the best shot, with Hayden Christensen lagging somewhere behind and Natalie Portman suffering the worst mostly because of how horribly she's written.
That was really my least favorite thing: Padme Amidala Skywalker. What a fucking waste of an opportunity. I can't blame this on Portman anymore, because it's a fundamental flaw in concept, not acting. Padme isn't even the same character from one film to the next. We're supposed to believe that a girl who was elected queen of her planet at age fourteen (and we were expected to believe that that was a valid system of government to begin with, but whatever, I'm trying to work with you here, Lucas) is just going to hang around barefoot and pregnant, waiting for her secret husband to come home after killing
I refuse to believe that the mother of Luke and Leia Skywalker dies because she LOSES THE WILL TO LIVE.
I mean...CHRIST. We've waited all these years to find out what happened to the woman Darth Vader knocked up, and THAT stupid fucking cliché is the best Lucas can come up with? Palpatine couldn't have gone after her? To kill Padme himself and then tell Anakin that Anakin had done it -- it's so fucked up and perfect. She couldn't perhaps have spoken up against the regime change, DESPITE her fear for her child, and drawn his ire that way? Then at least I would have a little respect for her. IT'S SO DAMN STUPID!
This would not rankle me so deeply if Lucas had not first given us Leia, one of the greatest heroines in modern film. To follow up a character like that with a character like this one...BLEAAAAHHHHH.
I'll stop bitching now. It was just a really strong reaction. As strong as my reaction to other, better things. Kashykk (I used to be able to know how to spell that). Alderaan. Jimmy Smits' Bail Organa. Ewan McGregor's mannerisms and speech patterns, so closely modeled after the original Obi-wan. R2-D2. The way the Jedi assasinations were carried out. Anakin's evil!face. The Senate ship. Yoda saying goodbye to Chewie (I cried a little). The over-the-top brilliance of Ian McDiarmid. The realism of General Grievous. That fabulous lizard creature of Obi-wan's -- I called it the Thingy, as in, "Yay, the Thingy saves the day!" and "Oh no, poor Thingy falls to its death!" It might be enough to make up for the Gungans and the Ewoks put together.
And the end. Oh my, the end. Last...twenty, thirty minutes? I'm not sure. From the Anakin/Obi-wan battle onwards (minus the stupid, STUPID way Padme dies).
Anakin/Vader burned and mutilated, crawling in the ash, screaming "I hate you!" at Obi-wan.
Obi-wan leaving him there.
Palpatine rescuing Vader, the way he touches his head.
The babies -- THE BABIES!
Obi-wan planning to commune with Qui-gon -- not just enough to make a slash fan faint, but relevant backstory to his later spectral relationship with Luke.
Seeing the helmet from THE INSIDE, looking THROUGH THE EYES OF THE MASK.
The BREATHING and the VOICE.
The beginning of the DEATH STAR.
The very last scene -- Obi-wan handing Luke to Beru, Owen looking out over Tatooine, watching the twin suns set...
I was a wibbling mess of a fangirl. I lost it completely. In that moment, I loved George Lucas and all his cohorts for what they've given us, despite every complaint I've ever made. That was enough for me, that ending.
Conclusion...um...well. It's not a great movie, I don't think. It's better than the last two and not nearly up to the standards of the original. But I completely understand all the positive reactions, coming off that last scene.
(no subject)
My take on it now is that she shares a link with Anakin. When he's wounded fatally, it affects her as well. Notice that she dies, when his mask comes down.
So you could say that there are two death scenes (Anakin & Padme) and two birth scenes (the babies and Vader).
Padme's death is also symbolic for the death of the Republic.
If you still hate her death, you can do what fernwithy is doing: Pretend she's not dead. :-) In Anakin's second vision we hear Obi-Wan telling her to hold on. Something we don't see during the actual birth scene. So maybe she did hold on and lived. Would also explain why her parents are still so composed when they walk behind the coffin. Inside of the coffin could just be a painted statue.
As for the dialog:
I don't mind it. It's Star Wars dialog so I have different standards. :-)
I also love the dialog between Palpatine and Anakin.
Funnily enough I thought Natalie Portman was really into her role this time around.
IMO, it's a great movie. I love analyzing things, finding parallels, finding symbolism, finding links to mythology - and Star Wars is incredibly rich when it comes to that. I could write pages and pages about all the symbols I see. Every time I watch the movies I discover something new.
I also love the character of Anakin Skywalker. He's one of the most complex characters around. I especially like it that he's not flawless.
(no subject)
I need a few more viewings to really let it grow on me, I think. At least I'll be ABLE to sit through this one multiple times :)
(no subject)
Padme was ment to suck. Why? Because shes a worthless toss away character that was too built up previously. She dies, and isn't ment to be anything but a host to the future.
I believe its Kashyyk, and if I can find my Star Wars cards I can be certain.
I love how the Death Star took 16 years to complete. It must have been a union job.
The Jedi Assassinations were lame: Why? Because the kids kicked more ass than the Jedi Masters did. Lame! But the one kid was awesome. See my post on the matter.
Realism of Grievous? What? You are insane. :P
I have one thing to say to you: "You were the CHOOOOSSEEEEEN ONE!" lmao. That was a great line. LMAO.
Palapatine, as always, was the best character ever. The others can suck it.
For the person who posted a response to you, most Star Wars is a rip off of old Japanese films. There isn't symbolism or links to anything. Its just ripping off of great works that came before it. Lucas doesn't have an origial thought in his head and never will.
Anakin is, and will be, dense as a dornnob. His character is flat and 2 dimensional on purpose. Why is that? Because hes an idiot. He doesn't realize anything until he loses his body the second time around: See Jedi, removal of hand. Its ment to be that way on purpose. I say Anakin there, because Darth Vader becomes Anakin again at that point. Any non-Darth Vader in original black Vader armor (not that stupid Jedi but in all black outfit) is ment to be toss away. You aren't supposed to care for him. He isn't Vader... yet. He transforms and becomes Vader who, btw, kicks a lot more ass than Anakin ever could. Thats why the Emperor bothers to rescue his limbless, charred ass.
Anyway, Corellians are awesome. There needs to be more Corvettes. Plus, Antilles is mentioned, and he is someone to get excited about. Woooo.
Oh, and people are giving Trivia claiming R2D2 is the only one with a speaking role in all six movies. Lame! Clearly Anakin spoke in all, Obi-Wan did (he speaks, even when dead), Vader does, and also C3PO (Even if he doesn't speak really, he still contributes as much as R2D2 in form of language).
What did this movie miss? The following lines:
During the choking of Padme scene "Your lack of faith is disturbing"
During the fight with Obi-Wan, somewhere along the lines of "You are the master and I am just the apprentice but that will change" or whatever.
And of course, during his burning scene "You have struck me down but I will become more powerful than you ever imagined"
:D
I would have laughed so hard if that happened. The movie was hillarious.