the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 11:51pm on 13/07/2005
Holy crap. Best. "Daily Show." Interview. EVER.*

That guy who wrote that asinine book on the 100 people screwing up America was on, and he was pompous and making absolutely no sense and trying to distract the audience with bad jokes. And Jon just laid the smackdown on him. Smackdown. Smackdown.I've never seen him like that before. It was brilliant. He talked and reasoned and debated circles around the guy -- if you can even call such an uneven match a debate. The kicker was really the go-to-commercial footage. It was Jimmy Carter and the number 6 -- his placement on That Guy's list. It was Jimmy Carter building houses. Daddy ranted for the whole commercial break.

I'll be watching this one again tomorrow. Possibly twice. Possibly all three reruns.


*except for Desmond Tutu
Mood:: awed
Music:: "end of my pirate days," mary chapin carpenter
There are 2 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
ext_1888: Crichton looking thoughtful and a little awed. (my fandom has been co-opted by a corpora)
posted by [identity profile] wemblee.livejournal.com at 08:35am on 14/07/2005
I admit I was actually scared. Aside from the Crossfired smackdown, I'd never seen him this way before. He was... scary! Witty and smart and ruthless. It wasn't the affable Jon that sort of cuddles up to his guests right before he sends in the little barb, that parries and then plays it off. It was... different. Is it the new set, or just that he hated the guy's book? *g*
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:35pm on 14/07/2005
A little from column A, a little from column B :) The new set puts him way up in an interview subject's face. But he also really took issue with the subject matter.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31