the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:45am on 10/11/2005
*gasp* They're giving away the old TDS couch! I WILL ENTER THIS CONTEST!

Also, Keira was on last night, being adorable and beautiful. Child is thin, though, and while it doesn't bug me the way it does a lot of other actresses (*coughMischaBartonandherhorrendouspostureomghershoulderbladesaretryingtostabyouRyancough* Also, *hackwhathappenedtoyourhipsJenniferAnistonouchsplutter* ), I do hope she eats.

It's not so much the overwhelming numbers of skinny actresses that bother me. Well, okay, it is, but what bothers me more are the ones who lose scary amounts of weight, usually as they move up in the biz -- Nicole Kidman, Lindsay Lohan, the aforementioned Ms. Aniston, Renee Zellweger (I'm not talking about the Bridget Jones weight, which in my opinion looked great on her but it was clear in the second film how uncomfortable she was; you can see the difference from "Jerry Maguire" to now), and a bunch of others I can't recall at the moment. Even Drew Barrymore looked much thinner in the "Fever Pitch" trailers.

Look, I understand that women can be very thin and still be healthy. I think Keira Knightley is gorgeous exactly as she is. It's just that slimness is literally the only option according to the media, or close enough to the only option. We've got, like, Kate Winslet and Reese Witherspoon and Catherina Zeta-Jones and Toni Collette as representatives slightly closer to the average woman's size, and that's it. For every one of them, there are twenty actresses or models who are stick-thin. Some of them are built that way, sure, but a lot of them spend thousands and thousands of dollars and deny or actively harm themselves to maintain that ideal. It's not a fair or realistic image for young girls to aspire to.

This was prompted by Keira promoting P&P, but really I was doing most of the pondering last weekend when I saw the week's People magazine. The cover story was effusive praise for actresses who make an appearence a month or two after giving birth, looking pretty much the same as they always have. I've never had a kid, so I don't really know what the recovery is like, but this seems like another example of unrealistic, possibly unhealthy goals. Again, it's not so much the fact that these women are able to get back into shape so quickly, it's the way they are worshipped for it and the implied accusation beneath it. Fuck, if Britney Spears can squeeze back into a size 4 four weeks after giving birth, why can't you? Why can't you, huh? Oh, maybe because I don't have a fortune to spend on personal training and diet regiments, but mostly because I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO.

Skinny women should be celebrated as beautiful. Fleshy women should be celebrated as beautiful. The concept of beauty should also rely less on physical appearance, but I realize that's asking too much of the media. For now, I would settle for seeing more actresses have a tummy when they lean over, and thighs that touch when they walk.
Music:: the colbert report
Mood:: 'contemplative' contemplative
There are 8 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] zarahemla.livejournal.com at 04:20pm on 10/11/2005
There are women who bounce back from pregnancy, just as there are extremely thin women. But the majority of women recovering from childbirth are fighting an uphill battle. The only way to appear on the cover of a magazine looking pretty much the same is to spend an abnormal amount of time and money (and effort) with a personal trainer. But it doesn't surprise me that Britney looks so good -- she is obviously willing to put all of her effort into her looks. I just hope she's putting that much effort into her marriage and family.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (jadedmisery - willow and tara)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:13am on 11/11/2005
Amen.
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (snoopypez - kaylee)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:15am on 11/11/2005
She looked pretty much the same last night as she has been, at least to me. God, she had a pretty red dress on...*girlcrushes* She was also able to gain a lot of muscle for KA, which makes me think she does lead a healthy life.
 
posted by [identity profile] torn-eledhwen.livejournal.com at 10:04pm on 10/11/2005
I seem to remember from a couple of interviews that Keira does eat, it just doesn't stay on. But I wholeheartedly agree with the theory that women should be celebrated for the size they are, so long as it's healthy for them. Oh, and that clothes should be made for those women too - I'm a rower, so while reasonably slim have actual muscles, and half the time sleeves/trousers are too tight because they're made for arms/legs like sticks.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (findme_icons - ducky)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:33am on 11/11/2005
Och, that sounds like it makes for irritating shopping trips. One of my best friends is 5'9" and is thin but not, like, drug-addicted model thin, and I've heard her complain about shopping. Me, I'm always irritated at the jeans that fit my waist but are too long because I'm short, and the shirts -- even extra-large! -- which were simply not made for a C-cup. Clothes should be made for all kinds of sizes that they're not...
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 11:43pm on 10/11/2005
I have always appreciated actresses who enjoy food, talk about food and look like they know what a meal is. That is probably why Kate Winslet is absolutely beautiful to me and the sad part is that, right now, she's only a size 8 and people have the nerve to call that "chubby." Hell, I have gained 25 pounds in the last year from sitting on my ass and weight 10 pounds more than Kate Bosworth and she's 7 inches taller than me. It's disgusting cause I'm still in a size 2!
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (me -- thighs)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:36am on 11/11/2005
Kate Bosworth is super, super tiny. Didn't she lose a bunch of weight -- even starting out very small -- to play Sandra Dee? I think I read that somewhere...

Kate Winslet is what I refer to as "normal," when I usually mean average. I'm trying to switch to the second because being anti-skinny is just as bad as being anti-fat, and the whole world is not responsible for my personal body image issues.

Anyway. I love Kate Winslet. And that icon of yours always makes me smile.
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 01:13am on 11/11/2005
Kate is "normal," as far as I know. I have only met her once, but she seemed average and she is so much smaller in person than she seems in photos or in movies. It's crazy.

As for the icon, I have many other Kate Winslet icons and if I weren't so cheap, I would have a paid account and you could see them! LOL

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31