the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
Because it wasn't on any of the five channels we get here...::grumbles::


YAY BROKEBACK! ::cheers and whistles:: Picture, Director, and Screenplay...that's just phenomenal. A year ago I never would've predicted the success this film would garner, and I just feel like bowing to it. And Felicity Huffman winning...this is a Big Deal all around. I'm not going to bitch about Heath Ledger being robbed, because I've been a fan of Philip Seymour Hoffman for years, and though I didn't see "Capote," I can fully believe he deserved it just as much. Likewise Rachel Weisz, to slightly less of a degree (I wish the female performances had been honored as much, if not more than, the male).

The organization of Drama versus Musical/Comedy was particularly stupid this year, but I was thrilled to see both Reese Witherspoon and Joaquin Phoenix win. "Brokeback" was the best picture I saw this year and "Walk the Line" was second best, and I take the stupidity thing back actually, now that I think about it -- it was nice to root for each one when they didn't have to compete. The Oscar race should be interesting. I think "Brokeback" will ultimately come out ahead, but sometimes the Academy's a weird fucker.

Don't care as much about the television winners, except for HUGH! And I was tickled to see every single desperate housewife lose to Mary-Louise Parker. Oh, and Sandra Oh, and Jonathan Rhys-Myers.

WTF moment: John Williams winning for Best Score. I mean, I realize the man is an institution, but was it really necessary to throw "Geisha" that bone?

From what I saw of ET's picture gallery, Scarlett Johansen, Hugh Laurie, and Johnny Depp were the most lickable (my GOD, if anybody ever deserved to be named Scarlett, it is that woman). Most of the dresses bored me, and I swear I've seen a few of them, or at least designs extremely similar, in the past couple of years.

Oh yeah, and who the fuck invited (Black Eyed Peas, not royal) Fergie?!
Music:: miss sarajevo -- u2
Mood:: 'rejuvenated' rejuvenated
There are 7 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] meletor-et-al.livejournal.com at 10:25am on 17/01/2006
I liked how the Desperate Housewives chicas (actually, all five nominees for the category) decided it was "match your dress to your hair" night.

Personally, I was pulling for Narnia in the soundtrack department.

And shouted "Yay, Hugh!" at the appropriate moment, with a head half-full of red dye, nearly stabbing myself in the eye with the applicator bottle. Clever girl. And is it so wrong that I wanted him to win mostly because I wanted to hear what his speech would be? >.>;
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (snoopypez - kaylee)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:03am on 17/01/2006
Out of the films I saw I liked the soundtrack for "Brokeback" best (and was thrilled that it won Best Song, although I think Willie Nelson's "He Was a Friend of Mine" should've been nominated instead), but I also think Harry Gregson-Williams has done some excellent work recently, with "Narnia," KoH, and "Shrek," and I hope he starts getting some recognition. And simply because I can't talk about film composers without saying this: FUCK YOU JAMES HORNER!

Awww, I'm sad to have missed Hugh's speech. Was it good? I see Stephen Fry was there...
 
posted by [identity profile] misskass.livejournal.com at 12:31pm on 17/01/2006
I was happy to see Hugh's speech, but then I burst into a tirade of "WHAT THE HELL?! HOUSE DOESN'T SOUND LIKE THAT!", even though I knew that Hugh was English. Quite amusing too, he thanked the hairstylist ^__^

All of the awards for Brokeback were cool, though I still think Narnia should have won for Best Soundtrack. I'm listening to it at the moment, and even though I haven't seen Brokeback, I'm not sure it could compete with the awesomeness that is this soundtrack.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 03:37pm on 17/01/2006
Nope. Narnia should've gotten it just so Harry G-W could get *something* for 2005. He also composed "Kingdom of Heaven" but you can bet your sweet ass nobody's going to nominate THAT thing for any mainstream awards, 'cause the critics all say they can't. *eyeroll*
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (black_hound - pistol)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:55pm on 17/01/2006
Gregson-Williams is very, very, good. I'm with Ver that the KoH score should've been nominated as well.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 03:35pm on 17/01/2006
WTF moment: John Williams winning for Best Score. I mean, I realize the man is an institution, but was it really necessary to throw "Geisha" that bone?

As I said to [livejournal.com profile] metalatt when he won, "That old whore." Sorry, can't help myself; get out of the way, John, and let some people doing new stuff who've never been heard of win, m'kay?

Am I the only one who finds it intensely humorous the lead actor and actress are, respectively, Hoffman and Huffman?
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (vilewords - elizabeth)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:56pm on 17/01/2006
Snerk. I actually hadn't noticed that before...

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31