the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:53pm on 08/03/2006
I'm about ready to shoot [livejournal.com profile] little_details in the head, what with the irrelevant intro posts, the relevant-but-still-clogging-up-flist anti-intro posts, and all these people asking others to name their characters. Seriously, WTF is up with that? It's like aksing somebody else to name your child, to a lesser degree of course, but still totally crazy.

Man, I am just not liking people as a whole tonight.

On the side of the good, I love Sainsburys. I bought three cartons of orange juice, two packs of weird-but-yummy yogurt (I avoided the rhubarb this time, having learned my lesson, although I do miss the apple), milk, and shortcake bisbuits for under five pounds. Oh, and a Cadbury caramel egg. I meant to buy some pasta and cereal for when Ness comes -- Sunday, and it's a good thing because I've been a little homesick ever since the parents left -- but...I have to find some hour of the day when there are not eighty million people in there. Tonight I didn't have to wait in line to check out, but I like to leisurely wander through grocery stores, and dodging out of busy fellow shoppers' ways is not conducive to a stroll.

Good part II (or wretched, depending upon how you look at it): I actually wrote a bit of the next part of "Brothers in Arms.' This is exciting because I've had the title but no Theo-muse for months, and also I've been chipping away at the earthquake fic; but it's bad because this spark of inspiration just had to come while I'm meant to be writing my seminar paper. And also the ritual paper due Friday, which shouldn't be too difficult since it's on Peter Berger, and he's an easy man to work with.

Tomorrow, I have to be good, because I'm going to reward myself with an afternoon showing of "Good Night, and Good Luck."
Mood:: 'bitchy' bitchy
Music:: 'wayfaring stranger,' jack white
There are 9 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (blue_leaves - lucy gasp)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:08pm on 10/03/2006
And it continues. They're not all crap now, but it's like two out of three posts. It's totally insane.
kinetikatrue: (Default)
posted by [personal profile] kinetikatrue at 11:40pm on 08/03/2006
You don't like the rhubarb? That's, like, possibly my favourite flavour that can't be had in the US. I'll eat Activia or Tesco or probably even Sainsbury's(though I never had a chance to try it whilst I was there, last). The Tesco six-packs are a whole lot of awesomeness, though, as they come as rhubarb/blackcurrant/gooseberry, which are all so trememdously GOOD. *sigh* I was even thinking about this recently, as our local supermarkets have started carrying Activia, but there is NO RHUBARB. And that is woe.

Anyway.

I've also noticed and been annoyed by the extraneous [livejournal.com profile] little_details posts, but I've mainly just been ignoring them, as I have them filtered off to a subsidiary reading list. You've got to wonder where people got the idea that they needed to make the silly things, anyway, or that the community didn't already have plenty of people reading it who also knew about most of the things people are proclaiming expertise in.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (greenabsinthe -- pinup dala)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:09pm on 10/03/2006
I try to like rhubarb -- I like it when it's in pie with strawberries. Maybe I've been ruined for rhubarb by St. Peter's food. It wouldn't surprise me. It truly is that bad.
kinetikatrue: (Default)
posted by [personal profile] kinetikatrue at 03:03am on 11/03/2006
Well, ok, but everybody likes strawberry-rhubard pie. It's like a RULE or something. If you just don't like rhubarb, otherwise, though, I can totally see not liking rhubarb yogurt. Doesn't mean I'm not envious of you being in a place where it's available, of course(not that the availability of rhubarb yogurt is the only reason I envy you being where you are, but . . .*g*).

Also, I totally get the being ruined for food by cafeteria food - boarding school did that to me in the case of meat. Just turned me off it completely. For, like, six years.
 
posted by [identity profile] trinityday.livejournal.com at 03:55am on 09/03/2006
Maybe I'm being elitist, or something, but the people who have just now joined [livejournal.com profile] little_details annoy me. Not just the introductory posts. Not just the "name my character!" posts. Not just the not-a-little-detail posts. Even their valid questions are different than the usual quality over at that comm. Vaguer. Less researched.

Or maybe I'm just PMSing.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (me - little prince)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:10pm on 10/03/2006
No, I agree. And even now it's settled down into normal questions, but there are still a bunch where they give you the entire background of their story/characters, apparently oblivious to the fact that NO ONE CARES.
 
posted by [identity profile] trinityday.livejournal.com at 10:57pm on 11/03/2006
At least it's off the spotlight now.
 
posted by [identity profile] soho-iced.livejournal.com at 10:44am on 09/03/2006
Somebody does a rhubarb yoghurt in their "extra nice" range, possibly Sainsbury's, that has lots of cream in it and is JUST AMAZING for me: rhubarb is not a obvious luxury item so it stops the mixture from being cloying. M&S do good yoghurts, eg the ones that have fruit at the bottom.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (stormwindicon - office space)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:11pm on 10/03/2006
I just can't get into rhubarb. And I'm too cheap to shop at M&S :) But most Sainsbury's brand stuff is decent, with the notable exception of vodka ::shudders::

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31