posted by
the_dala at 03:43pm on 17/07/2006
A single note on DMC. I'm hoping to get at least most of the rest of my thoughts done while I'm home, but this one is just bottled up inside. Why do I like the stupid cannibal sequence? Aside from the opportunity for humour, which the second and third times around I really appreciated as a buffer against all the coming darkness and angst? Because it reminds me, very strongly, of Disney's Jungle Cruise ride. I might not have made the connection had I not been cruising said river ride the very next day, but I was, and the whole time I was going 'FOMG we're in the movie AGAIN!' (I can't remember if I mentioned it to the rest of the SitS group or not...).
And you know what, I really like the Jungle Cruise. I remember watching the old black-and-white programs about constructing the parks on the Disney Channel when I was a kid and burning with the desire to see the river hippos and the pirates and Tom Sawyer's Island and the flying Dumbos. Yes, it is outdated, silly, and ethnocentric, but I can't help getting a kick out of it all the same. Maybe the sequence with the cannibals wasn't terribly integral to the plot, but I don't find it any more baffling than a whole movie based on a theme park ride and an undead monkey.
Also, I love the two cannibal women who watch fruit-kebab!Jack flounder, mutter unintelligible but obviously snarky things to one another, and run off to find better things to do. It's nice to see somebody unimpressed by Jack's shenanigans.
In other news, it is 93 degrees and feels like 98 and I am not stepping foot outside the door, ever.
And you know what, I really like the Jungle Cruise. I remember watching the old black-and-white programs about constructing the parks on the Disney Channel when I was a kid and burning with the desire to see the river hippos and the pirates and Tom Sawyer's Island and the flying Dumbos. Yes, it is outdated, silly, and ethnocentric, but I can't help getting a kick out of it all the same. Maybe the sequence with the cannibals wasn't terribly integral to the plot, but I don't find it any more baffling than a whole movie based on a theme park ride and an undead monkey.
Also, I love the two cannibal women who watch fruit-kebab!Jack flounder, mutter unintelligible but obviously snarky things to one another, and run off to find better things to do. It's nice to see somebody unimpressed by Jack's shenanigans.
In other news, it is 93 degrees and feels like 98 and I am not stepping foot outside the door, ever.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
at least, I think I got that pretty much right; I'd look an ass liek whoah if I didn't.
having never been on the Jungle Cruise ride (ya rly, I fail at childhood), I can't share that enthusiasm for the Cannibal Island bit, but I am totally a fan of that sequence for other reasons which you've definitely inspired me to record and share, now. the "buffer against all the coming darkness and angst" factors pretty highly in there, of course.
(no subject)
(no subject)
And yeah -- it's totally canon with the Jungle Cruise (one of our favorite rides -- it's really fun seeing what new stuff the guides come up with to liven up the set spiel). I can see that headhunter now!
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
*smirks*
(no subject)
(no subject)
LEWD pirate!