the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:58pm on 31/07/2006
Mel Gibson, not only crazy but a confirmed anti-Semite

Well, now I'm really never going to support him with my money ever again.

Of the good, I rented "American Dreams" again and I swear, it's like coming home ::adds Meg/Sam icon back::
Mood:: 'grumpy' grumpy
Music:: the sweet sweet voice of otis redding
There are 9 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 02:14am on 01/08/2006
Actually, Israelis have only been causing wars for about 50-something years, now. (And it IS Israelis, not all Jews. There is a difference. Sort of how Saudis continue to finance terrorist activities, as opposed to all Muslims.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 02:45am on 01/08/2006
And, I just figured out what word was missing in both cases. Some! Can't generalize that badly.



Just a tidge of the smartass (was sort of afraid you'd not be able to tell) ...
 
posted by [identity profile] jenlan.livejournal.com at 05:52am on 02/08/2006
I'm very disappointed in how he acted, not to mention throwing a bad light on Hollywood in general: what, getting drunk and then clocking almost twice the posted speed limit is supposed to be fixable with an "I'm sorry, I'm going to do rehab now"?! Total, absolute BS!

Personally, I think people need to remember that this kind of hatred of one group over another is a taught hatred...you don't spring out of mum's womb fully hating one person or another...

It reminds me of an ad I saw once that was something like: "You screaming at people on the road" *picture of a frowning little girl* "She's just learned something....we are teaching our children something at every moment." Kinda sums up how I feel about Mel's actions and attitude...translation: acting like a total ass! and the nation is watching you, moron!
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (amortentia_gal - elizabeth reading)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:57am on 03/08/2006
*nodnod*
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 01:17am on 03/08/2006
I've been following this. I have an observation from a reporter's POV (because I am one):

Where is the tape from the cop car (which is supposed to film any stop/arrest) to confirm Gibson's comments and the exchange with the police officer(s)? I'm forced to give someone the benefit of the doubt until they're proven an asshole, by dint of my profession.

Don't crucify Mel just yet. I want to see what proof the police have on this (I don't trust many cops either, by dint of having personally known too many of them in the past 12 years of reporting. Sort of like politicians and preachers).
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_guarded_icons - rogue)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:57am on 03/08/2006
Considering they've released the report with the comments, and Mel hasn't denied them but apologized to the Jewish community, I'd say it's safe to say they're telling the truth.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 02:26pm on 03/08/2006
I take both of those with a heavy dosage of salt. What Mel's PR people may have done (again, this is from working with PR people over the years) is said to him: "Your appearance is not in a good position. You pissed off a bunch of people with your movie, your dad pissed off a bunch of people with his dumbass beliefs, AND you're getting ready to do another production project on the Holocaust, and we don't know WHAT the repercussions of THAT will be. The best thing for you to do is apologize for anything you said on the front end, and we'll let your lawyer figure out the rest later."

As for the written report? I have the double whammy of being a reporter and assistant to a criminal defense lawyer. With a stop and arrest THAT high-profile, there's no plausible explanation for not having had the cop-car camera and mike turned on. Our judges here will blast officers if they pull over Joe Schmoe and forget to turn on the camera. This is not a case of one average citizen trying to prove that another called him slanderous names on the street; I don't have any great love for Mel and I'll be the first to throw rocks if he's guilty (I avoided "The Passion" like the plague), but I'm hesitant to ruin a man's career and life over something he may not have said or done, when it should be very easy to prove that yeah, he DID say those things.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 02:30pm on 03/08/2006
I forgot to add as a point of interest, it's not difficult to get hold of a car tape OR a 911 tape, as in most places they are public record with an arrest. We do it all the time with no special authorization or signed release - it's just a matter of submitting the request and paying a fee.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 07:01pm on 04/08/2006
http://news.yahoo.com/fc/Entertainment/Mel_Gibson/

Interested to see what happens next ...

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31