the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:18pm on 23/08/2006
Hmmph. I finally rented "Casanova," and I have to say I was extremely disappointed. I wasn't expecting a masterpiece, but having been in love with Heath Ledger since 1997 and liking Lasse Hallstrom ("Chocolat" and "What's Eating Gilbert Grape"!), I figured it would be good enough. Mostly it just made me want to watch other, better movies it borrowed/stole from: "Ever After," "Shakespeare in Love," "The Princess Pride," "A Knight's Tale," even PotC.

Lena Olin and Oliver Platt hamming it up were the best part of the whole thing. And adorable Charlie Cox, who played Francesca's brother and will be playing Tristian in "Stardust." Gahhh. I'm not even that attracted to him, I just want to cuddle him. It was fun seeing Herbie Bush as Casanova's servant. I was embarrassed for Jeremy Irons all the way through. Sienna Miller -- like several other It Girls, namely Naomi Watts, she doesn't do anything for me. She's pretty, but not in any interesting way, and her acting was only fair to middling (to be fair, the character didn't have much depth). And my baby Heath -- sigh. He's very charming, but either he just isn't charming enough for Casanova (I kept comparing him to Johnny Depp as Don Juan, I couldn't help it) or the movie didn't give us enough charm.

So, yeah, surprisingly underwhelming. I'm fairly certain no film will ever disappoint me as greatly as X3, but it's about the level of disappointment of "Tristan and Isolde." I need to see that again just to tell if Sophia Myles is actually a decent actress or if she was just so beautiful I didn't care. Also, Rufus Sewell. Speaking of whom -- y'all. I came across this while looking up Ciaran Hinds. LOOK at this. I don't know anything about William Wilberforce, but it sounds like it's going to be great. Hopefully it'll be Ioan's big break. In the non-fandom real world, "King Arthur" was all about the Clive and "Fantastic Four" sucked hardcore, but he's starring in this one and it's a solid dramatic role. Bring it, Michael Apted.

One more piece of IMDB trivia -- apparently this Bob Dylan movie is being made, and Heath is playing Dylan -- or one of the Dylans? I vaguely remember reading something about this. Of course nobody's going to make a straight-up biopic about Dylan. I need to learn more about it before I form a pre-opinion.

Awww. "Chasing Liberty" is on, and one of my favorite silly chick flicks. I have this weird thing for Mandy Moore, and Mandy Moore running around beautiful Europe with a beautiful Brit and Jeremy Piven is my idea of a good time. It's not that bad, honestly. Better than "Casanova," anyway...

And now I want a Mandy Moore icon.
Mood:: 'awake' awake
Music:: celebrity fit club on a commercial
There are 3 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] hannahrorlove.livejournal.com at 01:20am on 24/08/2006
I've heard good things about the David Tennant Cassanova. That one's probably worth your time.
 
posted by [identity profile] tiggothy.livejournal.com at 06:26am on 24/08/2006
Oh yes, that one was fantasmic *grin* (and rather slashy in parts, I seem to recall)

*goes off into happy day dreams about Casanova*
ext_15621: The Pixel in a paper bag (ten in specs)
posted by [identity profile] rosiespark.livejournal.com at 08:39am on 24/08/2006
Oh yes - I'll add another recommendation for DT as Casanova. Such fun!

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31