the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 11:34pm on 25/09/2006
I'm sorry, I'm sorry -- did Pat Buchanan just make a crude joke about the European slaughter of Native Americans in the context of the U.S.'s immigration problems?

No, seriously, did anybody else see it? I didn't hear what was said before and I'm having trouble actually believing I heard what I think I heard. Jon did say "What?" in a way that makes me think I really maybe did.

I mean, yes, it's Pat Buchanan, but what the fuck.

Also, the Moment of Zen was inspired -- a shot of Clinton being asked basically why he let 9/11 happen juxtaposed with an interview in which Condaleeza Rice is asked about her dating habits. I can almost guarantee they were both from Fox News.

::scurries off to TWoP to see if anybody, anybody in the WORLD, just heard the same mind-boggling comment::

([livejournal.com profile] yoiebear, I got the updated "Rain" and will look at it hopefully tomorrow, I promise!)
Mood:: 'annoyed' annoyed
There are 6 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 03:40am on 26/09/2006
What was the specific comment?
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:56am on 26/09/2006
"The Indians had a liberal immigration policy, and look where it got them."

(the general consensus at the TDS comment thread on the site is that he was indeed referring to Native American Indians -- I thought it possible there was some historic reference to India that I was missing, but unlikely...)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 03:58am on 26/09/2006
I don't see it as a crude joke so much as an inaccurate reference (for the record, I have a lot of Native American in me, and it doesn't offend me). For it to work, the Native Americans would've had to have set up an organized, unified system of government across the country, and ... yeah, it just falls flat in several ways. (Why say something offensive when you're not even going to make the correct point?)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:00am on 26/09/2006
It was definitely delivered as a joke, right at the end of the interview, and your point just makes it even more awful to me. The only thing remotely funny was how he truly caught Jon Stewart off-guard. The "What?" was epic (though he recovered nicely and went to commercial).
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 04:06am on 26/09/2006
Not the smartest way to end an interview, especially if you're in politics. (And here I had some hopes for a while that Pat was actually starting to make sense, on some of his backlash against Bush. Guess a cat can't change its spots.)
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 10:38am on 26/09/2006
Things like what you posted about are why I can't wait to be fired! I was at a meeting until 10 and my office is 30 minutes away from home... How did I miss that?!

Actually, let me send you another update of "Rain." LOL I'll get it to you ASAP!

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31