the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:31pm on 26/09/2006
So anybody else severely disappointed in the "Gilmore Girls" premiere? Every single second was predictable. Ness and I called something out in each scene, and lo, that thing happened. Behold:

Dala: The flashes are going to blind Kirk and he's going to crash Taylor's T-bird.
Ness: Right into the diner.
Kirk: ::gets blinded by lights and crashes Taylor's car into Luke's (This was still awesome to watch, btw).

Dala: Luke's going to blow up and freak out and run back to Lorelai.
Luke: ::blows up, freaks out and runs back to Lorelai.

Ness: That rocket doesn't really mean what she thinks it means.
Logan: ::does not ask his girlfriend to fly to London and celebrate their true love::

Lorelai: ::tells the story of how this shirt reminds her of Luke::
Ness: She's going to throw out everything in the house, isn't she?
Gilmore living room, next scene: ::is empty::

Luke: blahblahreadynowMarylandboatcakes
Dala: I know exactly what Lorelai's going to say.
Ness: That she slept with Christopher?
Lorelai: I slept with Christopher.
Dala:...we're been watching this show way too long.

Also, I don't know if it's the show's actual decline or I'm outgrowing it or whatever, but both Rory and Lorelai seemed so self-absorbed tonight. They generally are, but it's never bugged me like this before. And I felt the lack of Richard and Emily keenly (maybe they were in the beginning? I missed the first thirteen minutes). Also, I've still never warmed up to Logan, and Luke is/the writers are going to have to come a long, long way to make up for how he treated Lorelai/was written all last season. There were funny bits, like the racquetball, and Scott Patterson did a good job with his speech, but it wasn't enough for me.

I'm really bummed out over how much I don't care. Not even the fabulous Lauren Graham could make me care. I'm not going to stop watching it, because I've loved it too much for that and I will at least see it through to the end, but..it's sad.
Mood:: 'disappointed' disappointed
Music:: tegan and sara
There are 4 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 01:50am on 27/09/2006
I've never understood the Logan appeal. Isn't he supposed to be anathema to what Rory wants? Or is that the appeal - he's the "bad boy" even though he's rich and has his life planned out for him?

And really, Lorelai should've known better about Christopher (he's never settled with me the right way either. Come to think of it, while I like Luke, he never struck me as the lovable, sexy type. Why aren't any of the men on this show someone I'd want to shag?).
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (amortentia_gal - elizabeth reading)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 02:10am on 28/09/2006
Yeah, Logan basically = Christopher, which creeps me out.

I used to love Luke. He's not -- shaggable, I'd say, but he was so lovable. Then the Palladinos fucked the character over for dramatic tension, and now I'm not sure he'll ever be the same Luke to me.
 
posted by [identity profile] araestel.livejournal.com at 03:48am on 27/09/2006
I feel the same way. Most of last year was a disaster (IMO) and it doesn't look to be a big improvement this year. *sigh*
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (louloucn - crap)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 02:11am on 28/09/2006
Yeah, last year was pretty bad, and while I think the writing in this episode was up to snuff, the plot has just deteriorated too far.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31