the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 12:13pm on 12/10/2006
Today looks to be much more pleasant than it has any right to be. I failed to study for my Methods midterm this morning, but it was pretty much a. common sense or b. stuff we've done a million times in the past. Deductive reasoning. Random sampling. Symbolic interactionism. Yawn. The only bad moment was a question about the video I missed, which was worth eight points and not the sort of thing you could bullshit. I tried to bullshit it anyway, and we'll see how that turns out. At least the professor likes me now. I, er, rather played up being sick and she apologized for being harsh on me about missing the proposal assignment. I do feel bad about that, because it was really just me not wanting to do it, but on the other hand I was treated as a student who does stuff like this all the time, and I am not.

The lab midterm is in an hour, and I'm really not worried about that one because it's basically a rehash of this summer's test, and I have both notes and test at hand. There were some extra details -- we had a whole extra lecture on "Other Artifacts," which included weapons and armour (yes, I squeed), and there was a lecture on Native American artifacts I missed, but Silas and Henry aren't interested in anything but 17th colonial through the Revolution, so I don't think I have to worry about that. It's kind of funny watching everybody else freak out.

Then they're showing "An Inconvenient Truth" at the cinema, so I'll catch that before Theory. I don't know what we're supposed to read for Theory. I never know what we're supposed to read for Theory. When we show up having not done the reading, Ingersoll just chides us gently and tells us to do it for next time. It's quite a joke of a class. I think I'm doing my paper on voodoo/santeria/etc., but I haven't decided on a theoretical perspective yet.

Oh! Apparently I am going to see Barbra Streisand with my mother tomorrow night. She bought the tickets yesterday. I'm always going to concerts with Dad, so this is only fair. Besides, my mother is afraid of heights and we're sititng in the nosebleed seats, so that will be entertaining. She'll need to have a couple of beers before we even climb up there.

And then they're coming to visit Saturday, and bringing Ralphie, which means that not only will I not get to go to the Dive-In movie because the dog can't be left alone, I might not be able to see DMC at ALL because I'll be at the concert tomorrow night. Depends on when they leave Sunday, I suppose. We'll see. I'll just have to play kraken some other time.

Naptime for Dala, now.
Music:: 'the ascent of stan,' ben folds
Mood:: 'sleepy' sleepy
There are no comments on this entry. (Reply.)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31