the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:53am on 26/10/2006
So I received a Midterm Deficiency Report for Research Methods because I got a 62% on the midterm (this is a large part of what has been bumming me out lately). It says I'm supposed to go in and talk to the professor about "strategies," so I guess I'm going to do that this morning before class, but seriously -- what am I supposed to say? "I'm sorry, I'll do better, please don't fail me"? "Look at my academic record, I haven't even gotten a C since precalculus in high school"? "No, I didn't really study for the test, I never really study for tests and it hasn't failed me until now"? "Do you think I should drop and take it with Roberts next semester? He's an anthropologist, after all"? "I despise your class, it has nothing to do with my interests, and I deeply resent having to take it to graduate?"

Ugh. Fuck you, Soan major. According to the rumor mill, next year they'll be splitting Sociology and Anthro into two departments, and making Archaeology its own minor. Which means I could've been either an Anthro or History major with Archaeology as my minor. Hell, I could've remained an English major and still done the archaeology minor. Then I'd be hard at work on my Margaret Brent screenplay SMP and I WOULDN'T BE HAVING THIS PROBLEM AT ALL.

::steams:: See, this is the thing -- I would like to be all meek and contrite so I can emotionally manipulate my professor, but I'm afraid the bitterness and anger will come shining through.
Mood:: 'pissed off' pissed off
There are 8 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] kahva.livejournal.com at 04:25pm on 26/10/2006
::steams:: See, this is the thing -- I would like to be all meek and contrite so I can emotionally manipulate my professor, but I'm afraid the bitterness and anger will come shining through.

I'm currently recommending large doses of www.cuteoverload.com to destress - it's hard to stay stressed when looking at that much cute and silliness. For anger and frustration release, primal scream therapy. I went out the back door of the station last night and let one rip. I came back inside feeling two hundred pounds lighter, and didn't really make my throat sore by screaming either.

{Offers hot chocolate} Hang in there!! You can do this! :)


ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 07:54pm on 27/10/2006
Thanks :)
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (roniabirk - not sorry)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 07:56pm on 27/10/2006
When I went in to talk to her, she was surprised that I had such a low midterm grade, and assured me that I would be able to bring it up with the other assignments we have left. (I kind of thought she'd been responsible for sending the deficiency report, but this was not the case.) I really would have dropped, if it weren't so late in the semester. But I think I will stick out now. It's only another month and a half, right? ::whimpers::

Thank you for the advice, Lin ::cuddles::
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (ot4 - me)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:00pm on 27/10/2006
After talking to the prof, I'm pretty sure I can pull off a B -- the other two assignments are all writing-based, and we don't have a final. Even if I get stuck with a C, I think I will do well enough in my other courses that the magic GPA projector-thingy tells me it won't drag me down too much.

Yay! The address is the same. I was looking at a list of programs earlier (I think it was on the U of FL website), but all the links were dead. Still, I might have to be talked out of trying at anywhere in Europe, where I CANNOT AFFORD TO LIVE.
 
posted by [identity profile] meletor-et-al.livejournal.com at 08:28pm on 26/10/2006
your last sentence.

it's somewhat heartening to know I'm not the only one.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:00pm on 27/10/2006
::commiserates::
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 02:00am on 27/10/2006
I was one of those kids who did great in high school and great through most of college, but I ran into a professor my sophomore year who would NOT cut me a break on anything I wrote for her - it was American history and God love Ruth, she'd lived most of it (she was approximately 960 years old).

So, after my third or fourth C, I went into her office, sat down, told her I was not accustomed to such low grades, and just ASKED what I could do to better satisfy her requirements. She told me, I started doing it, and I began receiving high Bs. I'm not bragging; I'm just saying, sometimes it really does work.

Since then, I've mostly had good editors in my writing jobs who've liked what I give them with little complaint. Only once have I run into one I could no longer work with, because she never gave me good *solid* feedback for improving my articles to the point where they seemed to satisfy her. I was sorry to lose the job, but at least with a writing job you CAN lose it, whereas with school, you're sort of stuck being screwed if you can't find a way to get on board with what the professor wants.

*is glad she no longer has to do that*
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (dizzy_kitty - elizabeth in the rain)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:00pm on 27/10/2006
Yeah, it sucks.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31