the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:28pm on 29/10/2006
::yawns:: This was a hell of a slow day. Which is not surprising, since last night was Hallowgreens. It wasn't my favorite Hallowgreens -- that would be last year, when I got fabulously drunk, Jeanne broke a window, and I slept in Michelle's bed (Michelle was not in it at the time). However, though I fidgeted all day about not having anybody to go with, I did spend it with Jeanne and Gwen, who came down for the night and brought her rather odd cousin Brandon, as well as Jeanne's boyfriend Mike, whom I've always liked, and her friends Lauren and Andy, whom I enjoyed very much. My Indy costume turned out quite well; Dad's brown leather coat, the bullwhip, and the felt hat I borrowed from John Henry brought it all together. It wasn't the sexiest costume ever, if you go by the college translation of sexy=slutty, but it was authentic and comfortable (it was cold this weekend. Jeanne rented a blue Marge Simpson wig and made herself a green fleece tube dress, looking great if chilly; Mike was a Man Who Forgot His Pants; Brandon was a dead punk clown or something that allowed him to wear a curly rainbow wig, clown makeup, and plaid pants; Lauren was a Beat poet (she kept gesturing with and then dropping her tiny glasses); Andy was a Russian pirate (his costume was basically a fur hat and an eyepatch, but he gets points for being funny and charming); and Gwen outdid as all by going as a femme version of Alex from "A Clockwork Orange." She had everything but the codpiece, and she looked fantastic. Gwen and Jeanne were snapping pictures all night long, so when they pop up on Facebook, I'll share.

I think my principle problem was not drinking enough. I had a couple of beers at Jeanne's before we went to the Door, where we were informed they were only taking cash and I...had none. Once Mike finally showed up, we returned to campus, did some last-minute costume revision, and finally got to the Greens, where the swing was so full you could hear the noise all the way from WC. I ran into Larry and the rest of the cast of "Clue" straightaway -- they all looked great too, and Larry (Professor Plum) --had even found the bubble-blowing pipe he was so keen on. Our gang got split up early on, I'm still not quite sure how; I ended up with Gwen, who was on the lookout for more alcohol and also chatting up her old SMCM friends, and Brandon, who was keeping an eye on Gwen because all those old SMCM friends were male and she was drunk and old habits die hard. I think he hit on me once or twice, but he was kind of weird, so I was steering away from there. Eventually they holed up in one of the townhouses and I got bored, so I wandered the greens by myself, admiring the costumes. My absolute favorites, possibly my favorite Halloween costume idea of all time, were the two smallish brunettes dressed as the creepy twin girls from "The Shining." I asked them about the brilliant, brilliant costumes, which were short blue nightgowns that they had sewn white ribbons and such on, so that they looked exactly like the film costumes. Their creepy make-up was also dead on, no pun intended. Other than that, there was a Jesus carrying around a big cross (only slightly more tasteful than Vera as Jesus with a hard-on last year), a couple of Quail Man...s...Quail Men, a short bus which I mistakenly thought was the Magic School Bus, a guy wearing giant cardboard scissors (of Rock, Paper fame), a strangely large number of bloody, blue-painted Scottish warriors, not nearly as many pirates as I would have guessed -- and only one Borat that I saw, for that matter. I did see a couple o fother Indiana Joneses in passing. And there were many Steve Irwins, including a couple equipped for diving, and one bold soul with a bloody hole in the breast pocket of his khaki shirt. When he entered the house where we were, one girl shrieked at him, "It's too soon!" Much like Jesus-with-a-boner, my horror and amusement share a continuous dialectical relationship.

We came back right before it started to wind down and played card games for awhile, before everybody ran out of steam and I wandered back to go to bed. Today I've done pretty much nothing, other than thoroughly enjoying an omelette at brunch, and buying "V for Vendetta" and "Walk the Line" at Blockbuster. It was only after I left that I realized they'd marked the latter down to $7.00, so my 2 for $20 deal saved me one dollar as opposed to six, which made me feel cheated.

Oh god. Vanessa went on the annual church retreat, which is ALWAYS on Hallowgreens weekend, because it's not like any other Christian holidays have pagan origins or anything ::rolls eyes:: And now they're all sitting around talking about it ::rolls eyes harder:: Oh, but Laura just brought a huge bag of candy back from a church "fall festival," so even though that makes me want to roll my eyes up out of my head, I will refrain for a red Toosie Roll Pop.

I suppose I ought to finish my Film paper now. Bates mentioned a review he remembered reading in The New Yorker; the library had better have it somewhere. Oh crap, and I have to write a journal entry on "Do the Right Thing," too. Guess I'm not going to the lab tomorrow morning after all. Oh well, Tuesday is advising day in addition to Halloween, so I'll get some hours in then.
Mood:: 'bitchy' bitchy
Music:: "crumb by crumb," rufus wainwright
There is 1 comment on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 02:52am on 30/10/2006
I suppose the churches could do worse - we have one here that sponsors a "Tribulation Trial" the nights around Halloween. I wrote about it last year if you didn't see it: http://veronica-rich.livejournal.com/41746.html

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31