posted by
the_dala at 06:11pm on 06/12/2006
I have no willpower. NONE.
So I got pulled over on my way to work, for doing -- what else? -- 58 in a 40 mph zone. I am a menace to society. I tried my "is this the registration? ::hands officer an oil change receipt:: trick, but it didn't work. He did, however, knock my speed down to 49, significantly lowering my fine to $70. Gahhh. That's still $70 I would not have to part with if I had been PAYING ATTENTION. Question, since I've never actually got a ticket before: is there a grace period before you have to pay it? Like, if I waited two weeks for my next paycheck, d'you think that would be okay?
Scared straight, I vowed that I would not buy DMC after all, and spent the rest of my afternoon feeling somewhat righteous.
After work, I needed to stop in Lex Park for some tampax, and this is my problem: the grocery stores are all in squares connected with places that sell DVDs. I avoided the Best Buy square, but then I got stuck staring at Food Lion with Blockbuster to my left and K-Mart to my right. And I caved, okay? I marched into the Big K (unclean! unclean! ::does Gibbs' black spot dance::), up to the DVD case and pointed at the Special Edition DVD. Which was at least on sale for $22.99 (if you tell me you got it cheaper somewhere else, I will STAB you). Not that that makes it okay.
Like I said. Willpower-less.
But not Will Turner-less...
And I will NOT watch it now because my final research proposal is due tomorrow and I have OTHER pirate movies to watch for Film...maybe just ONE special feature...
So I got pulled over on my way to work, for doing -- what else? -- 58 in a 40 mph zone. I am a menace to society. I tried my "is this the registration? ::hands officer an oil change receipt:: trick, but it didn't work. He did, however, knock my speed down to 49, significantly lowering my fine to $70. Gahhh. That's still $70 I would not have to part with if I had been PAYING ATTENTION. Question, since I've never actually got a ticket before: is there a grace period before you have to pay it? Like, if I waited two weeks for my next paycheck, d'you think that would be okay?
Scared straight, I vowed that I would not buy DMC after all, and spent the rest of my afternoon feeling somewhat righteous.
After work, I needed to stop in Lex Park for some tampax, and this is my problem: the grocery stores are all in squares connected with places that sell DVDs. I avoided the Best Buy square, but then I got stuck staring at Food Lion with Blockbuster to my left and K-Mart to my right. And I caved, okay? I marched into the Big K (unclean! unclean! ::does Gibbs' black spot dance::), up to the DVD case and pointed at the Special Edition DVD. Which was at least on sale for $22.99 (if you tell me you got it cheaper somewhere else, I will STAB you). Not that that makes it okay.
Like I said. Willpower-less.
But not Will Turner-less...
And I will NOT watch it now because my final research proposal is due tomorrow and I have OTHER pirate movies to watch for Film...maybe just ONE special feature...
(no subject)
In California if you get a ticket they usually send you a form telling you how much, when due, and a envelope to pay (unless it's for something horrendous), but I couldn't say for any other state.
(no subject)
::pets DVD case:: It's so pretty!
(no subject)
(no subject)
And 22ish is the cheapest I've heard for the DMC DVD. I paid 26ish for mine at Best Buy. I had to have the extra 15 minutes on that third disk. *is such a geek*
(no subject)
(no subject)
It's in a little cardboard sleeve with the DMC skull and crossed torches on the cover. It claims to offer "Insightful Behind-the-Scenes Features," a photo gallery and "An International Look at Pirates of the Caribbean."
I only took a very quick look at it yesterday, enough to see that the "International Look" was their term for a collection of DMC commercials from several different countries. :-p (Something they - sorta - did as part of the CotBP extras too.)
(no subject)
(no subject)
The other headings are "Inside Dead Man's Chest" - three little spots that I'm sure I've downloaded off the internet already (so I'll bet you've seen them). "Pirates on Location" - two little spots I hadn't seen before: "Cannibal Island" with a bit of the special effects behind Jack's fall and lots of (sometimes gross) cannibal stuff; and "Tortuga Bar Brawl" with a bit of Jack D. and Keira and Johnny and Gore and lots of background drunks.
The "Stills" are all pics I've seen (of the big three, anyway), and some have been stretched to fit the TV screen, making them look bad.
So - for me - it's a mixed bag. I'm betting anything you'd want to see will be available for download soon, if it isn't already.
(no subject)
I have 2 papers due tomorrow and Im reading fanfic instead
(no subject)
I would call the court (if it's a city cop, it's municipal court, through city hall, probably; if it's county or Highway Patrol, contact General Sessions Court for your county). Did the cop write a court date on the summons? Generally, if you pay before then, you don't have to appear in court, but make sure to ask. (Make sure you ask method of payment, too - a lot of courts won't take a personal check.)