posted by
the_dala at 10:19am on 08/12/2006
I was sitting here contemplating a Why I Love "Heroes" (And You Could, Too!) post, and I got to a bit about how if some brothercest is your thing, Nathan and Peter touch each other an awful lot (though if it's not, hey, you can just remember that the actors aren't related and enjoy two men showing each other physical affection; it's not like they make out or anything). And it's perfectly in-character for Peter to do this; with his mother, Simone, Claire (shippy or not, he DOES scoot closer to her in their scene together in "Fallout"), etc., and it also makes sense in the context of his job as a hospice nurse AND his empathic abilities. In short, for Peter to openly affectionate makes sense -- but it doesn't make as much sense for Nathan the political shark.
Now, I can totally buy that his brother might be the exception to the rule. But then I remembered the first scene in "Fallout," where he immediately walks into the cell, hugs Peter, and continues to initiate close contact. And then I remembered how that's actually Peter's dream, and the real version of Nathan picking him up is at the end of the ep. So I re-watched that part (for the sixth time), and Nathan doesn't touch Peter once. He throws a bag at him (his coat and stuff, I guess), doesn't react when Peter kind of touches his arm while telling the story, and walks away from him wihle he's weaving all over the steps. He isn't even close enough to catch Peter when he collapses (although he is, of course, holding him when he comes to, with his fingers at Peter's neck to check his pulse -- that's a nice touch).
The juxtaposition of Peter's dream-Nathan (very affectionate) with real-Nathan (hands-off) in the same situation talks about Peter's character, and maybe hints at the brothers' past. Is Peter dreaming Nathan the way he's been for most of their lives; has Nathan only recently become closed off? This seems supported by the hospital scene in "Six Months Ago," in which Nathan, being very distraught, is also very affectionate. When I rewatch the first twelve episodes on NBC's website (YOU CAN TOO!), I'm going to pay particular attention to which brother intiates physical contact.
Yeah, I've been thinking about nothing but "Heroes" for three days straight (except for a break last night to watch DMC extras); so what?
Now, I can totally buy that his brother might be the exception to the rule. But then I remembered the first scene in "Fallout," where he immediately walks into the cell, hugs Peter, and continues to initiate close contact. And then I remembered how that's actually Peter's dream, and the real version of Nathan picking him up is at the end of the ep. So I re-watched that part (for the sixth time), and Nathan doesn't touch Peter once. He throws a bag at him (his coat and stuff, I guess), doesn't react when Peter kind of touches his arm while telling the story, and walks away from him wihle he's weaving all over the steps. He isn't even close enough to catch Peter when he collapses (although he is, of course, holding him when he comes to, with his fingers at Peter's neck to check his pulse -- that's a nice touch).
The juxtaposition of Peter's dream-Nathan (very affectionate) with real-Nathan (hands-off) in the same situation talks about Peter's character, and maybe hints at the brothers' past. Is Peter dreaming Nathan the way he's been for most of their lives; has Nathan only recently become closed off? This seems supported by the hospital scene in "Six Months Ago," in which Nathan, being very distraught, is also very affectionate. When I rewatch the first twelve episodes on NBC's website (YOU CAN TOO!), I'm going to pay particular attention to which brother intiates physical contact.
Yeah, I've been thinking about nothing but "Heroes" for three days straight (except for a break last night to watch DMC extras); so what?
(no subject)
I think I need an icon of The Patrelli's
Gah, I can't wait to see what happens next. Episode 12 is on next week, right? *clings*
(no subject)
And the next episode is on January 22, isn't it?
(no subject)
22nd? Wah! I can't wait that long!
(no subject)
Sadly, it has indeed gone on hiatus until January 22nd. Which means I should be able to watch all the eps over two or three times.
(no subject)
I'm loving that so many of my flist are getting involved in this fandom too. It makes me happy
(no subject)
(no subject)
I can point you to an episode community, if you'd like.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Seriosuly, Heroes friggen ROCKS. Something for everyone! Everything for some (me)!
(no subject)
I concur about the likelihood that Nathan has probably had a major personality shift in the last however many months since his wife's accident, and that is part of the reason for all the weird vibes he gives now.
Personally, I've watched the "what if I step on a bug/you're gonna die" scene about three million times now.
(no subject)
It's my goal over the holidays to convert everyone I know to "Heroes."
(no subject)
I also really enjoyed your analysis here; lovely stuff. I don't know what it is about fandom—brothercest just doesn't seem as "eww" as it is everywhere else (i.e. real life, that sort of thing).
(no subject)
I'm neutral toward the Petrellicest -- I can certainly see where it comes from, and it doesn't squick me intensely, but I haven't sought out fic for it either.
(no subject)
(no subject)