the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:31am on 23/12/2006
Bleah. I woke up too early this morning -- before 7 -- and now I'm tired, but not tired enough to get back to sleep. And I have to work at noon. I hate working retail, but I really hate working retail during the holidays, and I really really hate working retail on Christmas Eve, which I will be doing tomorrow. And it's a Sunday. I also hate working on Sundays. It does a really scary thing to me. See, the reason I hate working Sundays is because neither of my parents ever do, so I get all bitter and resentful, and this manifests itself as a bizarre Church Lady persona who's secretly muttering "why aren't you heathens in CHURCH" at every customer who walks through the door from 9 to 2. Yeah, I know that's absurd. So I figure it being Christmas Eve will only compound the problem.

Other than that, things have been...meh. I'm still pretty bummed out in general, and now deeply anxious over the TAMU application I finally sent in and the five other applications that need to be done. I don't think January's going to improve much. Haven't been around on LJ, except for short bursts, due to not feeling very fannish or social. No more random crying jags, just lethargy. I don't have much energy for anything really, including going to the gym which I really meant to and really need to do. Oh well, I'll be walking for seven hours today.

Okay, in order to end on a slightly less emo/Eyeore note: look at this lovely icon [livejournal.com profile] pseudoblu made me! ::pets it:: And a merry Christmas Eve's Eve to all.
Mood:: 'discontent' discontent
There are 3 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 04:43pm on 23/12/2006
and this manifests itself as a bizarre Church Lady persona who's secretly muttering "why aren't you heathens in CHURCH" at every customer who walks through the door from 9 to 2

I used to feel this way in high school, when I was 15 working at the Dairy Isle for $2/hour (and no tips!). Especially since most of our clientele WAS the holier-than-thou churching variety!
ext_15536: Fuschias by Geek Mama (Jack Santa by Gryphons_lair)
posted by [identity profile] geekmama.livejournal.com at 05:16pm on 23/12/2006
Your icon rocks.

I'm sorry to hear you have to work retail on Christmas Eve. I hope the Christmas Spirit prevails and your customer interaction is a happier experience than you anticipate.

My niece, [livejournal.com profile] gingersnapps works retail, too, at Disneyland, and yes, she's working tomorrow. She has been trained well and after eight years can deal pleasantly with even the most annoying customers, sending them off with a smiling "Have a Magical day!" We hear the horror stories when she comes home. And it makes her less tolerant of ordinary stores -- Walmart is particularly bad, the last couple of times she was there the sales people were awful, and once a couple of them were actually having a yelling match, right there on the job, in front of all the customers.

Hopefully you will get off at a reasonably early hour, and in future years, when you don't have to work Christmas Eve, you will be even more thankful than if you'd never done so at all! (How's that for Pollyanaism?)

*hugs you and covets your icon*

Have a Magical day!
ext_129022: (commodore)
posted by [identity profile] introductory.livejournal.com at 05:50am on 24/12/2006
Pfjck, is the Kraken in there?!

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31