the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 05:42pm on 02/02/2007
As I was driving home from work today, I flipped on my classic rock station -- 94.7 The Arrow. And I heard...the Fray? WTF? It was an add for the new station, 94.7 The Globe, which is apparently a generic rock station. This is deeply upsetting to me. Since I've been in college, here's what has happened to my radio stations:

1. BIG Oldies 100.3 ("the greatest hits of the fifties, sixties, and seventies) --> BIG 100.3 ("the greatest rock and roll of all time"). In other words, from an oldies station that had been slowly slipping in later songs and phasing out older songs/styles, to a flat-out classic rock station, even though they refuse to say so; most of it is now '70s.
2. Oldies 106.9 --> Classic Rock
3. Oldies 102.7 --> JACK FM, generic mix
4. Z104.1, the least dorky of all the mix stations --> classical (just .4 away from another classical station)
5. Oldies 97.7 --> contemporary rock (a pretty decent rock station, I'll admit -- but it was an awesome oldies station)
6. "The legendary 99.1 HFS" --> Spanish-language (technically not the greatest loss since DC101 was always better, but definitely the most shocking: HFS was an institution)

I don't like change. I still miss my old radio stations. And I'm especially upset at the phasing out of oldies. I can see where it comes from, as the baby boomers age, but...I grew up listening to that music, too. Don't get me wrong, I love Springsteen and Rod Stewart and Jimi Hendrix and Billy Joel and Queen and good GOD U2. But I also love the Temptations and the Four Seasons and Herman's Hermits and Elvis and the Supremes and Buddy Holly and good lord, I would even welcome the original version of "Last Kiss" and I despise that song. And that kind of music, it seems, just isn't being played, and I want it back.

In the car, I was musing over all of this and scanning the stations, which I never do, because I suddenly didn't want to listen to anything but oldies (and not on my iPod, either -- I have an impressive collection but I'm not a fucking radio station). And it took me fifteen minutes, but I finally heard the sweet voice of James Taylor and paused. I was suspicious -- it could've been an easy listening station (which makes me want to kill myself) or even a particularly liberal classic rock station (the song was "Fire and Rain," after all).

Then they started "Carrie Anne" by the Hollies, and I knew I was home.

I listened to it all the way home, and the signal stayed strong (it's a Fredericksburg station, which makes me worry I won't get it at home, but I can't check that now). They played "This Will Be (An Everlasting Love)" and "Lady Lady Lay," which is one of my favorite Dylan songs and NEVER gets played on the radio. They played "My Girl," and I cried. A bit later they played the Byrds' cover of "Mr. Tambourine Man," and I cried again.

There...isn't much point to this. I just hit some emotional lows and highs over the radio today. It was actually supposed to be a big long rant about Time and the Generation Gap and the State of the World Today, but then finding the station killed my ire.

Oh, and one other thing to throw out into the universe (generic you, not you guys specifically): I know you think you mean "I could care less," but you really, really don't. You actually mean "I couldn't care less," because whatever you are talking about is the thing you absolutely care least about in the ENTIRE WORLD, that's how much it doesn't concern you. Saying you could care less is actually the opposite of what you mean. Seriously. Think about the sentence construction for five seconds, and then get back to me.

ETA: Forgot to ask if this radio trend is happening in other places/areas? Just curious.
Music:: johnny cash
Mood:: 'rejuvenated' rejuvenated
There are 19 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] pseudoblu.livejournal.com at 11:30pm on 02/02/2007
I've noticed a similiar trend here, yeah. It's been a little while since I've listened to my oldies stations, but last I heard K-Earth 101.1 was still playing oldies. KOLA 99.9 stopped coming in for me years ago but they were a good oldies station with more variety than K-Earth had. While I was in Italy Arrow 93.1 (it was good classic rock) turned into Jack FM and they now play a little classic rock with some modern and whatever else they want (they pride themselves on not playing requests because there are no DJs). The last real classic rock station I can think of is 95.5 KLOS, which may play the occasional newer song but it still has Jim Ladd playing his free-form radio at night and who is the guy Tom Petty supposedly wrote "The Last DJ" about.

And the "could/couldn't care less" thing really bugs me too. I point it out to people all the time and it doesn't help.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (tenneillybums - friends)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:09pm on 03/02/2007
Sigh. Radio makes me sad. And "could/couldn't care less" -- if people would just THINK about what they're saying, and LOOK at the sentence!
ext_15621: The Pixel in a paper bag (hope by  black_hound)
posted by [identity profile] rosiespark.livejournal.com at 12:28am on 03/02/2007
I know you think you mean "I could care less," but you really, really don't.

Precisely! This is one of my pet peeves. This and the incorrect use of lay/lie, which can ruin an otherwise perfectly decent fic for me. *sigh*
 
posted by [identity profile] heatherlayne-n.livejournal.com at 12:37am on 03/02/2007
I'm sorry to intrude, oh perfect stranger, but I have never known the rules for lay/lie, and I really want to! Could you enlighten me? :)
ext_15621: The Pixel in a paper bag (Pix)
posted by [identity profile] rosiespark.livejournal.com at 12:55am on 03/02/2007
Lie and lay are two separate verbs. You lie yourself down but lay something else down. It's explained quite well here.

Does that help, oh perfect stranger? ;)
 
posted by [identity profile] heatherlayne-n.livejournal.com at 01:34am on 03/02/2007
Aha! It does indeed, thank you. I knew it was something along those lines, but couldn't put it to the words of subject vs. direct object in my head. :) Thanks again! (Yay for English geekery!)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:11pm on 03/02/2007
Lay/lie is one I never knew the actual rule for until recently, and just wrote what looked right. I think most of the time I had it down.
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 01:14am on 03/02/2007
The radio thing has been going on here, too. The hard rock station played The Fray the other day. I screamed and almost called them since I used to work for them, but knew they wouldn't care.

As for misused words, I HATE a local commercial that says "most favorite." That is completely grammatically incorrect and reminds me of a three-year-old.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:12pm on 03/02/2007
Hee. "My most favoritest teddy bear in the whole wide world!"
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 05:12pm on 03/02/2007
Exactly!! But, in the case here, it is a "professional" commercial for a restaurant; "The menu items are selected from your most favorite recipes."
ext_18392: Bodie and Doyle from the Professionals, standing unnecessarily close together. In suits. (in the dissonance)
posted by [identity profile] tears-of-nienna.livejournal.com at 01:16am on 03/02/2007
The same thing has definitely been happening to the Cincinnati stations, but we only had two dedicated oldie-ish stations to begin with. WGRR's tagline used to say they played "the greatest hits of the 50s and 60s." Then, very slowly, they started phasing out the 50s music--I can't remember the last time I heard genuine doo-wop. Then they started calling it the "best of the 60s and 70s." The last time I went home for a weekend, they'd started calling it "Cincinnati's Greatest Hits," and they're verging on 80s territory. In one hour, I heard "Another One Bites the Dust," "Shake Your Booty," and freaking "I Love Rock and Roll."

I pretty much despaired.

Oddly enough, the classic rock station has actually mellowed out to try to fill the niche, but it's just not the same.


PS: Now that I can't get my music fix on the actual radio, I've started...er, "gathering" my own collection of oldies songs. So if you wanted a copy of "Lay Lady Lay" to console you, I could arrange that. It's my second-favorite Dylan song after the original "Mr. Tambourine Man."
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (me - bob)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:16pm on 03/02/2007
Awww, thank you! I do have a copy of it, though -- I'm a huge Dylan fan :)
ext_18392: Bodie and Doyle from the Professionals, standing unnecessarily close together. In suits. (Default)
posted by [identity profile] tears-of-nienna.livejournal.com at 09:33pm on 03/02/2007
I found his Biograph collection in a used CD shop for $20--it made my month. :D
ext_1888: Crichton looking thoughtful and a little awed. (my fandom has been co-opted by a corpora)
posted by [identity profile] wemblee.livejournal.com at 02:29am on 03/02/2007
Man, radio change is weird. I admit I love the dorkiness of Mix 106.5 (which isn't quite the same as actually loving the station that is Mix 106.5). My sister was *obsessed* with that station for a while. She wouldn't listen to anything else. She'd listen to the commercials. As in, not flip to another station during the commercials. Or let *you* flip to another station during the commercials.

I felt that, towards the end, WHFS and DC 101 were basically the same station; I did love HFS and 101 during the mid-'90s. Dude, remember 100-the-X? Modern rock station, basically an HFS/101 clone? It lasted for, like, twelve seconds.

I read in The Post that Glenn Hollis' After Hours show got canceled in lieu of a syndicated, similar show. I know it makes me a dork, but I don't care -- I listened to that show! (My musical tastes evolved this way: oldies, soft rock/mix station fare, rock station fare, that classic rock phase all kids born after 1980 go through, general-broadening-of-tastes-that-happens-eventually.) He had a great radio voice! It was so soothing!

Remember WQSR? That played oldies for so long. Then it switched with Z 104 or something. Or some station like it. ...Z 104 is classical now?! Wow.

I don't listen to the radio now that I'm out in LA, which kinda sucks, since it means I'm sort of contributing to The Downfall Of Radio (though I did like The Indie when I heard it), but... no commercials on the internet.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (thedeadparrot - beautiful day)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:21pm on 03/02/2007
I always did prefer DC101 to HFS, and 98 Rock has taken its place very well. It was just so weird to turn on the radio in the middle of the day and hear Spanish! Of all the radio statiosn to totally switch formats...

Was Glenn Hollis on 97.1? I went through that stage too, although now I can't stand that station :) He did have a soothing voice, though.

I really miss Z104. It started out as a 99.5 clone, then it became this strangely hip mix station when all the other mix stations were so stolid (107.3 became a little more hip when they opened up to different eras, but they still have static playlists).

I've never gotten into streaming radio on the Internet, or even really listening to it at home. It's very much a driving/car thing for me.
ext_1788: Photo of Lirael from the Garth Nix book of the same name, with the text 'dzurlady' (Default)
posted by [identity profile] dzurlady.livejournal.com at 03:06am on 03/02/2007
Yeah, it's happened here in Australia, too. :(
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (amarynthia_x - cera)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:21pm on 03/02/2007
Sadness!
 
posted by [identity profile] tiggothy.livejournal.com at 08:37am on 03/02/2007
...for saying that about that phrase about caring. I was beginning to think I was insane believing that it should be "couldn't".
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (jeeeerk - kevin and martin)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:22pm on 03/02/2007
Hee! Yeah, you look at enough improper usages and start to wonder if maybe you've been deluding yourself all these years...

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31