the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:57am on 04/02/2007
So I was in the shower, where most of my deepest thoughts come to fruition, musing over "Buffy the Vampire Slayer." I've been working my way through the second season, and I was specifically thinking about a question [livejournal.com profile] hannahrorlove asked in a post awhile back about "the assumption many people have that everyone is intimately familiar with Buffy the Vampire Slayer." I didn't answer the question at the time, because it's hard for me to be objective about the show I watched from the beginning of middle school to the end of high school, but I was pondering it today after reading the Wiki entry on BtVS last night. I was thinking about how the BtVS fandom gave rise to the now pan-fandom expression "jossing," and what other terms it may have contributed. This is my thought process:

--Well, and there's the idea of the Expanded Universe, which was in the Wiki article.
--Although my first experience with an EU was Star Wars
--Even though I quit reading years ago when they killed up Chewie but Kyp Durron made it through yet another novel unscathed.
--Fucking Kyp Durron. I hated him.
--I hated Kevin J. Anderson too, and the whole Jedi Academy trilogy.
--Especially the part where Han and Leia sent off their children for the first few years of their lives, to protect them from assassins or whatever.

And then I started to ponder this old issue some more, and I was quickly overtaken by blinding rage.

See, I don't remember the details, but I remember the basic concept, as I described it above: Han and Leia sent off their young children (I can't remember if was the twins and Anakin at the same time; I think they were about two years apart) with a nurse-like figure (and C-3PO? Maybe?), who of course was this childhood best friend of Leia's from Alderaan. I believe her name started with a W, I don't have my SW Encyclopedia on hand -- aha, of course there's an online archive! Yeah, her name was Winter, and she kept the twins first on New Alderaan and then on some planet called Anoth. According to this source, "the location of Anoth was known only to Luke, Winter and Admiral Ackbar."

Like...okay, I get where you're coming from, Kevin J Anderson, you stupid hack (and whatever other writers bear the responsibility for this insipid plot device, which directly contradicts earlier novels like The Crystal Star, which was a piece of shit too and I realize continuity isn't the EU's strong point, but STILL). Leia is a very powerful figure with many enemies, her children are constantly in danger, blahblah fortheirowngoodcakes. When I was actually reading the novels, I thought this was incredibly stupid because Leia IS so powerful and has a great many resources at her hands to protect her children, not least of all her Jedi Master brother (and also that Han's position on this should've been as follows: who better to protect Han Solo's children than Han Solo [and Chewbacca]?)

So I always kind of rolled my eyes and wrote it out of my personal canon (in the SW EU, with its plethora of writers whose characterizations and backstories rarely if even remain consistent, this is an easy thing to do). But thinking about it now, I find it incredibly offensive. No matter what the reasoning, they are essentially saying that Leia cannot be both a mother and a strong political figure (they didn't do much with Han for a long time, so mostly I'm talking about Leia here). Let's look at this. First, it's an alternate science fiction reality that has, in the Original Trilogy alone, placed women in positions of great power (namely Leia and Mon Mothma). From what we can see, society among the Rebels/soon-to-be New Republic appears to be fairly egalitarian, sex-wise. And maybe they would've done the same thing if her character were a man, but the fact is, she's not. And she can't have the babies and the power at the same time.

I don't mean to denigrate women who choose or are forced to give their children up, even temporarily (thinking of how [livejournal.com profile] fabu's Triangulation series deals with Elizabeth and Will's child, for example), or to place a false premium on motherhood as the be-all and end-all of womanhood. But in these circumstances, Leia is a wealthy, stable, happily married individual who planned her pregnancies and is perfectly capable of providing for the children she has brought into the world (as opposed to Elizabeth, whose straits are far more dire, resources fewer and in whose world the power balance between men and women is wholly unequal). Even if the canon reason for sending them away is valid, I find the solution unsatisfying and misogynistic. This is Star Wars, for cripe's sake; they could've found another way. I'm amazed that I read these novels at such a young age, an age where I wasn't able to pick up on the offensive subtext, though I responded on the grounds of faulty logic and bad writing at least.

This didn't have a point, really. I just got so worked up about it that I had to let it out. I think it's got to replace the elected fourteen-year-old queen as the stupidest idea Lucasfilm has ever produced, even if Uncle George didn't come up with it himself.

Icon!Leia says: fuck you, Kevin J. Anderson!
Mood:: 'pissed off' pissed off
There are 14 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] redorchard13.livejournal.com at 05:22pm on 04/02/2007
word, sister.

its funny, i was just half watching/listening to Empire Strikes Back yesterday, and thinking about how i'd forgetton howe much i love the first three movies. like Disney, its gotten to be the thing now to dislike star wars but i still have a deapseated fangirl love thats trying to survive all the stupid shit they keep doing in the EU. Qui/Obiwan slash saved it for me a bit.
i hope that somewhere along the line it makes a comeback and becomes the rock'n'roll scifi fandom again that i loved when i was a kid.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (undeadmiko - rocking vader)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:38pm on 04/02/2007
Sigh. I miss the crazy mess of the old days (and I'm with you on the eternal Disney love)
 
posted by [identity profile] orlanstamos.livejournal.com at 05:53pm on 04/02/2007
Oh, man. I remember having a big thing for the Star Wars EU books when I was younger (probably because I had to read a LOT of bad sci-fi when I was little). And at the time I just sort of nodded and went along with it, but looking back...just, wow.

I don't have anything much else to add beside, yes! You're right! It is really, really stupid.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (undeadmiko - rocking vader)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:39pm on 04/02/2007
::nods:: Back then I was just thrilled to discover it all, and to spend all that extra time in the world. Really, when you get right down to it, it's just published (and officially sanctioned) fan fiction :)
 
posted by [identity profile] ceria-taliesin.livejournal.com at 06:12pm on 04/02/2007
I didn't stop reading the EU until right after they killed Anakin Solo. Chewie's death didn't hurt me, because I figured they wouldn't kill the trio, and Chewie's death made sense to me. But when they kept killing the young jedi in place of the older, I got fed up with it.

I loved the books until then. Even the lapses of continuity didn't bother me. What I would like to do now is reread them (if I could stomach it) and see if the lack of continuity bothers me now.

What's funny about this? I loved Kyp Durron, I always thought he was what the Jedi needed to ground themselves. Luke was too perfect and Kyp balanced him very well. I think I even liked Crystal Star when it came out, but I don't remember why.

What I never thought about before: You are totally correct that it was lousy what they did to Leia. What a slap in the face to her character. Even if it was a plot device excuse to get her kids kidnapped all the time. Just like the ten other Death Stars that surfaced in the EU series (okay, not 10, but you know what I mean).
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (peasanticons - han and leia)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:44pm on 04/02/2007
Wait, wait, wait -- they killed Anakin?! What the hell! (And Kyp is still alive! ::grumbles:: To be fair, I disliked every character Anderson came up with; Kyp was just my least favorite).

I liked The Crystal Star because it had Leia being kickass and pretending to be a bounty hunter while looking for her kids, although the Luke characterization sucked. And the twins were actually pretty cute, although I'm having trouble remembering who exactly kidnapped them and why.

I stopped reading with that first New Jedi Order novel, both because they killed Chewie and I sensed it going in this weird new direction. It was like -- before, it was this crazy mishmash of random plotlines, something for everyone, but with the NJO it was all starting to get ironed out, like TPTB were finally paying attention to the stuff being published under Uncle George's name. I preferred the free-for-all, fanfic-like atmosphere of the earlier novels.
ext_18392: Bodie and Doyle from the Professionals, standing unnecessarily close together. In suits. (whatever that means)
posted by [identity profile] tears-of-nienna.livejournal.com at 07:57pm on 04/02/2007
I hated Kevin J. Anderson's books with a fiery passion, and the whole sending-the-kids-to-Anoth thing was part of it. I never could reconcile it with The Crystal Star, but then again wasn't the bad guy in that book made out of Jell-o or something?

I was only 11 or 12 when I read the Jedi Academy trilogy, but I do remember that the Anoth business made me uneasy somehow. And the Falcon crashed, and there was another nutso Imperial on the loose (although this one was a chick!) and another superweapon...*yawn* Same old Star Wars, you know?

The only point I differ on is that I loved Kyp Durron. ;) Still love, actually, because they haven't killed him off yet (even though I live in constant fear of that moment). He's actually the dark-horse candidate for Jaina Solo's hand now, weird as that sounds.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (undeadmiko - rocking vader)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:46pm on 04/02/2007
Yes! Thank you! KJA is a wretched writer.

He's actually the dark-horse candidate for Jaina Solo's hand now, weird as that sounds

The hell?! Isn't there like a twenty-five-year age difference? ...The SW EU is like fandom, only published, and EVERY FIC is crackfic.
ext_18392: Bodie and Doyle from the Professionals, standing unnecessarily close together. In suits. (whatever that means)
posted by [identity profile] tears-of-nienna.livejournal.com at 12:12am on 05/02/2007
KJA is only bearable when he's writing with his wife. But then again, I was a huge fangirl of the Young Jedi Knights books, so I might be biased. ;D

The hell?! Isn't there like a twenty-five-year age difference?

Well...I think the gap is about 14 years? And Han's about 10 years older than Leia, so it's not that different...well, yeah, it is weird. But did you get far enough into the NJO to meet Colonel Cardboard Jagged Fel? He's the main contender, and...I have no interest in him at all. Kyp might be an arrogant bastard, but at least he's got character. ;)

The SW EU is like fandom, only published, and EVERY FIC is crackfic.

So true! But I love my crack-filled fandom...
 
posted by [identity profile] kahva.livejournal.com at 09:28pm on 04/02/2007
This proves how long it's been since I've read any Star Wars novels, and just how far behind I am in collecting them. I didn't know that Chewie or Anakin had been killed off.

Now I have to wonder if I want to pick up where I left off in the collecting...
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (tamaduh - laura roslin)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:47pm on 04/02/2007
Yeah, I lost my patience when Chewie died; it was very upsetting. I didn't know about the Anakin thing, but I heard that Han and Leia split up for a little while and figured I wasn't missing much.
 
posted by [identity profile] kahva.livejournal.com at 11:04pm on 04/02/2007
I didn't know about the Anakin thing, but I heard that Han and Leia split up for a little while and figured I wasn't missing much.

And yet another thing I didn't know. Yeesh, but I'm behind!

{Hugs her freshly bought copies of the original trilogy with the original versions of the the movies, taps heels together at work} There's no such thing as midichloridians, there's no such thing as midichloridians, there's no such thing as midichloridians... {Taps heels together} Hayden Christensen is not Luke's father, Hayden Christensen is not Luke's father, Hayden Christensen is not Luke's father...

Crap, I need to punch up Puppy Bowl III in here somewhere so I can watch the Kitty Halftime Show for therapy now.
 
posted by [identity profile] pseudoblu.livejournal.com at 11:00pm on 04/02/2007
Wow. I can't remember how far I got into Star Wars books but I now think I'm glad I stopped after I realized I was paying for fanfic. And not even good fanfic part of the time.
 
posted by [identity profile] trinityday.livejournal.com at 04:03pm on 05/02/2007
I quit reading the Star Wars EU a little before you did, but I remember thinking that exact same point was such a load of crap, too, when I was a young teen.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31