the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:32pm on 11/02/2007
The fuck did Natalie Maines do to her hair?! It makes her look like a Cylon. I'm not even quite sure what that means, but it's the truth. They sound great as usual, though. I love this song. I love the musical and actual drama of it. I love that she's still so angry. One of these days I really have to see the Chicks in concert.

I had rather pleasant but odd dreams last night. All the Oxford people were at a restaurant somewhere, like a reunion, and then we quietly all went our separate ways while I waxed philosophical to somebody else (possibly Tina). There was a whole separate storyline where I was going swimming with my little cousins, and they were diving into a really deep jacuzzi. And there was something where the thing I remember is a guy telling me I was pretty. This serves to drive home how much I'd like to have somebody to tell me I'm pretty on a regular basis. (That is merely an observation, not a line thrown out. I love you guys, but you don't exactly count).

Signed up for Remix Redux, since the deadline is now extended until midnight Monday and they're in need of people who have written in PotC (as well as Grey's, Torchwood, and Heroes). I debated doing it all week, chickened out, and today thought "What the hell? Why not?" Sign up if you'd like -- and even if you don't want to write a remix, they still need fics from which to write. I'm nervous, since I don't do any kind of writing that involves other people's writing (except for the thing where I'm actually writing based on other people's work...) But I do want to give it a try.

Bleah, "Dreamgirls" isn't playing in Lex Park anymore, so I suppose I'll just have to wait until after the Oscars. "Casino Royale" is playing on campus next weekend, which I'm sure as hell not going to complain about. Did anybody watch the BAFTAs? I didn't see any clips on Youtube, the winners are pretty well in line with how I see the Oscars turnring out (I do think there's a chance "The Queen" could win, although I'm not as confident in that as I am in the acting awards). I'm really happy that "Children of Men" took Cinematography and Production Design, because those were possibly the best elements in an excellent film. "Pan's Labyrinth" did well too, which makes me want to see it even more. Is it sad and petty that I want "Babel" shut out of every category? It's just sat more and more uncomfortably with me over time. I saw so many more movies that were better-acted, better-directed, savvier and more entertaining (often not the Academy's highest priority, I know) this year, and I just do not understand the acclaim.

Huh. I really don't care about the Grammys. I used to care about them at least a little. I just don't care about most of the music that gets nominated for these awards, I guess. I listen to lots of them, but there are whole multi-award categories I couldn't give less of a shit about, and what I do like I don't actually care if they're awarded anything. Like, do we really need to give Stevie Wonder an abitrary award to validate his fifty straight years of awesomeness? Also, their weird rules make them seem perpetually behind the scene by a year or so. On the topic of music, I spent this past week listening to nothing but the Beatles at work -- all the albums I had, in rough chronological order since I couldn't remember exactly (btw, I seem to be missing the album with "I Want to Hold Your Hand" on it, which is rather distressing). I usually listen to them in a shuffle capacity, and have never actually worked my way through the catalogue. The impression it left me with: while the Beatles often failed to make sense, especially in their later years, they never failed to be absolutely fucking awesome. It also left me all sad about "American Dreams" yet again. I'll never get over that, apparently. I was actually making up a fandom introduction in my head like they do on [livejournal.com profile] crack_van, except it was more like the ship manifesto of Dala/AD.

God, I still miss that show so much. Pete on "Heroes" and Rachel in a guest spot on "Grey's" just doesn't cut it.

ETA: WTF? Is Bob Dylan seriously not nominated for Album of the year? Even though everyone wet themselves over how awesome it was? ...I do not understand these awards. And there are way too many of them.

But notes to self -- I need Gnarls Barkley, Corinne Bailey Raye, and that song from "Narnia." And maybe I'll download whatever that song Justin Timberlake did, because it was actually pretty good.

ETA: Also John Legend -- I think that's him. Good lord, everything about him is pretty. And while normally John Mayer puts me to sleep, "Waitin' on the World to Change" is a great song and he's an insanely talented guitarist.
Music:: can't bring myself to do what it is you think i should
Mood:: 'gloomy' gloomy
There are no comments on this entry. (Reply.)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31