posted by
the_dala at 10:44am on 19/02/2007
While I was at the gym, I was thoroughly delighted to find "The Lion in Winter" on AMC (so delighted that I had to cut my workout short because I kept grinning like a maniac). God, I love this movie. I was sitting there trying to think up a quote for a subject line when I came back and squeed over it, and I might as well cut and paste the entire screenplay because there's a great line roughly every thirty seconds. It's so awesome. And until the end, nothing happens -- they just sit around and snark and fight and scheme and be awesome. I love it. Peter O'Toole and Katharine Hepburn just fucking tear up the screen like nobody else.
Seriously -- IMDB quotes page. That's all I got.
I really, really need to start reading English history again. This is what I've always loved about history: for much of it, for the most important and most dramatic and most interesting bits? You couldn't make that shit up.
BTW, AMC is running a 24/7 Oscar nominees marathon, so there's nothing but great movies for a week. I'm excited. I think I might tape ol' "Cleopatra" today.
Seriously -- IMDB quotes page. That's all I got.
I really, really need to start reading English history again. This is what I've always loved about history: for much of it, for the most important and most dramatic and most interesting bits? You couldn't make that shit up.
BTW, AMC is running a 24/7 Oscar nominees marathon, so there's nothing but great movies for a week. I'm excited. I think I might tape ol' "Cleopatra" today.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
And the cast omg! Hepburn and O'Toole, of course - but a young and already formidable Anthony Hopkins, ditto Timothy Dalton, and then there's John Castle (Geoffrey) who shows up in Hornblower as one of the judges at HH's court martial, plus Jane Merrow (Princess Alys) who is the Duchess of Richmond in Sharpe's Waterloo - and others. (yes, I am a minor player geek - I love spotting familiar faces from film to film and decade to decade) So much to love.
(no subject)
Do you think we're clones of each other?
Just asking.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
It isn't really five hours long, is it? That's just with the commercials...
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)