the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:01pm on 22/02/2007
In no particular order:

--Jeffrey Dean Morgan is ridiculously hot. I don't know why I am so attracted to him and his beautiful torso and that beautiful Izzie-look on his face, but I am. Also? He and Hot Kyle are totally doing it in the afterlife.

--Meredith's Adventures In the Afterlife were sort of silly and navel-gazing, for which I blame Marni Noxon because I can, but another great performance from Ellen Pompeo.

--I didn't cry, except for when Doc jumped up on Meredith's bed. Because if I believed in an afterlife, my lost pets are exactly the first thing I would want to see. What could possibly be a better or more comforting welcome? People, yeah, but I just feel like I'd be immediately okay with death upon seeing Snake, Hershey and Sugar.

--Saw Ellis coming when Derek was in her room. I don't know what to think. On the one hand, it was lovely to finally, finally see Ellis embrace her daughter and actually be a mother; on the other, it felt like too neat and cheap a wrap-up, and almost a cop-out. I kind of giggled at the alternative notion of Mere seeing her mother in the afterlife and being all "Nuh-uh! I'm going back to the land of the living!" I'll be sad to see Kate Burton go; she brought a lot to the show.

--Was anybody else expecting Mere to croak out "Truuuu luvvvv" when Cristina told her to say something?

--Awww. I'm a sucker for the family-type scenes, and George, Bailey, Alex, and Izzie standing by was a great one.

--I resent the retconning of how Derek never really loved Addison. Also, I will always hate Mark and dearly hope he fails Addison's sixty days test. Has everyone forgotten that he cheated on Addison when they were together in New York and supposedly trying to make an honest go of it?

--Yeah, I don't blame George for walking out when he didn't hear anything resembling an apology, IZZIE -- just the usual ME ME ME. And that moment with Dead Denny would've touched me if she hadn't become so undeserving.

--That was Damien Rice, right? My ears weren't deceiving me?

--Damn, the poor Chief.

--Oh, Cristina. I love Sandra Oh.

I'm feeling better, though still like I was really sick and am recovering, only I never was really sick. Very strange. I'm within a hundred pages of the end of The Amber Spyglass, so I'm gonna curl back up in bed and see it through, even though it's hard.
Mood:: 'calm' calm
There are 5 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] hebrew-hernia.livejournal.com at 03:33am on 23/02/2007
I only opened the comment page because I wanted to remark on The Amber Spyglass, which I will get to in a second, but I *love* the way you used retcon as a verb. Oh, Torchwood.

And re:TAS: be prepared to cry. Is this your first time through, or are you rereading? I sobbed both times I read it (several years apart). Seriously. Just. It's insane.
 
posted by [identity profile] erinya.livejournal.com at 06:09am on 23/02/2007
OMG. I laughed my head off at Torchwood after going back to see if they'd really said retcon that first time, and they had. That show is nothing but fanservice...and I adore it, despite very very patchy writing and acting and general silliness.
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 04:27am on 23/02/2007
Yes, it was Damien Rice. If you wish the songs from "9," I will gladly e-mail my favs.

I totally understand your Jeffrey Dean Morgan thing. He makes me giddy.

As for Meredith's mom, I'm glad to see her go if only that means they will stop showing and referring to the bitching she did to Mere about not being good enough. That ep. got to me far too much because it reminded me of what my mother said to me during her drunken rage Christmas Eve.
 
posted by [identity profile] erinya.livejournal.com at 06:04am on 23/02/2007
I really liked the Cristina/Meredith strand of the story, and there were Hot Dead Guys. (You're not alone in loving JDM and his torso and smile and general gorgeousness.) But the afterlife thing was pretty lame and predictable and made me want to hit Meredith over the head with a shovel even though she was already dead. Also, can someone really wake up from being dead that long and not have any brain damage? I understand they were giving her oxygen, but how does that matter if your heart isn't pumping blood to your brain? Must ask my roommate.

On the Derek/Addison thing...I don't know that what she said was retconning. I think Addison believes that, but I don't think it's necessarily true.

I used to like Izzie, but Callie kicks her ass six ways from Sunday. And is way hotter.
 
posted by [identity profile] berne.livejournal.com at 12:40am on 24/02/2007
You're certainly not alone in the JDM love. Don't know if you've watched it, but he's great in Supernatural, too. His voice, mmm.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31