the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:35pm on 03/05/2007
I am done with college. DONE DONE DONE DONE DONE. Well, undergrad anyway. I have sat my last exam, and you might think I would actually make an effort to study for it on point of pride if nothing else, but you would be wrong. Because I made the mistake of starting the penultimate episode of "Robin Hood" while I was eating dinner, to soothe my mind for the studying, and such is the nature of the episode before the next-to-last episode of anything that I was forced to watch the last one as well. And I was so into it that I just had to type up some thoughts, but then forgot about them when I restarted my computer in a futile attempt to get PowerPoint to work so I could study. But basically I was torn by the whole Marian-at-death's-door storyline, because on the one hand I totally wanted them to go there. But on the other, I really like Marian and wanted her to continue kicking ass and dressing heinously, and I do not want to think about what her death would do to Robin. So I was overjoyed when she revived, and a little disappointed, but it was an expected disappointment. It was done pretty well, all things considered; the actors were pretty good (although Marian was way too perky, and then up and about like an hour after undergoing medieval surgery and a death-like chemical coma. Guess mortal wounds just aren't what they used to be) and I was reasonably nervous about her living. I loved beyond all measure Djack's interruption of the dying confession of love: "I love you, you love me, we all love each other. Now pour the wine." AWESOME.

Also loved Allan and Will's eleventh-hour rescue of the gang, partially because I love eleventh-hour rescues by default, and partly because I imagine Will talked Allan into going back with hot outlaw sex.

This was the first episode where I felt real sympathy for Guy, because of the whole no family, never been to a wedding thing. And I do believe he has feelings for Marian; that's evident from his decision not to go after her when she left him at the altar (after BELTING him like the total badass she is). And it doesn't hurt that, traitor or not, he was technically right about King Richard. Ah well. He's still an ass. I was hoping there'd be some point in the series where he would have to reluctantly work alongside Robin toward some common goal, but no dice.

In all, the show was always enjoyable but approached actual quality in the last five or six episodes. And, um, I might possibly have a Robin/Marian/Much fic outlined. But you didn't hear that here. Does anybody know if it's supposed to be coming back for a second series?

Also, I have finally accepted my trophy for Last Person on Earth to the Party and started watching S1 of "Supernatural," which contains many of my kinks, such as hot boys, slashy subtext, cheesy horror movie "boo!" moments, a revenge storyline that you just know is gonna turn out badly, and American folklore. And yeah, okay, Jensen Ackles is incredibly attractive. Like with Maggie Gyllenhal, I didn't really get it until I saw him in motion.

Augh, I missed the beginning of "The Office"! This has got to stop happening. I am officially leaving the computer to work on the grad gifts.

EEEEEE HEROES!

ETA: Okay, is anybody else completely sold on the Addison's Anatomy spin-off? A best friend, another manslut, that chick from "Judging Amy," and the unreasonably hot Taye Diggs, plus the unreasonably hot Kate Walsh? Bring it, Shonda. Just don't fuck it up this time.
Mood:: 'cheerful' cheerful
There is 1 comment on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] lizzybees.livejournal.com at 05:05pm on 04/05/2007
You are not the last person on Earth who hasn't seen Supernatural--I haven't either!

Also, WHOOHOO DONE WITH COLLEGE. *throws confetti*

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31