posted by
the_dala at 12:08am on 25/05/2007 under meta: pirates of the caribbean
Kneejerk reactions, before I read everyone else's and RIGHT quick before I have to go to bed. In random bullet points.
Some finer details of the plot and mutual manipulation escaped me in my engrossment, and also I need to mull more over characterization. I need to see it again, basically. And again. I think I'll go Saturday. And possible Sunday as well. I cried. A lot. But I had a blast watching it, and overall I think I love it and appreciate it as a film and as a coda.
ETA: FUCK I MISSED THE AFTER CREDITS ENDING, DIDN'T I? Will somebody PLEASE tell me about it?
I just can't believe it's over. I want to thank you all for being a part of this ride - it's not over for me, but it must change, as these things do. I don't meant to be a doomsayer, but the emotions, they are overwhelming at the moment. Also, please PLEASE link me to your thoughts/reviews - I was starting to tab them all, but then my computer restarted itself and I lost my Firefox page.
I give you one of my oldest icons, and still, one of my favorites.
ETA: Goddammit I can't sleep. My head is full of pirates and they won't go away, and my back hurts, and it's too warm. So some
I liked that Norrington kissed Elizabeth. I'm glad at least that they had closure, although I wish he'd had some with Will and/or Jack as well (even if he didn't get to kill Beckett like would've been so bloody perfect). Deleted scenes? Please, Gore, please?
Have been reminded of how amazing the opening sequence was. Oh, oh, just - set the stage beautifully.
Although off of that, was this movie really rated PG? It was so incredibly violent. Oh good, it was PG-13. I was going to have some word about the MPAA and the fucked up values of this country. I still have those words in storage, but not for now.
Much as I loved seeing Greg Ellis again - and his pirate fancying line - does anybody else think Gillette would have been better suited to that role?
The whole stabbing the heart moment -- beautifully acted by all and sundry, and I really felt the connection between Will, Jack, and Elizabeth, even though they'd just spent three hours betraying and double-crossing each other. I loved that they did end up working together, and that Jack gave up his desire for Jones' power for Will. The three of them, together at the end there - yeah, I need to see that again, now the shock has worn off. And again, am SO glad Will-as-captain was done out of desperation and not angst.
The battles were fricking amazing. Every single one. I never got tired of them. I could watch the stunts and the swordfighting and the effects all damn day long.
Liked that the kraken was dead. It served its purpose and was neatly disposed of off camera.
I suppose now Pintel/Ragetti and Murtogg/Mullroy will now have a running competition of who can be more obvious doing it.
Lastly, on the short list of my very favorite things: "Mrs. Turner" from Barbossa. Bloody HELL, I loved that.
- Mrs. Chen! Mrs. Chen! Mrs. Chen!
- Maybe the funniest of the three
- FOMG ship full of Jacks, I could HEAR the keyboard typing Jack/Jack/Jack/Jack etc; also Jack's naked torso -- have I ever ever EVER read a fic in which Jack doesn't have lash marks on his back? Jossed all to hell, but the tattoos are veeeery interesting -- did anybody catch the words?
- Was expecting/dreading the Dutchman ending, but I kind of loved how they did it -- not all angry and bitter and a choice like Jones, but because otherwise Will would fucking DIE. And I like the open-endedness of the W/E ending, i.e. they didn't actually show the child that one assumes will be produced by ten years on. There was no future indicating that Elizabeth was - well, doing anything, so she COULD be doing anything, couldn't she? On land, at sea...and hey, we're FANDOM for christ's sake, we can work with the ten years/one day thing. And with it, really, all ships are still perfectly open...
- ...even those involving Norrington - undead piratesfishpeoplegoddesscakes! HE DOESN'T HAVE TO STAY DEAD! But anyway that broke my fucking heart, like caused physical pain - I was expecting it, not because I was spoiled but because it made sense character-development-wise - but not so early. This is one of my main grievances - I really, REALLY wanted Norrington to take Beckett down with him, and I thought they were leading up to it when he got his sword back (Norrington learning of Swann's murder was a nice way to get him to fully understand the nature of the side he picked). I wanted redemption for him and I got it. But I wish the death itself had carried greater impact.
- Loved, LOVED the Will/Elizabeth battle/marriage. It was beautifully choreographed and just -- so more than what I had dared hope for. People, they pretty much MARRIED THEMSELVES, Barbossa was just incidental. I thought that was lovely, and it made me really happy. Also, the presumed sex, rarrr. The theater cheered when they finally kissed on the ship (they also cheered when Jack sailed the Pearl over the sand dune
- Echoes from the first movie: Jack doing that, Will breaking the thing, Murtaugh and Mullroy soldiering onward, Jack behind bars. LOVE.
- I was figuring on Weatherby's death too, but oh -- oh, I loved the way they did it. Classic underworld melodrama. "I'll give your love to your mother." ::SOBS AGAIN::
- That said, HOW IN THE HOLY FUCK DO WEATHERBY AND NORRINGTON FAIL TO MAKE IT THROUGH WHILE BOOTSTRAP GETS OFF SCOT-FREE?! He's a fucking pathetic moron! And STILL doesn't look a damned thing like Will, although Stellan was mimicking some of Orlando's facial expressions - speaking of whom I thought he was really, solidly good, and the critics can kiss my ass -- and Will was so CLEVER, so OFTEN! I lost count of the times I whispered "Good boy!"
- Also - we waited four years to see Keith Richards as a pirate, and I for one was NOT disappointed. They didn't overdo it, but he looked perfect - the man's a freaking corpse! - and I swear to GOD he started strumming "Paint It, Black" on the guitar. OH MY GOD I LOVE EVERY SINGLE PERSON RESPONSIBLE FOR THAT.
- Least favorite thing, aside from the execution of Norrington's death - the giant Calypso/Tia Dalma was some stupid shit that belonged on Hercules. I've no issue with the crab dissolving, but giangantification was totally unnecessary, and where the HELL did the rest of her dress go? Both scenes of Elizabeth's patial nudity served the plot and/or a joke, but this was STUPID
- Random love: Pintel stealing Gibbs' storytelling thunder, "the things we had in our pockets at the time," "I'm king," Will's earring, Bootstrap's sad mad ramblings (even if I STILL hate his stupid ass), the death convo between Jack and Barbossa, every line Rusch uttered, the parrot and the monkey (thank you, Jack!), and loads of other things I can't recall right now
Some finer details of the plot and mutual manipulation escaped me in my engrossment, and also I need to mull more over characterization. I need to see it again, basically. And again. I think I'll go Saturday. And possible Sunday as well. I cried. A lot. But I had a blast watching it, and overall I think I love it and appreciate it as a film and as a coda.
ETA: FUCK I MISSED THE AFTER CREDITS ENDING, DIDN'T I? Will somebody PLEASE tell me about it?
I just can't believe it's over. I want to thank you all for being a part of this ride - it's not over for me, but it must change, as these things do. I don't meant to be a doomsayer, but the emotions, they are overwhelming at the moment. Also, please PLEASE link me to your thoughts/reviews - I was starting to tab them all, but then my computer restarted itself and I lost my Firefox page.
I give you one of my oldest icons, and still, one of my favorites.
ETA: Goddammit I can't sleep. My head is full of pirates and they won't go away, and my back hurts, and it's too warm. So some
I liked that Norrington kissed Elizabeth. I'm glad at least that they had closure, although I wish he'd had some with Will and/or Jack as well (even if he didn't get to kill Beckett like would've been so bloody perfect). Deleted scenes? Please, Gore, please?
Have been reminded of how amazing the opening sequence was. Oh, oh, just - set the stage beautifully.
Although off of that, was this movie really rated PG? It was so incredibly violent. Oh good, it was PG-13. I was going to have some word about the MPAA and the fucked up values of this country. I still have those words in storage, but not for now.
Much as I loved seeing Greg Ellis again - and his pirate fancying line - does anybody else think Gillette would have been better suited to that role?
The whole stabbing the heart moment -- beautifully acted by all and sundry, and I really felt the connection between Will, Jack, and Elizabeth, even though they'd just spent three hours betraying and double-crossing each other. I loved that they did end up working together, and that Jack gave up his desire for Jones' power for Will. The three of them, together at the end there - yeah, I need to see that again, now the shock has worn off. And again, am SO glad Will-as-captain was done out of desperation and not angst.
The battles were fricking amazing. Every single one. I never got tired of them. I could watch the stunts and the swordfighting and the effects all damn day long.
Liked that the kraken was dead. It served its purpose and was neatly disposed of off camera.
I suppose now Pintel/Ragetti and Murtogg/Mullroy will now have a running competition of who can be more obvious doing it.
Lastly, on the short list of my very favorite things: "Mrs. Turner" from Barbossa. Bloody HELL, I loved that.
(no subject)
The "after credits ending" will make you revise this a bit. Very little was shown. Liz smiling, the boy singing, both on a very green and sunny peak overlooking the shore. Will smiling from his ship, when it appears, with a flash of green, on the horizon.
She wasn't dressed "properly," so I'm guessing she's in North Carolina, bending the rules somehow. (But I would say that. :-p)
(no subject)
Not dressed properly as in trousers, or just in a simpler gown than her governor's daughter wardrobe?
(no subject)
And there was a sentence or two from Liz - but I've completely forgotten them as well. *sigh* Sorry. We'll both have to wait for the midnight-showing viewers to hit the internet (and hope they have better memories than I do).
(no subject)
The little boy (Young Will Turner, I saw in the credits) had on, I think, a typical young boy costume of the day, and a wonky sort of hat with a round crown and a flipped-up brim, I believe with some decoration on it.
*hearts; I'm still sort of "coming down" from it too.
(no subject)
(no subject)
I didn't catch James' death foreshadowed, so that really hurt.
Will Turner. omg - I am so impressed. Like you I need to see it again without loud crowds and all else. but I loved it.
The opening. Holy fuck, I was crying from the moment the coin fell.
(no subject)
...I really need to go to bed. But that was one of the things I loved about various points in the film, some of which I didn't pay proper attention to because of squeeing or weeping.
(no subject)
I wish it was last year.
Sleep well.
(no subject)
(no subject)
And I'm definitely ready to write, again. I came out of the theater thinking, "Hey, I can work with that," more like post-CoBP than post-DMC. Except that we've lost James...god, I've never reacted to the death of a fictional character like that...
(no subject)
YES. That's exactly what I was trying to articulate in my review, but. *shrug* There was too much babbling going on. My head is so full of things I want to write. I like especially that you pointed out Jack/Will/Elizabeth ended up working togather in the end: I hadn't really thought about that.
God, I'm so satisfied.
(no subject)
"have I ever ever EVER read a fic in which Jack doesn't have lash marks on his back? "
My Jack has no lash marks. To quote from 'Compromises': "Jack wore all his scars on the front of his body; his back was as smooth as a boy's."
*g*
(no subject)
My Jack has no lash marks.
Answers that question - I had forgotten :)
Man, I can't get to sleep, my head is so full of pirates.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
And yes, Bootstrap can go suck it. I'd cheerfully trade his life for Norrington's. Will is a big boy and doesn't need his daddy anymore--hasn't needed him for a while, in fact.
(no subject)
The Bootstrap thing made sense for Will's character development, but honestly - the man foiled every plan his son came up with! He's too stupid to live! I would have liked him as the Dutchman's captain (and actually, I was coming around to Jack as captain by the end), but not at the cost of Will's life.
(no subject)
(no subject)
Yeah, when the idea was first bandied about as speculation, I rolled my eyes at it, but I turned out to love how they did it - the relationship with Davy Jones (I took a bathroom break during the scene where she turns him human - gah!), the reverence Sao Feng had for her...there's a lot to be explored there about female power and the sea.
I think I can accept the Dutchman ending a lot more since it was done out of desperation. I would rather have Will on the Dutchman than dead.
My feelings exactly.
(no subject)
Two things I want icons of: Jack pulling that rope in the desert dream, when he's leaning really far forward or running in place (iirc). That was cute. And Liz's foot with Will's boot on and the look on his face. That was incredibly sexy with very little shown, and I love that she chased after him for one more kiss.
I'm really, really, really glad Liz wasn't Calypso because that would have been too much Liz!worship for me. I'm not sure that she and Will really resolved anything, but again, there just wasn't time on screen for that. And Jack's line when she went to kiss him? "Once was enough." (?) Heh.
And the ending, when the Pearl's crew ( Murtagh and Mulroy!!) went to speak to Barbossa, and I BET they gave him the very lines they gave Jack when from the first mutiney.
So, Will really became a pirate, I'm glad for the choice to give him the Dutchman, it worked well for me as well. And Liz had her dream to be a pirate (king!) for a short time.
I am very sad I didn't get to see the map again. I have some major map!kink from DMC, and I hoped to see that in Beckett's office. But that's such a small complaint!
(no subject)
Hee. I was all "he's touching her girly bits! Squeee! Finally!" when they showed her blissful face. And very relieved that she went after him.
So, Will really became a pirate, I'm glad for the choice to give him the Dutchman, it worked well for me as well.
I was very pleasantly surprised with how they managed this, because it was the one thing I thought I would hate, and I ended up being okay with it.
Yeah, I need to completely rework my collection of icons now...
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
undead piratesfishpeoplegoddesscakes! HE DOESN'T HAVE TO STAY DEAD!
Hee. :D
I really, REALLY wanted Norrington to take Beckett down with him, and I thought they were leading up to it when he got his sword back
YES. Probably my biggest disappointment.
Liked that the kraken was dead. It served its purpose and was neatly disposed of off camera.
I loved sad Jack's little Peter-Pan-grown-up moment at seeing the dead kraken -- it was awful but wonderful too, and I like that they gave its death a bit of gravitas after the fact without having to actually show it being killed.
I swear to GOD he started strumming "Paint It, Black" on the guitar. OH MY GOD I LOVE EVERY SINGLE PERSON RESPONSIBLE FOR THAT.
Oh man, for real? I was trying to hear what it was he was playing but the entire theatre was too busy freaking out over the fact that, y'know, Keith Richards. I'll have to listen for that on second viewing.
(Also, like, hi, I know you don't know me from Adam, I just felt the need to jump in. Sorry.)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Thanks. Seeing that icon on my flist this morning made me cry.
I understand that, according to the rules of movie-logic, he had to die. But it is so many, many kinds of not okay.
Oh, James.
(no subject)
(no subject)
The Lord protects drunks and dingbats.
Which explains a lot about Jack, too.