the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:24pm on 30/06/2007
This is a prime example of how stuck in HP I am right now: I just tried to take OotP into the shower.

When I describe my childhood reading habits by saying I read in the shower, people often look at me blankly and say, "You mean in the bath?" And I say no, in the shower. It's really not all that difficult: I'd have the book in my left hand, turning pages with my pinky (or with the other hand if it was a particularly battered book that could take a little dampness) and perform all the usual shower duties with my right. Usually I'd stand on the sides of the tub so I could stick my head directly under the showerhead, which means less splashing. I did this all the time. The only remarkable thing is that I did it before I got contacts, without glasses - and my vision is so bad that I had to hold the book no more than six inches in front of my face.

Tonight I was wearing my contacts, but unfortunately OotP is, of course, nine thousand pages long and the weight of a small child. This complicated matters so much that I was only able to get through a couple of pages - I got in with the next page held ready by my pinky, but found I couldn't turn the page after that because the book was just too large. It wobbled dangerously, so I decided to chuck it on the hamper rather than risk dropping it. So there you go. Also, I can't possibly be the only child in the world who did this; I'm probably never going to find a likelier group of kindred souls than you guys, so tell me, did you ever read in the shower? Or anywhere else that was sort of weird?

Aside from devouring a much-beloved children's book, I've spent some time engaging in actual social interaction this weekend (with actual people!). Yesterday Megan, Katherine, and I drove up to Baltimore, which took longer than anticipated because we hit summer Friday traffic (also Katherine, who possesses the world's smallest bladder, had to stop at Maryland House even though she'd used the bathroom at Meg's house just before we left). We hauled our stuff to Kat's apartment and proceeded to tart ourselves up while waiting for Tina. The four of us then piled into a cab to get to the Mexican restaurant Kat wanted to go to. First time I've been in a cab in a reeeeeally long time - the weird thing was that our fee coming back was twice what the going fare ended up being, but Meg questioned this and the guy didn't make us pay what was actually on the meter (he also stopped for gas along the way).

We didn't get seated at Nacho Mama's until 10, at which point we were so hungry that we stuffed ourselves on chips and salsa and a huge order of nachos, making our actual orders completely superfluous. Meg and Kat sensibly split a quesadilla, but Tina and I each got two enchiladas and couldn't manage to eat more than a few bites. What we did do was drink a hubcup, Nacho Mama's speciality: basically a deep-dish pie pan filled with margarita. It was as delicious as it sounds. We got back from our crazy overpriced cab ride around midnight and debated going out elsewhere, which had been the original plan. We eventually decided to just hang around the apartment, which was fine with me because the food had made me feel kind of ill. We did walk around the block in a valiant attempt to find more liquor, but failed. With glasses of Triple Sec and Sprite (ugh, it was sweet), we sat around and had one of those three-hour soul-searching conversations. I love my friends. Eventually we talked ourselves into falling asleep where we sprawled.

Tina had to leave early in the morning; the remaining three of us dragged ourselves out in early afternoon to wander down to the harbor. It was hellaciously crowded and annoyingly hot, but! I got to see my Constellation again! I did not drag Kat and Meg aboard, which I think shows remarkable restraint on my part. We weren't there for very long because none of us were too keen on spending money and there's basically nothing you can do without it. Plus we were starving. We finally found the Irish pub Kat kept mentioning, but my shepherd's pie was pretty disappointing -- all nasty beef grease rather than actual gravy. Immediate application of frozen Starbucks concoctions helped, and then we packed some of Kat's things into the car and journeyed home. Whereupon I took a nap, and I suspect the other girls did too.

Tomorrow's the Folklife Festival, where I assume Dad and I will run into Meg and her family at some point. Other than that...::yawns:: I'm beat. I can't write, but for five days in a row now I've had really vivid, interesting, meticulously-structured dreams. I guess that's how the creative part of my brain is getting its kicks? Last night there was a part of the dream where I was running from a dog-sized, evil crab. I blame the Mexican.
Mood:: 'lazy' lazy
There are 20 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] sienamystic.livejournal.com at 01:58am on 01/07/2007
Heck, I *still* read in the shower.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 03:06am on 01/07/2007
Probably the only reason I never did is my grandma would've had a shit fit if I had. She was very big on not ruining books; she used to throw a conniption if I bent back the corner to mark a page ...
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_veronique - the golden compass)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:37am on 01/07/2007
I try to keep new books looking new, but if it's from the library or used and already trashed...::shrugs:: I do cry when people write in anything that's not a textbook, or crack spines on purpose.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (amortentia_gal - elizabeth reading)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:36am on 01/07/2007
Good! I'm glad to not be the only one :)
 
posted by [identity profile] captain-bookcat.livejournal.com at 02:17am on 01/07/2007
well, our shower isn't a tub/shower, so it would be very hard to read anything without the book getting soaked. :(

I have thought about taking drastic measures to remedy that, however...like laminating the reading material or getting a large ziplock...
^_^

your outing sounds like lots of fun. :D
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (floating_icons - indiana jones)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:38am on 01/07/2007
I can see the ziplock, but it'd be hard to turn the pages...:)
 
posted by [identity profile] captain-bookcat.livejournal.com at 06:20pm on 01/07/2007
yeah, that's the main issue there. ^_^
ext_18392: Bodie and Doyle from the Professionals, standing unnecessarily close together. In suits. (old married couple)
posted by [identity profile] tears-of-nienna.livejournal.com at 02:51am on 01/07/2007
I've never managed to read in the shower, but when I was seven I drew up a complicated plan for shower-reading apparatus involving a large ziploc bag, plastic forks, and a music stand. ;)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_veronique - the golden compass)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:38am on 01/07/2007
Hee! Music stand - now there's a thought...
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 03:05am on 01/07/2007
Nacho Mama's? Is that an actual place? ROFL!!

(Of course it's not as funny to you. You weren't in college 15 years ago with me and Kathy, where you would have to listen to that as her nickname for Taco Bell, aka "Toxic Hell" and "Nacho Hell." Why yes, I was employed there, why do you ask?)

Ah, drinking. I may have to do that in Cincinnati with [livejournal.com profile] yoiebear in a few weeks, assuming nothing comes up to postpone the trip. We can drink, watch Will, and make up dirty stories about him and his sword. ;-)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (hope27 - cotton)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:39am on 01/07/2007
Yep, it's a real restaurant. I think we mostly went there because it's fun to say.

Aww, I'm jealous!
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 07:41am on 01/07/2007
You too can drive over ...
 
posted by [identity profile] heatherlayne-n.livejournal.com at 03:38am on 01/07/2007
I knit while reading. The pattern can't be too complicated, but I do it all the time. Socks are great reading-knitting. I've never even heard of reading in the shower; that's talent!

I beg to differ. My husband posesses the world's smallest bladder. :P

Your weekend sounds fantabulous. :)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (amortentia_gal - elizabeth reading)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:40am on 01/07/2007
Oh man, I'm not sure I could do knitting and reading! I'd need to get one of those bookstands to leave my hands free...::ponders::
 
posted by [identity profile] heatherlayne-n.livejournal.com at 05:21am on 01/07/2007
Heehee. Generally (lately) I'm reading pirate fic on the laptop. ^.^ So no need for a bookstand. However, a remote control works pretty well to keep the pages open on a real book, I just have to shift it up and down. Though yeah, it might not work for OotP. :P
 
posted by [identity profile] artaxastra.livejournal.com at 12:10pm on 01/07/2007
I have read in the shower! *G*

Last night there was a part of the dream where I was running from a dog-sized, evil crab. I blame the Mexican.

Either the Mexican, or Jack. He seems to have a phobia of crabs....
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Idhenson - Jack)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:15am on 02/07/2007
I don't know why! They've been so good to him! :)
 
posted by [identity profile] stabbycutlass.livejournal.com at 12:37pm on 01/07/2007
Never read in the shower, though I used to walk and read all the time. I'd buy a book in the mall as a kid, pull it out of the bag and get reading. By the time we got to the parking lot, I'd have a good start on it. Never bumped into anything either.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (amortentia_gal - elizabeth reading)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:17am on 02/07/2007
Oh yeah, I was big on reading while walking. Corridors were best, because all you have to do is walk along the wall. I find other people generally get out of your way :) I also read at the table, in the car, in the bathroom, up in trees, in closets...basically, wherever I went? I was reading.
 
posted by [identity profile] tricksterquinn.livejournal.com at 12:01pm on 04/07/2007
I read walking up and down stairs, of course, but I never read in the shower - I think maybe because I didn't HAVE a shower in my house till I was 14? We only had a bath till then, and while I HAVE read books in the bath I generally do not.

Also, my dad used to freak about the idea of omg steam interacting with the binding glue !!1!eleventy-one!

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31