the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:55pm on 10/07/2007
"Dreamgirls" - This is the first exposure I've had to it, basically, aside from "And I Am Telling You," which I bought off of iTunes and enjoy singing along to at the top of my lungs. It's a pretty simple story, but I found the ending quite satisfying. The music is incredible - I'd love to see it live and I might cave and get the soundtrack. I started out thinking the acting was sort of crappy, but Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy especially had won me over by the end. I can't help it, I like Beyonce even though I don't think she can act very well. I know Anika Noni Rose was in the Broadway production, but honestly, she didn't register with me hardly at all. I really don't get what either Effie or Deena saw in Curtis, but that might be because I've seen Jame Foxx being obnoxious on one too many awards shows. As for the directing, I admit I don't find Bill Condon's style terribly compelling - many of the stage numbers reminded me strongly of "Chicago," and I hated the blocking/camera movement when they were singing the family song. I don't know, it's like he does these "revival" musicals but they feel so stiff, like he's not really committing, you know?

But my favorite thing about it? Keith Robinson played C.C. ::swoons:: He was Nathan on my beloved "American Dreams," one of my favorite TV characters in recent years. And he is freaking beautiful.

"Apocolypse" - goddamn, why's Mel Gibson gotta be such a talented crazy asshole? I wasn't about to see this movie in the theater and I would've preferred to watch it in some illegal manner, but I still wanted to see it, and I loved it. It's a great adventure story (so long as you don't mind your violence, and as long as it's not connected to divine ecstasy we're okay - I was glad actually that there wasn't much deep meaning). Rudy Youngblood ruled the whole damn planet in it, and I watched long portions with my mouth hanging open and my heart racing a little. The stunts and effects are incredible. The whole temple sequence was like a trip to another planet. I'm still not buying a copy, but it was seriously good. Better than "Braveheart," much less worrisome than "The Passion." Dammit. I hate you, Mel Gibson.

Technically I should be seeing OotP tomorrow, since we've seen every Potter movie to date on opening day, but I completely forgot that it was in fact tomorrow and not Friday. I'd go see it with Tina and her coworkers, but the theater's not close and I don't much fancy being that far away from home at 1 am when I have to work the next day. And Kat can't go tomorrow because of work, so we're just going to pretend it is indeed premiering Friday! And not tomorrow at all! The tickets are probably sold out ANYWAY ::sniffs::

And now, I am going to read a little Antonia Fraser (Marie Antoinette: The Journey was the only Fraser book the library had, and while I do want to read it, TUDORS PLEASE) and go to bed. Tomorrow I'm going to the podiatrist to finally get my stupid foot looked at so I can walk without pain and maybe finally be able to exercise again.
Music:: j-hud (dad: how the hell did she lose?)
Mood:: whiney
There is 1 comment on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] cymbeline.livejournal.com at 06:05pm on 11/07/2007
I havent seen Dreamgirls yet, not sure if I'm interested enough to do so.

But yes Apocalypto was a visual feast. The non stop action had me holding my breath so many times. It was one of the first movies I had to remind myself to breath and relax! Mel Gibson is a nutcase but he still makes a damn good movie.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31