the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 02:02am on 21/07/2007
Have achieved book. Have spent about sixty of first hundred pages sobbing. Mostly when I thought Hagrid was dead, then when Hedwig and Mad-Eye Moody were actually dead. And when George HAD NO EAR and there was FRED. And whenever anybody mentioned Dumbledore. And when Lupin got all tense when Tonks didn't come back because he is clearly thinking about when Sirius Didn't Come Back. And when Hermione threw herself at Ron with her arms around his neck. And when people talked and did stuff.

I think I'm going to read the wedding and then go to bed. This is too harrowing to get through in one gulp. The weeping is giving me a headache. I'll update this post with further thoughts later, which is why I'm temporarily turning comments off because I do not want to talk about it until I'm done. Also, tomorrow I will obtain HP icon first thing ::previews to make sure cut works::

ETA: Okay. I have finally returned from The End. It took longer than anticipated, because I went back to bed for a long time after getting up too early, and because I had to keep taking breaks from the harrowing. So if you were expecting a coherent review, this isn't it. It all went by so quickly and there are still elements in the last few chapters that I'm fuzzy on. But - I really liked it. Really, a lot. How it all ended, and how we got there. It's good I had the house to myself today, because I kept crying and laughing and talking to the book, putting on a very good show of being a crazy person.

It got really mythic up in here, didn't it? With the hero's journey angle and the whole hero-sort-of-returning-from-death. And it seems she tied up a whole lot of loose ends. I am struggling to come up with sweeping statements, here, but mostly what I was taking note of was what I loved. That list is topped by:

MOLLY WEASLEY KILLED BELLATRIX LESTRANGE.

No seriously - Mrs. Weasley killed Bellatrix. There are no words for how much I loved that. Following it closely, in no particular order:

McGonagall leading a charge of schooldesks.

Neville beheading Nagini with Gryffindor's sword. Also, everything Neville did, ever.

Snape being in love with Lily. This possibility didn't occur to me until [livejournal.com profile] artaxastra recently suggested it, and while it sounded plausible I was curious to see how Rowling was going to do it. She wrote it like I would've: with the revelation after Snape's death, for maximum angst potential (and the pensieve was an excellent plot device, as it's been in the past). I wasn't expecting for them to have been childhood best friends - that was a good stroke.

The Battle of Hogwarts. I mean, my god.

Dumbledore's family, particularly Aberforth. And Dumbledore coming back, if only in death/Harry's mind.

The Trio's epic journey. Even with the evidence to the contrary, I prefer to believe the three of them shared one sleeping bag in that cat-scented tent. Their bond is extraordinary, whether or not it's romantic/sexual.

Dudley shaking Harry's hand. And that last hesitation from Petunia. Because now we know why.

Okay, so, if I were to ship anything in HP, it'd be the aforementioned Harry/Ron/Hermione and Sirius/Remus. And though on paper they all went in different directions, my casually invested eyes saw a certain degree of validation. I'm not hating on the Lupin/Tonks relationship, although I still didn't see any real evidence of where it came from. And I sort of like baby Ted (does that bring things full circle or what?). But I appreciated when the dead came to Harry in matched pairs: James and Lily, Sirius and Remus. (As far as the Trio goes, while I liked the ending and the Harry/Ginny pairing well enough - he should have a family - if I were going to write fic for the series? I'd probably ignore the 'nineteen years later' epilogue entirely. I can hear the clamor of the shipper wars already).

That Harry actually paid his dead mother some damned attention, at last.

Speaking of the deaths - um, two, JK? That was a lot more than two!

God, there tons of other things I have to say about it, I swear, but they're just not coming. I think I'm going to reread it this week, and now it's time to see what others have had to say (haven't touched the Internet since leaving to meet [livejournal.com profile] penknife and [livejournal.com profile] kaz814 for the release party - it was great fun and we were out of there by 12:15, which is quite an accomplishment). I'm half expecting to find a smoking black hole when I open Firefox. Comments enabled! Chat away!
Music:: 'i am harry potter' on endless repeat in my head
Mood:: 'drained' drained
There are 17 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] subversivecynic.livejournal.com at 02:06am on 22/07/2007
1 - I heart molly so much. She didn't even let anybody help: bitch was going down, you know? So fabulous.

2 - I know that JK said what she put in the end of the book would stop anyone from writing after her. I don't know how she figures that's going to work, I mean given the propensity of the average ff writer to pull anything out of the hat, the viability of "a wizard did it", and the fact that 19 years still leaves lots of time for adventures, not to mention after.

3 - Personally, for me, it's the vindication of, after having been assured by my friends and family that I was being a hopelessly silly fangirl because I knew Snape couldn't have been working for Voldemort the whole time, knowing. And just as soon as someone else finishes I will be "I told you so"-ing for quite a while.
 
posted by [identity profile] bombazzinedoll.livejournal.com at 02:48am on 22/07/2007
3 - Personally, for me, it's the vindication of, after having been assured by my friends and family that I was being a hopelessly silly fangirl because I knew Snape couldn't have been working for Voldemort the whole time, knowing. And just as soon as someone else finishes I will be "I told you so"-ing for quite a while.

I admit I still don't get the whole fannish Snape Thing, but I gotta say I wouldn't mind an 'I told you so' atm. *hopeful look?* Seriously, I've been waiting for one all day but the hp intrawebz is teh ded.
 
posted by [identity profile] subversivecynic.livejournal.com at 02:51am on 22/07/2007
Ahahhahahahahahahaha! Told you Told YOU! *gathers up shredded dignity of the closet fangirl* I mean, the evidence was all there, if you'de only just looked...

Um... or maybe I'm a tad obsessed, but still!
 
posted by [identity profile] bombazzinedoll.livejournal.com at 02:56am on 22/07/2007
Oh, thank you - that's much better. *grovels accordingly*

Not saying I like the guy!!! But I do have a helluva lot more respect for him.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:43am on 22/07/2007
1. RIGHT ON.

2 - hee. Yeah, that's not going to stop the fen.

3. I've never been a huge Snape fan, but I did feel after HBP that it would be a much better story for him to have been loyal to Dumbledore (or as it turns out, Lily) all along rather than turning out evil. And I was quite impressed with how she pulled that off. So 'I told you so' away!
 
posted by [identity profile] subversivecynic.livejournal.com at 03:50am on 22/07/2007
So far as I can tell, nothing, not even legal injunctions, death, or wholesale destruction of canon can stop the fen.
 
posted by [identity profile] bombazzinedoll.livejournal.com at 02:43am on 22/07/2007
Dude, Molly swore. Not just any old swear, but a big, capital-letter'd BITCH. I managed to stop sobbing long enough to laugh maniacly at that for a minute or two and omg. So so so good.

And yeah, uh, WAY more than two! After Hedwig and Moody part of me was somewhat hopeful that they were the pair of victims Jo had offed, but then I came to my senses and realised I was only like 70 pages in, and that there was a whole slew of characters I was attached to who were still, like. Alive. Bad sign when there's 700+ pages to go. Dammit. WHY FRED & TONKS & REMUS O WHY, etc.

 
argh, that's supposed to be maniacally. Three hours o' shut-eye much?
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (meletor_et_al - weatherby)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:45am on 22/07/2007
Molly was so AWESOME. She was just about the last person I would've expected to off Bellatrix, and yet - it was so perfect.

Hee. Yeah, I didn't think she was going to give up her two (or SEVEN or however many it ended up) in the first 100 pages. But from then on, I was expecting a high body count. You have to respect the nerve.
 
posted by [identity profile] heatherlayne-n.livejournal.com at 03:19am on 22/07/2007
I'm really glad to know I'm not the only one who cried through, like, half the book. I've just become so emotionally invested! There's a great big pile of tissues on the coffee table.

Molly is my hero. :D All the Lily stuff was fantastic. And so much other stuff. I have a long, rambly "review" in my journal, so I won't go into it here.

Loved. It.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (amortentia_gal - elizabeth reading)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:47am on 22/07/2007
Yeah, it was such a shock to have everything end that it hasn't even really hit me yet. Hee, and I just read your post, pointing and exclaiming "Yessss!" at all the awesome things. I should've taken notes as I was reading.
 
posted by [identity profile] ceria-taliesin.livejournal.com at 03:17pm on 22/07/2007
I'm such a Kingsley fan, so I squealed very loudly at the end when he was named temp Minister of Magic. I'm so glad he didn't die.

Molly rocks! I'm so glad it was her. All this time I wanted Neville to off Bella, but Molly worked very well.

I ♥ Neville and Luna in this book. I love that Luna's dad turned in the trio to save his daughter, it shows how much fear there was.

Gah, Dobby's death made me cry, Ron leaving them, then again when Harry found his parent's grave. Then the two couples four ghosts walking with him...

One of my favorite lines was Harry's realization that Hogwarts was home to the abandoned boys (Tom, Snape and himself). I always thought it was Dd collecting them, but I like the idea it was Hogwarts collecting them and giving them a home.

After re-reading HBP last week, I didn't doubt that Snape was a good guy, but after reading about him doing it all for Lily, then realizing when he died he wanted to look at Harry's eyes... That was very sad.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (bunbury_ - elizabethtown)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:19am on 24/07/2007
I predict Kingsley will win by a landslide when they get round to elections (and a bunch of people will want to nominate Harry and he'll have to fend them off with both hands).

One of my favorite lines was Harry's realization that Hogwarts was home to the abandoned boys (Tom, Snape and himself). I always thought it was Dd collecting them, but I like the idea it was Hogwarts collecting them and giving them a home.

Yeah! You know, I think Rowling has anthropomorphized Hogwarts as much as we ever did the Pearl - the school (buildings, grounds, inhabitants, everything in it) has such a presence, especially noticeable here when we don't get to it until the very end.

I really liked Snape's end, how quiet and how bitterly petty it ended up being. I prefer that to a big heroic gesture.
 
posted by [identity profile] captain-bookcat.livejournal.com at 05:19pm on 22/07/2007
um, wow. you managed to mention just about all my favorite parts, too. :D

*sobs a bit more for good measure*

(hey, I'll take an "I told you so" from anyone willing to give it)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (amarynthia_x - cera)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:19am on 24/07/2007
There was much to love, and much to weep over :) *iconlove*
 
posted by [identity profile] mair-carpediem.livejournal.com at 05:32pm on 22/07/2007
Hn, yeah, you've already mentioned most of my favorite parts. I also liked that Kreacher turned out helping the good side - I never liked Kreacher much, especially in OotP, but I think that'll change after this.

The Battle of Hogwarts is one of my favorite chapters now, and not just for that book. Most of it gave me chills. McGonagall leading desks, the armor and statues coming to life...and then there was Peeves hailing Harry at the end...OMG. *dies*

I started sobbing when I read the dedication...then I cried again when Mad-Eye was killed...and then when Dumbledore was mentioned...then started sobbing again after Dobby died and I didn't stop until well after I finished. I probably won't stop for days. Especially because after the pensieve I resigned myself to Harry dying...but he lived!

Man have my emotions been toyed with...
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (me - little prince)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:20am on 24/07/2007
I wasn't expecting Kreacher's about-face, but it made perfect sense in context. And him leading the house-elves in his master's defense was made of win.

I cried so much, I think I gave myself a cold.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31