My world just flipped over. I was watching TDS on the Comedy Central website (the ONLY network where I can do so from the UK, thankyouverymuch), and Jon was doing his "You Don't Know Dick" bit, except he'd changed it to "You Don't Know Richard Cheney," and he only said nice things like Mr. Cheney is a good grandpa and perhaps he keeps his man-sized safe stocked with puppy food. And he kept turning and giving the camera a giant, nervous, terrified grin. It was hilarious, but puzzling.
Then Lynne Cheney walked out.
I mean - how in the hell did they wrangle that? For what nefarious purpose? Lynne Cheney?
The interview was actually better than I'd expected. Jon tends to softball such high-powered interviews, which is frustrating but, I think, a perfectly legitimate choice given the venue (note: this is only politicians, he usually doesn't cut pundits and writers an ounce of slack - he flat-out attacked Chris Matthews last week, and it was a beautiful thing). But even when Lynne Cheney shut him down, he still prodded enough to make his point without being rude. And she, to her credit, was largely a good sport, and the audience didn't interrupt or boo her for no good reason, which they tend to do. I actually don't know anything about her and have never seen her interviewed before, but was she a teacher? Because she gave off stern teacher vibes like whoa.
Sot it was interesting, but I think I'm going to be reeling for the rest of the day.
Lynne Cheney was on "The Daily Show." For reals.
Then Lynne Cheney walked out.
I mean - how in the hell did they wrangle that? For what nefarious purpose? Lynne Cheney?
The interview was actually better than I'd expected. Jon tends to softball such high-powered interviews, which is frustrating but, I think, a perfectly legitimate choice given the venue (note: this is only politicians, he usually doesn't cut pundits and writers an ounce of slack - he flat-out attacked Chris Matthews last week, and it was a beautiful thing). But even when Lynne Cheney shut him down, he still prodded enough to make his point without being rude. And she, to her credit, was largely a good sport, and the audience didn't interrupt or boo her for no good reason, which they tend to do. I actually don't know anything about her and have never seen her interviewed before, but was she a teacher? Because she gave off stern teacher vibes like whoa.
Sot it was interesting, but I think I'm going to be reeling for the rest of the day.
Lynne Cheney was on "The Daily Show." For reals.
(no subject)
(Wikipedia knows all?)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Because she gave off stern teacher vibes like whoa.
Nah, she's just a businesswoman who's used to being listened to when she speaks. I know a couple like this - they get to be a certain age, like around in or close to their 60s, and know no fear.
But even when Lynne Cheney shut him down, he still prodded enough to make his point without being rude.
"Because, you know ... I thought they were our allies ... but whatever ..." (The fact that the audience chose THEN to start clapping is what really amused me, however. Interesting how very silent they all were when she tried to get Jon to admit Cheney and Bush get credit for anything other than destroying our treasury and our good name around the world.)
(no subject)
OTOH, presenting Jon with the Darth Vader doll was _very_ funny.;) (I loved his comment about "Does it have a microphone in it?" I'd be more inclined to wonder if it hid a bomb.;)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)