the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
Marissa and I, after wandering all around the damn city trying to find the cinema, saw "Elizabeth: The Golden Age" today. First I have a general statement about the subject matter:

Someday, somehow, somebody is going to write me a historical drama specifically about the Spanish Armada that is largely or wholly absent of propoganda and xenophobia. This is not that day, but the film isn't without its charms and merit. Like the first film, this one is an artfully-done historical AU. Cate Blanchett is again superb, although it's not quite as much of a pleasant surprise this time around, because of course her awesomeness has become common knowledge. Geoffrey Rusch is the perfect Walsingham. Abbie Cornish does quite a lovely job as Elizabeth Throckmorton; she has excellent chemistry with Cate Blanchett. Clive Owen is, I'm sorry to admit, the weak spot in the principal cast, but it's not entirely his fault - the character's underwritten, and suffers from being an amalgam of several men in addition to Raleigh. He's awfully pretty, though, and he manages to hold his own against Cate (well, as much as can be expected). I wish his romance with Bess had been more thoroughly developed, but still, it's a poly type of movie down to the last scene, and that was one of my favorite things about it.

The art direction/cinematography is, again, simply breathtaking. The costumes, the sets (although there should've been way more wood paneling everywhere), the colors, the imagery - it's all lush and shot with an eye for artistic detail. It's a beautiful film to watch. See the floor map in my icon for examples; I squeed every time Elizabeth walked across it.

The film's biggest flaw is an excess of plot and intrigue; it's as if the writers never decided which of several stories they wanted to write. There's the (contrived in a historical sense, but well done oncamera) love triangle between Elizabeth, Bess and Raleigh, with the first naturally getting the most individual focus; the goings on at the Spanish court; the Jesuit plot to assasinate the queen; Mary Stuart's imprisonment and execution; Walsingham's relationship with his brother...Tension keeps rising and breaking at an awkward pace. It's especially noticeable in the last half hour, where the actual invasion/Armada plot suddenly speeds up and feels tacked on, not given its proper due. It's funny, because with many historical movies you're left feeling that some elements/subplots were shoehorned in merely because they happened. Since this movie's already taking huge liberties with history, you'd think it wouldn't kill them to leave some of this stuff out. Too many trips outside the court drag the plot down (which is a shame, because Samantha Morton wore Mary's crown well and deserved to have something more to do with it, even if she should've had a French accent rather than Scottish). Or possibly too many trips inside the privy chamber cramp the style of the political intriue.

Another flaw - I mentioned the imagery as a good point, but some of it is way too heavy handed, and that is basically everything having to do with Spain and Catholicism. All of the Jesuit plotting scenes run red, literally - I can only assume that they're dyeing all the cardinals' robes that later show up to witness Philip's defeat. Philip himself is not quite as ridiculous as the Hitler Phillip in "The Sea Hawk," but I'm still having trouble understanding why they had him walk like a chicken. By the end with the Armada, I was actually giggling aloud - there were fucking icons painted on the Spanish gunports, lingering pornographic shots of rosaries slipping under the waves, and an entire ship's crew stopped in the middle of the storm/battle to kneel and listen to a creepily intoned Latin mass. This last was interesting and confusing at once - the carefully composed shots of the men kneeling and all facing the same direction - it seemed to be a visual evocation of a Muslim call to prayer. It was really not cool. I mean, come on, this is 2007, and also not Monty Python.

One more very specific disappointment, that possibly won't affect other viewers as much: I didn't get the one thing I wanted most from this film. That was Cate Blanchett uttering the words, "I know I have the body of a weak and feeble woman, but I have the heart and stomach of a kind - and of a king of England, too! " Seriously. WTF, writers, did you seriously think you could write a better speech? What were you smoking when you decided to leave out your star's most famous, most brilliant words, the words that perfectly encapsulate the extraordinary paradox that was Elizabeth I? I was so let down at the moment. I don't even remember what she said, just that it wasn't the Tilbury speech. Also, I giggled because she was rallying her troops to take on Spain while mounted on a Spanish breed. One more nitpick: they totally stole the lighting of the beacons from RotK, and I mean, if you're going to crib from other (better) sources, at least try not to steal from one of the most stirring, affecting scenes in like twelve hours of movie, hmmkay?

That all sounds a bit negative - I did enjoy it and I would certainly recommend it to those who like the period, the actors, and/or the first film. It's entertaining, it's just not entirely satisfying. Oh! One more thing I did love - they put John Dee in it! I heart John Dee!

I'm also trying to figure out why historical inaccuracies bother me so much less in these two movies than they do in "The Tudors." I think it's because here, the changes and omissions are made to tell a story, and an accomplished one even if it isn't in line with history (or perfect). Whereas in that damned show, liberties with the text are taken for two reasons: a. laziness or b. titilation (or, in the spirit of Monty Pyton, three reasons - c. being 'both). I can respect one set of choices, but not the other.

We got the trailer for "The Golden Compass." Nothing I've seen so far has made me particularly anxious, aside from my continued mistrust of Nicole Kidman at the reins of Mrs. Coulter, but still - pleasedon'tsuckpleasedon'tsuckpleasedon'tsuckpleasedon'tsuck....

Ah, the promised whining. From time to time, I wake up to cramps in my legs (one at a time, anyway). It feels like phantom fingers reaching into the back of my calf, grabbing muscle and flesh, and twisting. I've never known if this is what people refer to as a charley horse, but that always seemed like a mild problem, and these cramps are really very painful even though they're brief. This morning I had the worst cramp I've ever had - my leg seized up from the knee down, and it seemed to last longer than usual. I whimpered as I fought my way out of sleep and tried to massage the knot out, but even after the cramp had passed it was still painful. I limped for a couple of hours, no joke, and when I took a nap I had to position my leg very carefully so it wouldn't seize up again. It's still sore now, obviously not helped by running to catch the bus after the movie. I'm not quite sure what to do about it. I don't have any kind of pain relief medication. I guess I'm going to try stretching and massaging it before bed. Wahhh, I don't like pain. My right foot is also prone to cramps while I sleep; for some reason it's way less flexible than my left, and it just locks up in bad positions. But that's never been as bad as this cramp either.
Mood:: 'contemplative' contemplative
Music:: 'defying gravity,' wicked
There are 16 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_veronique - the golden compass)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:14am on 04/11/2007
I'm taking medication that fucks with my potassium levels, actually, so that's interesting. Might be why it's lingering? It really freaked me out when the pain wouldn't go entirely away.

No, there's only one version of the His Dark Materials trilogy - The Golden Compass is the first book, then The Subtle Knife and The Amber Sypglass. They're young adult books, but they tackle some extremely heavy themes - I guarantee that you'll go away thinking, no matter if you agree with Pullman or not. He likes to think of himself as the anti-C.S. Lewis, and while he's not entirely wrong, he also tends to put his foot in his mouth in interviews. He's an atheist, and the books are strongly anti-dogmatic, critical of organized religion (not out and out 'anti-religious' as critics like to proclaim - they are in fact endorsed by the Archbishop of Canterbury for their consideration of faith, religion, and humanism).

TGC is, for the most part, a terrific fantasy-adventure novel hinting at these deeper themes which inform the plots of the other two books much more completely. I'm hopeful that the movie will be able to stay true to the spirit of the novel, although it will be interesting to see how they're going to make TAS acceptable to a studio. Let me put it this way: anybody wasting his time protesting HP has CLEARLY never heard of His Dark Materials.

...Um, I apologize for running on a bit :) But the books are incredibly close to my heart, and they were also really important on a sort of higher mental developmental level.
girlpearl: (doctors are mad trustworthy)
posted by [personal profile] girlpearl at 03:01am on 05/11/2007
Potassium & calcium both play a role in muscle contraction, so yeah, keep an eye on that. Also, dehydration can cause muscle cramps, especially, for some reason, in the calves--at least, for me, esp. in the calves.

Anyway, yes, charley horse, and yes, electrolytes, and hydrtion.

Also, Hi. *hugs*
 
posted by [identity profile] dharma-slut.livejournal.com at 01:03am on 04/11/2007
What Lzzie said-- and, for the short term, tonic water.
The quinine in tonic water is an antispasmodic, which is why it was so helpful for Malaria (the other being that it actually does kill the malaria bugs in the blood, I've always thought that was so handy)

Anyway, four to six ounces of Tonic water will do it. I suck at keeping my electrolytes in order, and have to keep those little cans in the car for when my feet cramp and I might crash. Warm Tonic tastes disgusting... but it's worth it...

Lizzie... if there are two versions, read the original, please. I don't know if that's so. My copies (loaned and lost dammit) were trade paperbacks. The "adult" issue would be on the matter of religion, not sex particularly. Good books, a beautiful, very slightly archaic writing style-- very satisfying reads. :)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_veronique - the golden compass)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 09:48pm on 04/11/2007
Electrolyte again *sigh* So does this mean I have too many, or not enough?
 
posted by [identity profile] captsparrow4evr.livejournal.com at 02:08am on 04/11/2007
Actually, the best cure I've ever had for leg cramps is to simply wear socks to bed. Since that's a bit less expensive than tonic water, I'd try it first.

Oh, and also stretching out your achilles tendon before bed might help too. Again, just something inexpensive to try.:)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (me - art by the theban band)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 09:51pm on 04/11/2007
Socks, eh? I'll have to try that one. PS icon love!
ext_7904: (dw-ow)
posted by [identity profile] porridgebird.livejournal.com at 02:29am on 04/11/2007
I get cramps exactly like that if I don't drink enough water (so does my sister, if you don't mind anecdotal evidence :). You have all my sympathy, it's just agony, and especially miserable if you have to get up early the next morning. You might try upping the water and see if that helps?
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (carrielh - will and elizabeth)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 09:52pm on 04/11/2007
Thanks for that! I know I don't drink enough water anyway, so it'll be good all around :)
ext_7904: (dw-janedrunk)
posted by [identity profile] porridgebird.livejournal.com at 11:52pm on 04/11/2007
Alcohol really dehydrates you, so if you're partying, drink lots of extra water to compensate. You can be dehydrated and not feel thirsty, so you don't even know it until your %#$@% foot wakes you from a sound sleep!
ext_7904: (POTC-jack-dance)
posted by [identity profile] porridgebird.livejournal.com at 02:31am on 04/11/2007
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 10:55pm on 04/11/2007
"I know I have the body of a weak and feeble woman, but I have the heart and stomach of a kind - and of a king of England, too! " Seriously. WTF, writers, did you seriously think you could write a better speech? What were you smoking when you decided to leave out your star's most famous, most brilliant words, the words that perfectly encapsulate the extraordinary paradox that was Elizabeth I?

Because you can't sell a movie to a 2007 movie audience with a line like that. Look at how historical perspectives are skewed to give women more power/options than they actually had in many, many movies set in times when that was not the reality. (It doesn't matter if it's the historical woman's real words; it doesn't market well. *shrug*)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (indigohymn - queen elizabeth)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 11:12pm on 04/11/2007
I disagree. There's definitely a difference between a historical figure with a famous, well-known speech and, say, the directors of the recent Narnia film leaving out Lewis' line about women not fighting in wars (which I was very happy about). Or Elizabeth Swann, or what have you. It's akin to leaving out Lady Macbeth's "unsex me" speech, IMO. They used the real Tilbury speech in the Elizabeth I miniseries with Helen Mirren, and I daresay they've used it in previous depictions of the Armada. My main point was, nothing they could've written would be as powerful or appropriate as the original speech, and it was a bad decision because it detracted from the big climax.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 11:54pm on 04/11/2007
It was an attempt to explain from a marketing/money point of view. If you don't like my explanation, then you take a stab at answering your own question. ;-)

Seriously. Why do YOU think it was left out?
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (peasanticons - han and leia)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:03am on 05/11/2007
...cause they're stupid :)

No, I get the argument, I just don't think it's applicable in this particular case. I think it was more a case of the filmmakers dismissing the real Tilbury speech simply because the whole movie is a very liberal take on history, and it was just so disappointing because there's nothing better to put in place of that speech. I don't mind fake stuff elsewhere, but I was very bummed out at the missed opportunity.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 12:25am on 05/11/2007
because the whole movie is a very liberal take on history

If there are liberties taken with the movie to the extent that they would remove the speech, and other things, because it does not go with the tone of the movie ... why were the liberties taken in the first place? To create a story that would market better to moviegoers. (When I say "market," I don't necessarily mean to 17-year-old boys who like to watch shit blow up. *G* I mean in a broad sense, there are things that don't sell as well as others.)

There's a third movie being made, right?
 
posted by [identity profile] elizabeth perry at 03:57pm on 05/11/2007
Oh, good, I've been meaning to see Elizabeth for a while now, and your review gives me hope. As long as I assume Hollywood can't write a coherent arc, I should be okay, then?

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31