the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:14pm on 19/11/2007
Hokay, so. I have been vanished for the past couple of weeks, due to being depressed, then being busy, then being lazy. Before I can post anything of substance, I must get this draft post off of my Semagic. See, I've decided to just do a weekly roundup of my TV thoughts, since the interval between the airing of an ep and my acquisition of it varies greatly. Thus here are my thoughts on the TV of this past week (except for "Moonlight," which I haven't gotten to yet, but I don't know of anyone on my flist who watches it anyway; and "Robin Hood," which has many thinky thoughts for two eps and thus will get its own post to follow this one). It might seem kind of pointless to post these so late after the fact, but that's sort of the only way I can do it ::shrugs:: So, comment or ignore, as is your nature!

Oh, and I forgot to do "Heroes," but rest assured that "Four Months Ago" was totally awesome and Kristen Bell rocks hardcore.


Chuck

EEEEEEEEE 'Not very sportsmanlike' (SUBTLE!) PRINCESS BRIDE REFERENCE! I just could not love Chuck, person and show, more if I tried. And it could not be more OT3. 'You're so pretty!...Casey, your jaw was chiseled by Michaelangelo himself' (it's funny because it's true). And then Sarah's little smile at 'You called me your partner.' I know somebody wants to write me Chuck/Sarah/Casey, with liquid encouragement if need be, or like some drug from the evil gymnast's stash. And Chuck would be all sweet and adorkable and confused, and Sarah would roll her eyes a lot and Casey would be all matter-of-fact and grabby and snarky. FOMG, and then Awesome would catch a glimpse or something and be like, '...Score!' Okay, yeah, it would probably have to be AU given Rachel Bilson (and is Josh Schwartz in love with that girl or what? I mean I don't blame him, but reallly...) Still! OT3. And Zachary Levi looked so great in that gray jersey shirt at the end; I just wanted to snuggle him to death. He's really an appealing star.

Private Practice

NOOO ADDISON! RUN AWAY! RUN AWAY FROM THE CHRISTOPHER!

Though I'm already tired of the Addison/Pete show, I really liked the patient storylines this week. Darlene was on! And the actress with the horrible little boys played the superhearing mechanic on "Heroes" and Bruce the midwife on GG - she's good. The cop's widow was heartbreaking, and the actress did a really good job. Dell and his vault and his midwifery glee is still my favorite, although I was a bit swoony at how well Sam handled the whole baby/hold-up situation. I don't blame Naomi one bit. And stupid show totally got me before that - I was sure poor lovesick Cooper was going to hop into bed with poor lovesick Addison (good continuity with Addison's plan of getting fat whenever the men in her life treat her like shit, btw).

Wooo, I'm still recovering from the hothothot tablesex. I'm not quite sure what it means for the characters, but mostly I was thinking - Taye Diggs and Audra McDonald have fantastic chemistry.

Grey's Anatomy

Grey's is still recovering nicely. Just two notes for this week. 1. Thank you, Shonda, for reminding us all of the many varied ways in which high school sucked. 2. Chandra Wilson is made of awesome. Okay, one more - 3. Sidney dumped McDreamy! Bwahahahaha!

The Office

WTF? We go into strike hiatus on this note? Now the line between enjoyment and suffering at seeing Michael Scott humiliated is always a fine one, but this ep was over that line, IMO. The whole plot was just painful without being funny. I didn't like watching it, and that's something I've never ever said about this show. Loved the office ping pong wars ("Were Jim's parents first cousins who were also bad at ping pong?"), but man...the whole thing just left a bitter taste in my mouth. I need to go watch some S2 to feel better about it.

Ugly Betty

Okay, so, were we supposed to care about Bradford dying? Because while I tend to overidentify with dads-in-peril storylines, this one did absolutely nothing for me. Even their blatant manipulation with "Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own" failed to draw a tear. I just kept remembering how horrible he was to his children and his wife 95% of the time and wondering why in hell that got swept under the rug in the space of one episode. I'm going to mourn Judith Light, though, if this means she's gone for good. Her parting with Yoga was adorable, and then how she protected her from the law. I hope Yoga gets to stick around now. 'They'll be okay - they white." Heeeee. Also loved the action hero Henry and Betty sequence, and the sweet moment between Daniel and Amanda. But I still felt weird being disconnected from the emotional thrust of the story.

Pushing Daisies

As usual, my only response to this show is: Awwww. Lee Pace and Anna Friel are still unspeakably cute (the Chenowith's cuteness is eternal and need not be remarked upon), Emerson is still my favorite character of the whole new season, and Digby might be the more adorable dog on the face of the earth.

But does anybody else want to push some old-school Logan/Rogue fic in the general direction of Chuck and Ned? It's not actually rocket science, you guys.

Supernatural

That was a sad waste of Mercedes McNab. I'm not terribly fond of the show's treatment of the vampire mythos in general; besides, "Moonlight" did the whole vampire drug storyline a couple of weeks ago, and since this one didn't have Alex O'Loughlin and Sophia Miles writhing in a shower, I wasn't really interested. Plus, I rolled my eyes repeatedly at yet more hot blondes in peril. It would have been so much more interesting and creepy if the vamp had been turning actual children in lieu of his missing daughter.

Aww, Sammy with the following Dean around...and then Dean teaching him how to fix the Metallicar ::sniffles::

Okay, the whole Gordon-as-a-vamp thing was interesting, but...wasn't his pursuit of Sam a big part of the season arc? And now he's dead? *confused*

I do love Bella. Hate Ruby mostly because her part seems to have been written for Kristen Bell and she's not a good enough actress to pull it off...but love Bella.
Mood:: 'bored' bored
There are 3 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] woodstarling.livejournal.com at 10:25pm on 19/11/2007
I watched Chuck for the first time on Monday and then severely regretted choosing Wentworth Miller's face over the cute-ness that is Chuck. It was a sad day. Then Heroes made it better.
Supernatural wise - I didn't know you watched SPN =/ - Mercedes got to show of her fantastic boobs, so we got a bonus out of that. I did think this was the best episode of the season. =P

With Gordon being dead, I think they're going to bring back Dectective Hendrickson from last season? Because they're technically still wanted men. *shrug* We'll see what they do. I know Kripke doesn't like to keep storylines open for too long.

but other than that, I hope life is treating you well and you should get some pie. Pie is always great.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_veronique - the golden compass)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:31pm on 19/11/2007
Chuck is really just the cutest, isn't it? Plus it's so great to have Adam Baldwin on TV again!

I don't say much about Supernatural because I'm a casual viewer - for various reasons which I am somewhat iffy about going into, I have never managed to work up a real fannish enthusiasm for it. Which seems to put me in the minority, on LJ :)

Thanks for the well wishes! Apparently I have a mysterious to-be-refrigerated package winging its way to me tomorrow, and I am seriously hoping that it's pie.
 
posted by [identity profile] woodstarling.livejournal.com at 10:35pm on 19/11/2007
Seriously. I might try to catch up on past episodes, but then again, I might just pick up from here. Zach Levi is adorable and TALL, so I'm a bit taken to him now.

Hee. I'm such a spazz about Supernatural, but I understand. I'm just happy we have people watching. ♥

IF THAT'S NOT PIE, THEN THERE'S SOMETHING WRONG IN THE WORLD.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31