the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:25pm on 19/11/2007
As promised, nothin' but squee in the Hood. This is what, four episodes of actual quality in a row? Series 2 is kicking ass and taking names.

206 - For England...!

The Guy/Allan is rapidly becoming text, if it wasn't already. Guy stripping down in front of him, and Allan's obvious appreciation of it - and then the way he was standing in his new clothes with his hip all cocked...oooh, it was good. And the Sheriff calling him 'your boy.' It'll be interesting seeing Guy's conscience fractured by a new person to defend, or at least for whom he feels partially responsible. Or at least, I hope it will be. I want Marian to freeze him out for awhile for giving her up to Winchester, no matter if he rescued her later. I do believe that Guy has genuine feelings for her and I love when they dip into his actual motivations like they did tonight - you can almost see Richard Armitage's relief at having something to work with besides scowling. Problem is, his desire for power/saving his own skin will always, always trump his feelings for Marian, and I'm not sure he realises that outside of the actual moments where it happens.

John dangling the bells in Gisborne's face like a cat toy and then knocking him in the balls might have been the funniest thing ever on this show. I watched it three times. And I don't even like John.

The Much-bashing at the end was gratuitous. Robin needs to chill, for serious. However, I was somewhat mollified because I believe, due to the crafty look on Much's face, he kept doing it on purpose to lighten the mood. I heart Much. Him running through the castle chanting "If he dies, I die" warmed the cockles of my Much/Robin heart. And I whimpered when he asked Djaq to read the letter. The actor really does a good job mining serious moments out of the comic relief.

207 Show Me the Money

Heh, Allan calls Gisborne 'Giz.' He's certainly turning out to be a little snake, isn't he? 'Cause I don't see the Sheriff torturing him to get information on Robin Hood, I see Allan volunteering it of his own free will, for praise.

Holy crap, Marian finally told her father to STFU! Edward's a cowardly waste of space most of the time, and it was so gratifying to finally see his daughter call him out on it. She should be ashamed of him. And then she socked Robin in his stupid joking gut! She was just super awesome this week.

Whoa, Robin tried to kill Allan for real! That's some heavy shit. Really good fight scene. And Allan rescued his boyfriend!

There really needs to be a mandatory course for all palace guards on exactly what Robin Hood and every one of his men look and sound like. I know there aren't any medieval cameras (although I wouldn't put it past this show, obviously), but seriously, can't any of those damn fools pick up a charcoal pencil?

Okay, 'I'm not a Judas' - 'And I'm not Jesus' was really cheesy, but - the scene's so good I don't care. The Robin/Marian - squeeee. And that's actually sort of clever of her, putting Allan in her debt. He's much more useful to them alive than dead, now that he doesn't have any more secrets to give up (for the record, I totally believe that he wouldn't give Marian up. Not so much for her own worth, but - do you even know what Robin would DO to him if he got her killed?). Like I said, Marian is made of awesome this week.

Shit, Edward. Are you actually coming through here? It is so going to get you killed. Right after you had unkind words with Marian. But hey, you'll die a hero and she'll be free of that obligation, so really everybody wins. And to be horrible and honest...I was waiting for Edward's death so I could write Robin/Marian hurt/comfort ::shrugs::

Heh, the Sheriff almost pulled a Hamlet on old Edward there. Never stab before you look, people. Aww, that's my Much! I love how the guards are always shamelessly "Oooh! Money! Shiny!"

Oh hell. I love Robin's dark side, but I fucking KNEW Edward was done for. Okay, I hate him but he did good at the end, and this is sad. Nice idea to have Guy find the body, too. Lucy Griffiths and Richard Armitage did an excellent job - his mixture between sincere and sinister was perfect, and her actually taking comfort from him in her grief before he went too far. And then a lovely scene with Robin and Marian. And she joins the gang at last! Eeeee! While I liked Marian's campaign in the castle, it was fairly inevitable that it wouldn't last once her father was gone. I'm really excited to see where this goes. Goddamn, the season is shaping up but good.

Fic now, yes? FIIIIIC.

And on a related note - would anybody be interested if I started uploading S1 of Robin Hood? I'm just a little fannish enabler...I promise you'll enjoy it if you don't think too hard...
Mood:: 'contemplative' contemplative
There are 4 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] heatherlayne-n.livejournal.com at 02:12am on 20/11/2007
If you could post up Season One, I'd watch it. We don't get any TV, and while mostly I count that as a blessing since it's all utter rot anyway, this show sounds amusing enough that I might get into it. If it was right there on my flist, yaknow? :)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (carrielh - happy elizabeth)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 06:30pm on 21/11/2007
Yay! I'll start probably this weekend.
 
posted by [identity profile] pigeongirl99.livejournal.com at 09:05pm on 20/11/2007
What I love about this show (aside from all the prettiness) is how every week they add a new pairing into the mix.

Robin/Much was there from the beginning. As was Sheriff/Guy (did you see Keith Allen's comments about the homoeroticism between the Sheriff and Guy BTW?).

Then we got Will/Allan.

Plus hints of Robin/Guy and Sheriff/Guy.

Time moved on and they started mixing in a dash of Robin/Will.

Now there's Guy/Allan.

And as of last week Allan/Robin...

...I'm almost afraid who they're going to pair up next :)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (crymeariver - barbossa)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 06:31pm on 21/11/2007
Hee! It really is a pairing for every taste.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31