the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:09pm on 11/01/2008
God, I am in a rotten mood.

Whatever is wrong with my computer is so wrong that it won't even let me run an Avast scan. I tried twice today, leaving my room for several hours both times; when I returned my machine was completely frozen and had to be shut down and restarted the bad, wrong way. I tried it again tonight, and it ran about forty-five minutes before one by one - first Firefox, then AIM, then Word, then Avast (although Spider keeps on truckin') - the programs stopped responding. And so did the entire computer. I click anywhere, everywhere, and nothing happens. I can press control-alt-delete until my fingers fall off and NOTHING. HAPPENS.

I'm so fucking pissed. This goddamned piece of shit laptop is just turning two years old this month. At least when I got a debilitating virus on my old desktop, I could actually find out what that virus was. What the fuck am I supposed to do when it just STOPS WORKING every half-hour?!

::breathes:: Okay, okay, I am not going to throw the computer or the iPod out the window, even though it deserves it (but they don't deserve names anymore SO I HAVE TAKEN THOSE AWAY), even though I have a paper due Tuesday that I haven't started or seriously contemplated starting yet. I am going to surf the Soton website until I find the tech support, and they had BETTER have decent tech support for such a big-ass uni.

GOD! I hate everything! DALA SMASH!

How much does the lowest-end Mac run? Eh?

...Cera's woe is not nearly wrathful enough, but she's the only remotely appropriate icon I have left. Just pretend she is my Slither 'my easy-goin' nature is getting sorely fuckin tested' icon instead.

ETA: Did it again. Just fuckin' quit after an hour of operation, when I wasn't even doing anything except Firefox and solitaire. And I just remembered it's Friday so I'm not likely to get an answer from ISS anytime soon.

Kill my computer. Kill my computer. C-I-L-L my computer.
Mood:: 'infuriated' infuriated
There are 5 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 09:30pm on 11/01/2008
I'm not quite as desperate as you, since I have a desktop at home (VERY slow) and a work laptop that I'm pretty much allowed to take anytime I like ... but I also have a home laptop that has been giving me fits since it was around 2 years old. I can't even run a Norton scan without it shutting down halfway through, and when I do use it rarely, I can be in the middle of typing something and it'll just shut off. (Though, it usually gives me warning with the fan running loudly, or some such; usually, I have a lot of windows open or I've opened something large, right before it happens. I don't know if that's your experience.)

My sister tells me if I'd get around to transferring all the files off that I want to keep onto elsewhere, she'd defrag and wipe it for me and reinstall basic programs that came with it. Maybe you could do that?
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 11:21pm on 11/01/2008
The lowest end Mac costs about $1,500. I looked into it when I bought my newest laptop last December and they run about double a PC costs. It sucks.
 
posted by [identity profile] dharma-slut.livejournal.com at 12:36am on 12/01/2008
Do you know how to boot in safe mode? I am not good with PC's, and I don't have one handy to walk you through it, but you chould see that option just when your computer is booting up. It starts the DOS system instead of windows.

You can run your virus check from that. Then invest in Mcafee, please?
 
posted by [identity profile] immortalsecrets.livejournal.com at 04:17am on 12/01/2008
Yeah, you can try running it in safe mode. My computer pretty much had the exact same issue. If you reboot your computer, and right away start hitting F11, it'll go into a menu that will allow you to chose how you want to start. (If you know this, just ignore me lol) Just start in safe mode without networking. You'll be able to do a virus scan that way. Mind you, everything you run will be slower, so a virus scan could take a while. It might not be a virus though. It could be your hard drive. But... your computer sounds a bit too young for that issue lol. I hope this helps you out a little. I'm not too sure how much of this you already know/tried, but I just wanted to offer some assistance. Good luck!
 
posted by [identity profile] immortalsecrets.livejournal.com at 04:19am on 12/01/2008
I'm sorry. F8, not F11. I was thinking Mac lol. Sorry!

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31